We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but a bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Mickleover Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Mickleover Court to your Saves list
The Menzies Mickleover Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but a bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice hotel but a little isolated. Need a car to get out and about. Good health club, breakfast is a very good standard, hotel is a little 90's in decor and could do with a refurb, but was clean and tidy.
Rooms are well furnished and a good size.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel by the main road are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    166
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
77
171
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a dinner and room deal. Thought hotel was very clean and pleasant staff. Leisure facilities were fine for a swim and nice to be given towel to use.
Dinner in restaurant was brilliant, lots of choice, beautifully presented and delicious food. We were really impressed and a good tasty breakfast as well

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here again, our 5th stay, and as usual we were not disappointed. The staff are almost always pleasant and helpful. We always stay on the very reasonable 2 night break with breakfast, and dinner on one night. The breakfast is superb, could not ask for anything more, the evening meal is always good. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff, who have always been friendly and attentive. The pool and spa are superb, and there is a super gym for anyone who likes it.
I just cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever.

Room Tip: We have always been happy with our room. We like to be at the front, looking over the roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for a Friday night get away. This hotel is not central and is around a 15 minute taxi drive away from Derby city centre- however don't let this put you off! The hotel is comfortable and welcoming, the staff are friendly and helpful and most importantly the food is great! The dinner menu was fantastic and the breakfast topped the stay over off, with plenty of choice including fish, confectionaries and a hot buffet breakfast. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi is also lovely (however very strong with chlorine) but again this is relaxing and had a lovely feel about it. Overall, i'm impressed and i would stay again or recommend to friends. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited Mickleover Court for the second time as we have family living very near by with limited accommodation. The weekend break, on offer, included two night's bed and breakfast plus one dinner, at a very reasonable rate. The room we were allocated was rather small as it was situated at the very end of the hotel near the emergency exit, but that was really of no great matter as the room was just for sleeping. Dinner on Sunday was adequate, although not brilliant, and seemed to have been prepared in advance for a reduced staff to heat and serve.

Room Tip: Room 226 is very small and negotiating the furniture requires some skill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Second time of staying here, last time I had my evening meal in Mickleover, but this night the weather was awful so I decided to give the hotel restaurant a go.
The menu was very nice with a good selection and the food was beautifully cooked and served very efficiently.
I was pleasantly surprised with the standard and choice of food available,
Would recommend a night in here.
The hotel and room are very comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Pleasant stay in this hotel.

Large rooms and big bathroom, but all looking tired and need of a refurbishment.

We had a late room deal and paid less, which was good as I would have felt ripped off paying any more.

The pool and gym was good but did get busy with members of the health club. So get down early and make full use...

We had a free dinner included and breakfast was good.

The hotel overlooks a roundabout but an easy drive to Derby.

Overall, average, needs refurb and food and rooms generous

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Mickleover Court

Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#4 Family Hotel in Derby
#8 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Menzies Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Mickleover Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.