We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and good location but lacks a few touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Derby to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Derby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and good location but lacks a few touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed again for one night, double 'superior' room/breakfast for £77 via Booking.com. Our room was on the 7th floor providing good views over the city.
Again, staff were friendly and helpful, especially the maintenance man who reprogrammed our TV for us. Our room was clean with excellent adjustable air conditioning, but despite being 'superior' had fairly basic amenities, with few drinks/milk etc, and a basic double bed as opposed to king size. Other touches lacking were the provision of a morning paper and a security safe in the room, although they had them in reception.
Some inconsiderate guests playing music until after 3am spoilt a good night's sleep, but the breakfast was very nice and well organised

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    308
    93
    25
    11
See reviews for
137
235
43
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I wasnt suprised why this hotel had such good reviews. It is such good value for money. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had everything you needed. I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel though as we had a room at the front on a Saturday night and could hear the booming music coming from a club in the town. (Even though this is no fault of the hotels at all) I cant fault this hotel what so ever, its classy,clean and very welcoming and the breakfast is really nice, has a wide variety of choice from bagels,fruit and cereal to a full cooked breakfast. Its fresh and replenished regularly and is served between 7-11am to cater for early birds and people who want a lie in. If your thinking of staying here then do! Its worth every penny and more. And to top it off its in walking distance to the town centre. Perfect!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel.Its a modern hotel and central to Derby town centre. I was there visiting for the week end, for a family engagement party. I suggest a room at the back of the hotel for peace and quiet. My room was warm and quiet. Very clean with everything I needed. It felt secure and the beds were very comfortable with black out curtains for a good nights sleep. The bar is excellent open until 1 am with a vibrant atmosphere. Breakfast says buffet style. Which understates it somewhat. It is buffet but the turn over of food is quick, therefore all is freshly prepared and there was lots left, when we all went down at 10.15 as most of my family were also staying in the hotel. The food was excellent. Plenty of tables and a clean environment. Tables were cleared quickly. The staff were warm and welcoming as we arrived on a rainy day.
Yes the car park is small and was full. But there is one across the road a multi storey. We stayed there for 24 hours which cost us £10.50. Over night it was £7.20. Not too bad really and the car was secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as this is quieter. Because it is close to the town centre s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good with plenty of selection of continental and hot food. The hotel bar is ridiculously expensive £8.60 for 2 drinks to me this is way over the top compared to £5 in town. It is only a few minutes walk into town with plenty of bars and restaurants. we managed to park our car in the hotel car park which cost £6 for 24 hours. we didn't dine at the hotel in the evening because the menu looked too expensive so we walked into town which was much better value for eating out. Traffic noise could be heard from our room on level 4 so I didn't sleep too well. I would stay again but ask for a room on a higher level up.
Overall a good stay here

Room Tip: Walk into town for drinks much cheaper than the hotel bar Better choice and value of food in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Six of us 40 something 'girls' have just spent a very enjoyable overnight stay at Jurys Inn Derby; for a weekend of shopping and an evening show at The Assembly Rooms.
We booked 3 rooms and were granted our request at them being next to each other.
Arriving at 1pm on Saturday afternoon, parking in the carpark under the hotel was no problem, and at £6 for 24 hours was good value. Our rooms were ready for us on arrival and check in was swift, efficient and very friendly- despite us each paying separately, then adding on breakfast!
Rooms were a decent enough size for an overnight stay and had a good choice of coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms were clean , powerful shower, and included nice shower gel and decent fluffy towels.
We had drinks in the bar before (and after!) going into town, and it was very comfortable and relaxing.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was very busy when we went down at 9am..but the very friendly lady Magda (?sp) allowed us to grab a coffee until the rush had died down and she reserved a long table for us all. Breakfast was a great choice of hot and cold, including porridge; and the staff worked very hard replenishing supplies.
All in all, a great value overnight stay at a large, clean, modern and very comfortable hotel- with a special mention and thankyou to the very friendly and efficient staff on reception, bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have fabulous views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent another night here recently; and again, no reason to complain. Good value, friendly staff, good rooms, clean with an excellent buffet breakfast (great choice of options). Very convenient for city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed over for one night, mid week.

Room was very small and no bath. Bed was very hard and room was very small.

Service was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was substantial but not very tasty.

Would not book again. We will be staying another famous 'purple' themed chain in future.

Parking underneath the hotel is chargeable and there are no stairs or lift up the hotel. My disabled Mum struggled with the walk up to the main reception.

Overall - adequate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derby
#10 Family Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral quarter - ideal for both business visitors as this is Derby's thriving business district and leisure guests exploring the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is within 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant short walk to Derby's shopping epicentre - St. Peters Quarter. If you are visiting Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District you'll be pleased to know that the hotel is only a short drive away to these places as well. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a refreshing workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If you are arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park - only 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel features 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, JurysInn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.