We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC AS USUAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dovecote Restaurant

The Dovecote Restaurant
Main Road | Morley Derbyshire, Derby DE7 6DG, England
+44 1332780480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 407 restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A member of the Gourmet Society, The Dovecote Restaurant in Morley Hayes, Derby, offers English and Continental cuisine at its finest. The interior is designed to recapture the original essence of the building, whilst offering a sense of class and chic through the use of fine fabrics and well-chosen colours. The menu is seasonal and relies on only the freshest ingredients to create dishes such as smoked haddock cannelloni with Derby cheese mustard cream sauce, chicken breast with apple and onion marmalade and monkfish with wild rocket risotto. Vegetarians are likely to be equally delighted with dishes such as tomato tart, maple syrup roasted chicory and Golden Cross goat's cheese to tempt them. A word to dieters: beware the dessert menu; it's a seductive selection of decadent treats.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC AS USUAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent service as usual , fantastic food , great ambiance , we were celebrating a family birthday and they all ways add that special touch ,so that it will be an occasion to remember , so thank you Morley Hayes .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Lynn
Thank you the review following the birthday celebration. Happy birthday and best wishes from us all at Morley Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    29
    5
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“70 years and still going strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were lucky enough to be invited to a 70th wedding anniversary party on Friday at the Dovecote, Morley Hayes. The small room at the end of the restaurant was delightful, and the staff were very aware of our friends ages and the amazing celebration of 70 years together and made us all very welcome. We had been given the menu to choose from some weeks before, and when the food came it was first class, both in presentation and flavour. The starters were all intriguing and beautifully presented I had salmon with quails eggs, my husband had smoked mackerel...delicious! Main course I stuck to the fish. Lemon sole will never taste any better, and John had lamb. All of it so tasty. And then came dessert. OOOOOH, chocolate is my favourite anyway This restaurant could not be faulted.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review following the 70th birthday celebration. The end section of the restaurant is perfect for small celebration parties. When we have our family parties we use that and i agree with you "delightfull". The lamb comes from the farm opposite Morley Hayes - so could not be more local. And the chocolate pudding delicious!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

good quality food and wine served by staff whom made you feel wlecome

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you so much for a lovely review. Look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cannot Fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The meal, the ambiance and the service could not be faulted - again. Despite a busy Jubilee weekend we once again had an excellent experience. Food was of high standard and locally sourced as much as possible. A good balance of fine food and unpretentiousness. Service was friendly and unobtrusive. As my husband was driving we did not have pre-dinner drinks as we were going to enjoy a bottle of wine with the meal, therefore, we did not require (or expect) canapes. However, as we were sat at our table, they bought some to us. Highly recommend for any occasion - go on, spoil yourself!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best in Derby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and on both occasions we had an excellent meal in fact gourmet is the best description I can give

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Brilliant! Delighted you had an excellent meal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dovecote Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.