We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent 4 star hotel near Alton Towers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Mickleover Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Mickleover Court to your Saves list
The Menzies Mickleover Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A decent 4 star hotel near Alton Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend, as we wanted somewhere decent to stay near to Alton Towers. The hotel was very nice, the staff were helpful and the bedroom large and well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. We used all the leisure facilities, there was a really well equipped gym, and a swimming pool for my son to use. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    185
    63
    20
    7
See reviews for
84
193
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed on a mid-week break as we were going to an antique fair for 2 days. On arrival a bit dissappointed with the frontage, but on entering the lobby of the hotel, it all changed. We had a cosy spotless room (views aren't great at this hotel) and a lovely hospitality tray. The breakfast, buffet, pleanty and good quality. Evening meal was included in the package and the we thought it was good for the price we paid. Overall, you can't go wrong, give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

very good, had a lovely break there with my girlfriend,the facilities are second to none, food was excellent and the whole experience was wonderful, would have been 5 star if not for a bit of a mix up on our booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our friends got married on 2nd June, so we stayed here on the Friday & Saturday night. From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out was one of the best stays in a UK hotel we have experienced so far. The receptionist was so helpful with us. Our daughter was arriving early on Saturday morning before the wedding and I think her name was Natalie, arranged for her room to be ready early so she could shower and dress in her own room. Nothing was too much trouble for them and anything we needed they helped us every time.
The staff in the restaurant couldn't have been more attentive. We had a meal in there on Friday night, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The breakfast is fantastic also, a really good freshly cooked selection, as well as cereals, toast, fruit etc.
Jack & all the other bar staff were superb and very friendly too.
The whole weekend was absolutely wonderful and I would certainly recommend it to anybody planning on staying in Derby.
Thank you to all at Mickleover Court Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I booked the Michleover Hotel, Derby as a surprise Honeymoon treat for my husband after we had the most amazing wedding at the Menzies Hotel Flitwick Manor hotel in April this year. To be fair this came as a special offer £118.00 for two, one night, dinner, bed & breakfast with a half bottle of wine with the evening meal. So to a degree you get what you pay for,(and this was about the same as we would have paid via a late booking website, so not really a 'special offer') However, my main reason for booking was the picture of the pool & spa. As we have had a very hectic time since our wedding I thought we would be able to have a relaxing afternoon by the pool & use the spa. Sadly the spa was out of order and the pool a lot smaller than the picture on the website. We decided against using it.
We did arrive early and after checking in with reception were given our room key, 319 on entering the lift the smell of smoke was very strong and a surprise. Worst was to come when we got out of the lift the smell was overpowering. This was also in our room despite it being non smoking. We went back to reception to ask if there was smoking allowed, apparently five rooms are smoking rooms on the third floor. We commented on the smell in our room and were advised perhaps someone had been 'sneaky' and had a cigarette!!As I am allergic to the smell of smoke and this has made me quite ill in the past We asked if we could have a change of room, And again to be fair after a time we were given another room on the first floor. The hotel is near a main road with very little near to walk to without driving. We went for a walk along the old train track, this is accessed by the road opposite the hotel. Not very exciting. When we came back we went to the bar and ordered food. The hotel boasts excellence for it's food, sadly this fell well below that. as a side dish to a chilli I ordered aTomato ciabatta with garlic oil that came as plain ciabiatta & olive oil the Restaurant Manager was very helpful in addressing the problem, we were offered a drink which we declined. We were asked if we would be eating in the restaurant that evening and he would see us there. We went for our evening meal which was included in the price, the menu choice is good and you pay a supplement if you want to order off the set menu. I ordered a steak and asked for medium to well done, this came up as rare, The waiter took this away and returned very quickly with the same steak (I did say I didn't mind this as my husband was not eating his meal until mine returned) The steak had been microwaved. Again the Manager was very helpful and took the additional charge for the steak off the price. Overall the vegetables were very bland and tasteless, the chunky chips were cold and not eaten. Not quite the romantic evening I was looking forward to. The Hotel also lacks any atmosphere, the staff while helpful lack the energy we have experienced in other hotels. It was ashame after arriving at 12pm by 3pm my husband was asking if we could go home. So I'm sorry this is a very negative review. It is how it was for us and may be better for other guests, I wouldn't rate this as 4 star, It could do with a freshen up and an injection of life.

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker avoid the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions and have always had a lovely stay. The staff are second to none and are very helpful. I always stay here when on business in the area, as after having stayed in many other hotels in the area over the years, have found that others do not stand up to my satisfaction. The leisure facilities in the Mickleover Court are fantastic. The staff are always very helpful and willing to assist with gym equipment and offer advise where requested. I can only assume that the guest whom complained about a situation with a towel must have been ill-sighted and rude towards the staff and may be! The towel bin in the changing room is big enough for even the most partially of sighted person to see and towels in them I can safely assume is a good give away! It is a shame the spa was under maintenance on my last visit but I am looking most forward to my next visit when it should be open again. The sauna and steam rooms are always lovely to relax in of an evening and the pool always nice and warm. Breakfast is fresh and varied with both full English and continental offered – a great start to the day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel looks nice and the Check in was pleasant and room very good although I wouldn't pay the Room rate got this on late rooms deal. Good room Good TV choice as I was with my son and there was a lot of Channel choice. Disapointed by the rubbish hollow fibre pillows. I had neck ache in the morning. Will travel with a feather pillow in the car just in case in future! Lovely Pool and Very Friendly customers who visit regularly and gfave the heads up on where to eat. My son loved the pool so much that we went in again next morning. The Leisure staff though I though were lazy and off putting. I took my towels back to where I had got them from assuming they took them in for laundering in and they said I had to take them back up the stairs back to the changing rooms as there was a basket in there. (if I had seen that I would have used it) They were both chatting and I had obviously interupted their cosy little gossip by asking them to do some work. Politly I took the towels back but wish I had chucked the towels at them and told them where they could shove them but not an example I wanted to set my 7 year old! Didn't have breakfast included. so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Mickleover Court

Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#4 Family Hotel in Derby
#7 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Menzies Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Mickleover Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.