We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks deceive - large unattractive building, warm & friendly inside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Mickleover Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Mickleover Court to your Saves list
The Menzies Mickleover Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Derby
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Looks deceive - large unattractive building, warm & friendly inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for only one night for work in Derby. This is a really big hotel, not in contemporary style, the sort of thing I would usually avoid. Plus it's a short journey outside of Derby. But I couldn't find the right hotel for the right price closer to the city centre and in the end decided to go for this one. I'm glad I did. Very friendly, comfortable, and warm. Good restaurant with helpful staff. Really excellent breakfast. Good-sized room - mine had a balcony and there was also free wifi. Good value for money too via one of the booking sites. There's a spa and swimming pool, which was an added attraction, though in the end I didn't make it! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    165
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
77
171
5
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our 3nd visit, we got upgraded from the superior room to the suite room. What's a surprise! And what a bathroom. we paid £99 for 2 nights b&b and got a 3 course dinner thrown in. The food was great the room was lovely, but the best thing was the staff. Everyone seemed really happy there. also nice leisure center. We will be back.

Room Tip: The new anex has the best decorated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

When I saw some of this hotel's reviews I was a bit concern about it. A friend booked it for me and, I have to say, it was a very nice surprise. The rooms are totally up to date. The staff is very professional. At dinner time, I went to the restaurant, got a worm welcome. The staff (once again) was professional but friendly at the same time. If I needed something, I just had to ask and they did it, always with a smile,and nothing was too much. The food was ok but, that also depends on each of us tastes. Like I said before, it was home away from home. If I get the chance to go back, I will stay at Menzies, for shore.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with some colleagues on business. Attractive lounge/lobby area with a central open circular series on landings through to the upper floors. Bedrooms very clean and functional with comfy beds. Air con system a bit old/crude though served the purpose. Wide range of channels on the TV (including Sky Sports !) makes for a very functional and comfortable stay. A real pity about the restaurant and the service - short of staff maybe ? - or inexperienced staff ? The wrong wine was served though charged at the rate of the more expensive bottle that had been ordered. The hotel did apologise and refunded the full cost however this could have been easily missed. It took an hour to reach our main course. The mushroom rissotto was served cold and was returned only a little improved. The steak was served without the requested sauce. The fish was served without the chips. So of 5 of us 3 had issues. By the time these dishes had their complete serving the other two had already finished our meal. On a positive note the Bream was very nice as also was the freshly baked bread. Breakfast was very good.
The Mickleover Court is therefore a good looking functional and convenient hotel (just off the A50) with nice comfotable rooms so is a real pity that the service in the restaurant was not up to the standard that would have been expected.

Room Tip: All rooms run off a curved corridor to either face the front or back of the hotel. Room 228 faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for the 3rd time with my husband and daughter for our birthday's. We had a fantastic time over our 2 night weekend stay. The hotel gave us an excellent price which included a meal on the first evening and breakfast on both day's. Check in was pleasant, the hotel was fairly quiet. Our room was really lovely and very clean, we had no balcony this time but a huge room with sloping ceilings, seperate dressing area and nice bathroom. We found the leisure facilities very good as always. The food in the restaurant was really nice, some review's on trip advisor recently had been less than complimentary about the food, but we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and both breakfasts whilst we were there. We found the staff in all areas to be pleasant whilst being quite relaxed. On our 2nd evening we went to an Indian restaurant called The Cinnamon Tree (about 8 mins in a taxi), again we had an excellent meal and the decor was really chic. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on top floor are lovely although no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a fabulous weekend at this lovely hotel. Having travelled through very bad weather to reach the hotel the friendly and efficient reception made it all seem worthwhile. Spotlessly clean and spacious room. Heating not easy to get to grips with - we should have phoned Reception for help! After about 30 mins in our room we had a visit from a member of staff asking if everything was OK and to our liking. Also happened the following day after the room had been serviced. A nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and chatty without being overbearing. Food was wonderful, breakfast and evening meal had very varied menus and cooked to an excellent standard. Swimming pool etc also very clean and a god temperature. All in all can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chertsey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

having tried the bar for lunch the previous day we decided to try for a quick lunch before visiting our daughter in the nearby Derby Royal Hospital. In the Brasserie we were treated to probably what was the best value lunch ever. The dining room was spacious and what you would expect from a quality hotel. The choice of starters was great. We chose home made soup and melon but pate/melba toast and prawn/apple salad were tempting too. mains were carvery style and included perfectly cooked roast beef or pork - both excellent. Fish or Cod were other options. Deserts were great too. I had bread and butter pudding and my wife a nice vanilla studded panacotta. This was for £9 pounds something for 3 courses - unbelievable. Good old school hotel service as well.

Room Tip: Extremely generous bar snacks - I had chicken caesar wraps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Mickleover Court

Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#4 Family Hotel in Derby
#8 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Menzies Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Mickleover Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.