We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room after Alton Towers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Mickleover Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Mickleover Court to your Saves list
The Menzies Mickleover Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Family room after Alton Towers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We used this as a return base from a full day at Alton Towers for all the family.

The room we had allocated is at the top of the hotel and has velux windows in the roof offering a great night view of the stars, it also has electric blackout blinds meaning you can get some sleep too!

Room was excellent and the staff were helpful. Would definately recommend one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    165
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
77
171
5
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

have been on many occasions and never lets me down meal great staff wonderfull minor problems please add a little more veg to your main courses
in all a great stay booked 2 rooms stayed for the evening meal staff happy and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a short break in the Peak District.
It was chosen because it showed up to be "dog friendly" which is quite unusual for a large
business orientated chain....and is important to us.

The hotel is easy enough to find just off the A38 south of Derby and there is plenty of parking etc.

We had a good warm welcome and confirmed that our pooch could have the run of the public rooms with the obvious exception of the pool area and dining room.
The hotel was busy but the service at Reception was very good with valet parking and instant help with your bags etc.

We booked a suite and this was spacious enough with fairly good levels of decoration.
The only gripe is with the furniture which looked as though it came from the local auction house . The chairs and settee were a trifle "used" and could do with updating.

The bedroom and bathroom were both in good order ,however and reflected the four star nature of the operation..

We made use of the Leisure Club...pool ,spa and steam room and,once again ,were impressed.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a bar meal and drinks both nights we stayed. The food and choice of dishes was good and the service excellent.

People in the East Midlands seem a naturally friendly lot and this was reflected in the level and attitude of service we received from every one in the hotel...a welcome change from the norm.

The hotel is not cheap and I expect that the company credit card is the main currency here ...but it does represent value in that it provides a level of comfort and service in a fairly effortless manner....nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff.

I ended up quite liking the hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived as a coach party and were greeted by a swarm of staff to take our luggage to our rooms whilst we checked in, then we were given tea and coffee in the hotel reception.. All this before we even got to our room.we ( about 20 of us)had an overnight stay, which quite frankly must not be the most desirable of bookings but without exception all the staff were delightful.i am not sure if all menziies hotels are like this, but if so Im very impressed with their staff training.the modern hotel building had a lovely circular sunken lounge and a glass lift, the informal relaxed atmosphere in the public areas made it feel a real home from home.the breakfast was really good, as was our ' set meal' evening meal, with very attentive and helpful waiting staff.
Our room was huge, with a balcony and a sofa, coffee table and chair as well as a gigantic bed.the bed was very comfy and the bath was huge and filled very quickly and the bath towels equally huge....the shower was a bit pathetic though.
But there are a few minor gripes...the hairdryer smelled of burning and glowed red so i was too frightened to use it, the room temp could not be altered and there was a pervasive slightly musty damp smell in the room , which possibly emenated from the bathroom but hard to explain as room was spotlessly clean and all the carpets and soft furnishings were fresh and unstained, though the bathroom looked a bit tired.
But the welcome more than made up for any room shortcomings.the goodbye was the icing on the cake... One of the senior managers came on to the coach to thank us for staying and wished us a nice day and safe journey.it was also an opportunity to check everyone had handed in their room key.. But no matter, it was a nice touch and left us all feeling that we had been very honoured guests.. Well done Menzies Mickelover Court.. Will recommend and definately return when visiting Derbyshire again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Like other reviewers say from time to time, I would opt for 'good' if it were an option. The food is good and the service very attentive. I also like the bar, lobby and pool areas. I'm just not keen on the rooms, large though they are. The furniture is a bit frumpy, but more importantly the acoustic insulation is poor. Building regs must have become more stringent since this was built.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a smart modern very comfortable hotel in a pleasant suburb conveniently located for visiting the Peak District. Our 145 sq ft standard room was exactly as shown on the hotel's website with all the usual facilities of a 4* rating. The decor and furnishings were good but the narrow balcony overlooked the car park towards a busy dual carriageway so we kept the patio doors closed. Our only minor complaints were that the complimentary biscuits and toiletries provided were somewhat meager and the bed was firmer than what we have been used to. Although we were on the top floor we could still hear the reverberation of the disco being held in the function suite at ground level and there was background traffic noise throughout the night, but neither was loud enough to cause us concern. The communal areas were attractive and sumptuous and the leisure facilities looked really good but we did not have time to try them. The breakfast buffet was extensive and very tasty but we were disappointed that the special vegetarian dish was not available both occasions it was requested. What really made our stay memorable was dining in the Brasserie where the waiters were so helpful (particularly Matt) and the chef so accommodating to our dietary needs the first night (included in the package) that we dined again there the second night. The food is absolutely delicious. We would have no hesitation in returning to this lovely hotel where the service is so good and you get real value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baginton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked a last minute 2 night break through Superbreak because it offered full breakfast and one dinner included for a very reasonable price. Room was lovely, very clean and a most comfortable bed. Great view from balcony, quiet at night. Close to South Derbyshire attractions we visited. Included dinner was really good with generous portions. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Mickleover Court

Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#4 Family Hotel in Derby
#8 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Menzies Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Mickleover Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.