We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I'd pay full price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cathedral Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Derby
Derby
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd pay full price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had bought a voucher on Travelzoo. When I went to book it I was informed that all the rooms on that date had gone so the only option was to upgrade to a king size but as it was only an extra £10 that was absolutely fine. When we arrived, the receptionist was initially ‘frosty’ and she sent us off to our room that was tiny; a box room on the ground floor. Returning to reception to query this we were told we had been placed in a standard double. Funny… I didn’t think there were any available that night! Anyway, she mellowed a bit and reassigned us to a much bigger room on the second floor. Be aware, if the lift is still broken this is quite few stairs with a case. The décor is getting a bit scruffy and a bit patchy in places but the room itself was good. Really hot though and the air con didn’t seem to work. We had our cocktails in Bar Sixteen and mine came bizarrely decorated with a cheap purple plastic peg attached…. It tasted good though. The hotel is in a great location but it doesn’t have any outside space which is a shame in the summer. Most of the staff were very friendly and attentive. Dinner was just ok but champagne breakfast was fab.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    113
    55
    44
    31
See reviews for
35
204
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hyde cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel was lovely as it was on our previous stay, rooms can be small but really nice.Didn't think the food was as good as our last visit, asked for medium steak, and came well done and dry.Took
It back, and within a couple of minutes with another, which was as bad as the last one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Travelzoo offer, absolute unbelievable value for money. Check in
very efficient, room small but beautifully formed, Really comfy bed. Standards of Service and Cleanliness excellent. Cocktails in Bar Sixteen were excellent. Evening Meal and breakfast were superb. Thank you for a wonderful stay and put the offer on again soon, please ..............

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently and could not fault anything. There were extremely helpful staff in every area of the hotel. The level of cleanliness and service was second to none. The restaurant was welcoming, the food was delicious and the service was first class. A very nice hotel indeed & I would certainly recommend this to you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Cathedral quarter Hotel weekend of 17th May, there were 8 adults in the group. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough to help, rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was delicious. A special mention to Luke the on night reception, how did the proposal go??

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here on business with colleagues and would certainly stay again. The rooms aren't large but well appointed although the parkay flooring,clearly part of the original building, was loose. The reception area is a stunning and staff were friendly and efficient. Parking is not on site ( there are about 4 spaces) but public parking is one minute away. This area of Derby has bars and restaurants in abundance and within 100 metres of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent in a very pleasant dining room. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Poor service overall and would never go back there! We stayed on my wedding night as had guests staying at our house so thought would be more peaceful to stay at hotel after a long day... When we arrived at the hotel we weren't allowed in for over an hour due to the fire alarm going off, there was a party at the hotel and someone had drunkenly set the alarm off. when we were eventually allowed in the lift was out of order and no help to carry luggage to second floor even though staff could see we were in heavy bridal outfits!!!
The standard double room itself was clean but like a shoebox...if your clostraphobic DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE...YOU WOULD BE BETTER GOING TO THE TRAVELODGE EVEN!!! no dressing table with a mirror even though I'd rang the hotel to confirm there was as my beautician was due to arrive the next morning to get me ready for day 2 of my wedding..she did get me ready but it was a struggle as the pictures displayed of the rooms are nothing like the rooms themselves!

Advised of late check out but cleaners were waiting outside the door eager for us to leave we could hear them banging as if to say hurry up and get out!!!

Overall would never go back or recommend it to any friends or family...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#9 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with a mini spa & treatment rooms, conference rooms, cocktailbar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.