We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza excellent. Main food poor!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
84 High Street | Repton, Derby DE65 6GF, England
01283 704422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pizza excellent. Main food poor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Took our family group of 6 for a new year meal Dec 30th. The staff were excellent and attentive but the difference between the pizza food and a la carte was stark! The gluten free options are odd and don't understand the difference between gluten intolerance and coeliac disease. The chips were cold and over done. The gammon was dry, the eggs cold and therefore greasy. All in all not worth another visit unless for pizza.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Pizza was very good and very large. Enough for two people if I went again I think I would order one between my wife and myself. Also I was told I did not need to book at lunch time, but we were very lucky to get a table as the place was extremely busy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza but too busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Second visit here and pizzas as good as ever, only problem is it is so busy you have to fight for a seat, pizza great, beer good too. Don't go at weekend unless you book!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An outstanding evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my husband's birthday here and had a fantastic evening. Great atmosphere, fabulous food and fantastic service by our waitress Ella Quoi. We were pleasantly surprised when we got the bill. Great value for money. We need to go back and try the pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bustling pub with fantastic food and welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Not really sure why people are giving this place a bad review.
I brought my boyfriend here for part of his birthday celebrations.
The staff were fantastic. Despite being 26 he was given balloons much to his delight and a complimentary birthday dessert. Was a lovely touch. When booking state you are dining for a celebration and you are likely to get the same treatment.
We ordered baked Camembert to start which was delicious; very yummy chutney!
I had two smaller plates for main: pigeon in creamy mushroom sauce and tempura crab. The latter I was mildly disappointed with but I didn't read that coriander was part of the garnish- not my favourite. My boyfriend has a delicious burger.
The atmosphere was brilliant and the prices were fine (I live near London so used much higher prices!)
Would recommend this place to everyone!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

 
Repton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.