We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in derby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cathedral Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel in derby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed for new years eve to eliminate the trouble of getting home after a night around Derby.

As someone who lives local and frequents derby regular I too don't understand why this hotel is not the best rated in Derby on here?

Rooms are nicely decorated, clean and modern, the communal areas have kept some of the old features of the building after it was renovated (old court building/police station??) which was a welcome change to the usual chain hotel look. All staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a decent area of the city centre and is perfect for shopping/nightlife/restaurants, although parking overnight was not cheap even with a discount card from reception. We were going to have several warm up drinks in the hotel bar before going around town but we found the drinks pricey, even for cocktails due to the size of the glass they were served in so left to go out after only one drink.

I cant comment on breakfast as the night before was a late one and we did not rise til late!

I would return and I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a derby city centre hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    104
    50
    38
    25
See reviews for
33
184
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a hen package and would definitely recommend.
Pros
- Value! For £155 we got champagne cream tea in a private dining room (real champers not prosecco as I expected), 30 min treatment, 2 hour fun cocktail class incl 3 cocktails each, 3 course dinner incl a glass of wine, classy twin room with comfy beds and great bathroom, full breakfast till 10.30, and late 1pm check out. Really felt like a lot of high quality entertainment for our money.
- Service - we felt really welcome, not always the case for hens, and they'd really gone the extra mile with stuff like late check out to add a bit of extra relaxation time.
- Easy staggering distance (5 mins in heels) to the main nightlife area for bars after dinner.

Cons
They've done the difficult stuff really well, but there were some bizarre bits and pieces that could be easily ironed out for a near perfect experience.
- a couple more lamps in the mood-lit/ dark rooms.
- label the TV 'on' button! We're not thick but were following wires behind desks to extension cables etc and eventually gave up till one of our party found the 'on' button actually underneath the telly.
- 5 pieces of ravioli is not a main course
- stick the loose parquet down - so noisy!
- We LOVED the taste in music on the playlist but it must've been an hour long max. Given that the whole 24hrs of the package is in the hotel, by breakfast the next day we were joking about which song came next.

I know these are picky points but they'd be so easy to sort out. Give hotel staff a night stay with a partner per 12 months service and get them to give detailed feedback afterwards - this would've resolved all these minor niggles ages ago.

Overall great though!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best thing about this modern , trendy bright hotel is its location. 2 mins walk from restauran and bars ! No free parking and rooms a very small with just room to walk around the bed. Overall worth the 80 a night !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

After staying one night at the Cathedral Quarter i can honestly say I'm am disheartened that I couldn't stay longer. It's beautiful decor, great location, executive feel, good value for money and BEAUTIFUL rooms really set the standard for the rest of Derby! After arriving to a warm welcome I was informed about any relevant information and nothing was left out. I booked a suite (no23) which I would highly recommend! From seeing other reviews on here the standard rooms seem to be lacking in space but I can't say this about the suites! They are perfect for a couple! Duplex layout with Ample space for two! Impeccably clean with kingsize beds and bathrooms that rival the Ritz! Honestly the most beautiful hotel bathroom I've ever seen! They really do have the wow factor with very executive touches such as a tile tv, soft closing toilet,mood lighting inside the bath inself and waterfall showers that could easily house 5 people! All the suites have 2 LOWE tv and DVD players which have a very expensive high end feel/look.
The check out time is slightly later than most hotels at 11am and a nice bonus for anyone wanting a lie in.

The only negatives are the fact that this is the only 4 star hotel I've stayed in that didn't have an ironing board/iron in the room as standard. However a quick ring down to reception meant one was hand delivered in minutes! Great service!
Apart from that the only other negative was that the tv mounted into the bathroom wall did not work. (Same complaint as another review on trip advisor from earlier this year.) This needs rectifying! However this is one very small let down and the pros certainly outway the cons when it comes to the Cathedral quarter hotel! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here a few times - the rooms tend to be small, but very well equipped. Restaurant good but over a little priced and not very private, bar small but nice. Nice gem in the heart of Derby.Will be back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed overnight at end of December 2012. Made welcome. Room 16. Small but tidy and warm. Nice bathroom. VERY VERY VERY noisy. SOME of this may have been down to the fact that there were some Christmas parties taking place. But why would these revellers be allowed through the corridors at night time? This old police station has parquet flooring along every corridor which looks great. However, most of it on our visit was loose and every footstep the floor rattled and with no curtains or carpet, noise is amplified. Bit of a death trap too. The odd sign here and there warning visitors of the state of the flooring doesn't forgive the fact that it shouldn't be like that at all. They might have paid £5 million to develop the hotel back in 2008 but it looks like very little has been spent on it since then. Systems need sorting too, took me ages to persuade the guy at checkout that I had had burger and chips on room service the night before. Could easily have got away with it but I am one of the honest ones!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from loose parquet flooring on the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here 1st December for one night when attending a friends evening reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor in the bedroom was lovely,the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was vey nice good choice of food. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#9 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with a mini spa & treatment rooms, conference rooms, cocktailbar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.