We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - and not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Littleover Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Littleover Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Littleover Lodge Hotel
222 Rykneld Rd | Littleover, Derby DE23 4AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Derby
Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good - and not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good - convenient location (avoids traffic problems), low price (£49.50), cancelled 2nd night at no charge (illness meant we couldn't stay on).
Not so good - ingrained dirt on bathroom floor, mould & dirt around the shower screen, missing skirting board in bathroom exposing something very black, noise from air con unit (switched off, but appears to share noise well with neighbouring room), wifi didn't work.
So whilst we couldn't stay a second night, we wouldn't have wanted to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
27
33
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Lodge from Good Friday to Easter Monday, myself and my husband 2 daughters and 3 grandchildren was over from Ireland for a family event. We got 2 rooms very clean and well equipped we found it very safe for the kids. The staff were very friendly, lovely carvery breakfast a very helpful waitress called Amy got any other requirements for the kids excellent carvery at only 3.99 great value will stay again higly recomment, we got a taxi into Derby and it cost 9.00 but there are bus that operate nearby also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Two options for Sunday lunch - the Carvery or the Restaurant. We had pre-booked the restaurant as there were seven of us and didn't fancy a bun-fight. The Littleover Lodge was recommended by a friend who lives in Derby. Situated just off the A38 makes it a good venue to get to.
Sunday lunch in the restaurant was £14.95 for 3 courses and coffee. We thought that was fantastic value especillay considering the quality of the food and the service. A good choice including kids options and portions.
Lovely food in a very pleasant and airy dining room and good service. We would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited with friends and family for a surprise birthday meal for one of our group on Saturday March 9th. What a lovely place! The staff were all so friendly and helpful and we were offered a canape with our drinks before moving into the restaurant. The service was excellent, food very good and everything nice and hot when it needed to be. A good choice from the menu and all very tempting. I had a salmon starter and a sea bass main, and would have it again without any hesitation. The staff were not too intrusive but were very helpful, and the Manager came to check on us, which was a very nice touch. Would definitely go again and would not hesitate to recommend as a venue in Derby. Some of our party stayed over in the hotel and were very pleased with their accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Satyed in the above hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is easy to find. It is in a quiet town with many restaurants and take away shops around. Rooms are very clean & comfortable. The staff are very good and helpful.
The beakfast is basic, but enough for your needs.
The hotel has a free high speed wireless Wif-Fi.
I would recommend it for any breaks in Derby area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was very pleased with this place and it fit the bill perfectly (one overnight to visit the nearby hospital next day). The rate for a twin room seemed like a bargain. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked - not buffet. We didn't arrive in time for dinner (or at least they would have prepared something for us even arriving quite late but we had already eaten). The hotel staff were all attentive and friendly. The room was clean and sufficiently comfortable with cosy duvets. No noise (that I noticed) despite being external to the main hotel building. I didn't test the wifi because it offends against my money-cautious nature to pay for a connection just to check emails. I think there should be a short connection for free in hotels but you rarely get it. One other comment - hardly a complaint - watch out for the hot water temperature! Steaming hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My son had his wedding reception at Littleover Lodge and it was perfect for the guests some of whom were travelling from afar. The food (a buffet) was varied, plentiful and delicious. The staff are courteous and friendly. We had the complete lodge to ourselves which had been tastefully arranged to accommodate all 140 guests. We stayed 2 nights and our room was clean, adequate for our needs and lovely and warm. The breakfast was good and filling with lots of toast and plenty of tea and coffee.

Anton could not be more attentive to the newly weds, making sure that all their needs were met regarding the catering, cutting of the cake and entertainment.

Anton and his staff are professional in all aspects and our short stay was a pleasure. I would certainly return and recommend Littleover Lodge to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Littleover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littleover Lodge Hotel

Address: 222 Rykneld Rd | Littleover, Derby DE23 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Littleover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Littleover Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.