We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Everest

Mount Everest
London Road, Derby, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 413 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A refreshing change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

There are a few Nepalese restaurants in Derby and this is the best. The service is very courteous and efficient and the food is hearty and is often an interesting twist on traditional Indian Fayre. The Lamb 'momo' starters are a great boiled dumpling with oodles of flavour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    26
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty alternative to Indian/Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the second time we've eaten at the Mount Everest, having sought it out after our last visit. We're not particularly familiar with Nepali food, but this was accessible whilst still being "different" enough from the usual Saturday night choices. I had a fish dish which was salmon based, cooked just right, with a rich spiciness; my partner had lamb which was rich and beautifully tender. It wasn't very busy, which was strange, but maybe we went at the wrong time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have been with the missus, with my pals and with the kids and every time has been amazing. Just back from collecting a takeaway tonight and felt compelled to write. Had to wait 4 minutes tops for my order and got a free half of Mongoose - excellent. Service always amazing and food sublime. I am no an expert on Nepali food but I know what I like and I like the Mount Everest. Derby has some amazing Indian/sub-continent restaurants but this, in my humble opinion, is the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Probably the best of Derby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've visited many restaurants in Derby but this one was probably the best of all. Since the moment we have ordered our meals, we felt amused and taken care of. Furthermore, prices are great and the food is authentic. I will definitely visit Mount Everest many times again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lush food at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food at Mount Everest has blown me away, very reasonable, a great menu and always service with a smile! One of my favourite curry's in Derby!
Paneer Shashlik is highly recommended. YUM!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Everest also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Mount Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Everest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.