We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim sum in Derby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Water Margin

The New Water Margin
72-74 Burton Road, Derby DE1 1TG, England
01332 364754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 447 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $41
Cuisines: Chinese Hotpot, Cantonese, Dim Sum, Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Winner of the Oriental restaurant of the year - Derby food & drinks awards 2011.Our restaurant stands closely to Derby City Centre, and is offering authentic Cantonese & Peking Cuisine in luxurious surroundings and a pleasant atmosphere. We serve traditional "Dim Sum" during normal lunch hours. Our function room equipped with Karaoke facilities is free to hire for your spcial occasions. Special banquet can be arranged for your special needs. Please ask for details.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dim sum in Derby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went there last month to try the dim sum. We were served by a friendly waiter and he was very welcoming.

The quality of the dim sum was pretty average but 'beggars can't be choosers' really since this is the only restaurant in Derby that serves dim sum. Price of the dim sum was also average. We ordered a few dim sum dishes, soup and also some ho fun noodles and the bill came to less than £15 per head (excluding tips).

We saw our next table had hot pot. So perhaps for our next visit we will try their hot pot too.

If you want authentic Chinese food, you should try this restaurant. Free parking available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese I have had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times recently , we went again this month and it was the best Chinese I have had in a long time. It's all you can eat but you order it off a menu so it's all fresh. It is beautifully cooked, especially their prawn toast, it's georgeous and the squid. A couple of the waitresses are not the best at speaking English but are all very friendly. Very traditional with the decor inside, think its about 15 for all you can eat. It is well worth it. I would say got value and quality, the water margin is the best in Derby. You also get quite a few Chinese people in there, which normally tells you how the nice the good is! Don't let the destination of the place put you off, they have a little car park, it's well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Traditional Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I dined here the other day & decided to try their famous "Hotpot". The price is £13.50 pp which isn't too bad especially considering it is an all you can eat! The decor is traditional and most of the diners either come here for the dim sum (which I hear is a reasonably good price) or the Hotpot. They also do an all you can eat menu where dishes are prepared to order. Overall the food was good and the staff were attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I went there last Tuesday for hot pot. Me and My uncle has the same idea that their service was so poor. We tried to get attention from the waitress and waiter but they seems to ignor and not interesting at all. May be we had the hotpot at the evening time. They might like us to order from ala carte menu. To be fair , if they think it is not suitable for customers to have a hotpot at evening time then they should say so. Not just act like OOOhh NNoo hot pot. I think they think that they could make more money on ala carte. Anyway dont take it out through customers as we just went there and want some food.. The place was so cold and family run like this , could do better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoy coming out to this place!
Food is great and even caters for parties with a private room!
Food is good too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Water Margin also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The New Water Margin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Water Margin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.