We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Aston Court Hotel to your Saves list
Smart Aston Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well worth staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked with an Amazon local voucher and were amazed at the standard of the Hotel. The rooms were clean and certainly adequate for our short stay. Breakfast and the afternoon tea on arrival was excellent but most of all the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff was outstanding. Will stay again for a short break and would certainly recommend the Hotel. However next time we will book the tour of the Royal Derby factory (5 mins walk from the Hotel) in advance - really disappointed it was full and we couldn't be accommodated on the tour the day we went.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues there are steps to the rooms on the 2nd floor - even though they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    131
    43
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
140
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights , two rooms , four friends had a great time , afternoon tea on arrival The rooms were simply furnished and comfortable the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. Have stayed in many hotels and never come across such a great team they were all helpful and happy to help, they certainly enhanced our stay in Derby. The breakfasts were lovely and plentiful and many nearby restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine

Room Tip: Room 320 is above a pelican crossing so if you feel this may disturb you avoid this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

easy to find by the railway station,10 minute walk from the westfield shopping center and undercover markets. mostly traffic free shopping roads.Clean cosy twin room and good bathroom. afternoon tea on arrival was delicious. the Italian style restaurant was a bit pricy, ok if you like your pizza. plenty of eateries nearby. staff were helpful and half my pizza was wrapped and put into a fridge for the next day, too big for me in one meal. this was no problem and i was even asked if i wanted it reheated. the lift was a great help to the first floor .the only down side for us was the traffic, but if you choose a hotel in the city it goes with the location. we slept well despite the odd bus or lorry. would come again.

Room Tip: not one facing the station as a new bus station is being built outside it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are losing count of the number of times we have stayed here - three I think and we are due again soon. The staff as always were friendly and helpful and although it is a bit unfair to single one out but Matt seems to be everywhere! He is so involved - in the kitchen changing a bulb on the excellent pool table (which I haven't mentioned before for fear we can't get on it next time!). As has been said the hotel is very conveniently situated opposite the station but also quite close to the bus station. Also we can corroborate(?) the comments regarding the meals breakfast is excellent as is dinner. Finally, the parking is a massive bonus being secure and quite close to the City Centre. We are looking forward to returning but are running out of superlatives.

Room Tip: Rooms are pre-allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

my husband and I booked with an amazon local voucher and weren't expecting a lot after past experiences with other deals, but like a lot of people are on a tight budget
despite a hiccup with our room when we first arrived, which the staff rectified quickly,
we have been blown away by the quality of the room, food, service and friendly staff. they even gave us advise on local places to visit, directions and really couldn't do enough to make our stay a fab break from everyday life
would recommend to anyone
jo langton, cheshire

Room Tip: staff happy to get extra towels, blankets and pillows if needed, breakfast brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

we used a voucher for a two night stay including breakfast and afternoon tea on arrival.
the hotel is centrally located 5 minutes from the station and offers secure free parking
the staff are friendly and helpful
OK the hotel is a little tired but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable
the breakfast is really good - plenty of fresh fruit and the best lean grilled bacon ever
would definitely recommend and revisit if occasion arose

Room Tip: we had a room at the back - outlook was over the lower roof but it was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did really like it here. The furnishings and decor seem pretty dated, and the layout definitely is from an older era -- we had to walk through a warren of hallways, two doors, and up a flight of stairs to our room. But it did feel like a private retreat; I couldn't tell where (or if) other rooms adjoined ours at all. The bed was huge, linens were fresh and clean, and the bath was spacious.

The location across from the station was a huge plus for us. The walk into the centre was sort of a dull ten minutes, but it was easy and safe. There's a confectionery close by for snacks, and we were disappointed to learn about the wonderful Brunswick Inn too late to eat there (lunch served only). Next time, then!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smart Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Aston Court Hotel

Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smart Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Aston Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.