We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff, bath not so good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cathedral Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Derby
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff, bath not so good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed this weekend in suite number 23. The staff on reception were very friendly and very helpful recommending local places to eat and we tried fatcats and the food was great! The suite was very nice with an upstairs double bedroom and a downstairs sofa. A little bit of a squeeze for 3 but had all the facilities you would want in a good hotel. The bathrooms look great but our bath didnt work- A special thank you to the night manager Martin? Who went out of his way when he too couldnt turn the fancy bath on!! and gave us the use of the nextdoor bath as that suite was also empty... We parked at the nearby park safe car park -a 3 minute walk if that! and had a discount voucher from reception. Breakfast was good and overall the hotel lived up to our expectations. Would stay again when in Derby.

Room Tip: the suite next to ours number 22 was bigger and better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the kind comments about reception and your room. I'm pleased to hear that concierge was so helpful, and as well Martin our night manager. Our property manager is on the case with regard to the bath in room 23 and this will be resolved soon. We hope to seee you again in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    123
    62
    46
    36
See reviews for
44
217
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was a surprise birthday trip so feedback below doesnt detract at all from a great weekend in Derbyshire.. We arrived late at the hotel and front of house staff very friendly. Building and interior all lovely. Our room, however was quite small.. and getting in and out of the bathroom required you to be a contortionist!! The TV was in a strange dead space in the corner - when a mirror was placed in the optimum position,,, all little things but added to our opinion.

I was very disappointed with breakfast. The service was underwhelming and the pancake of the day - sounded promising but was a raw pile of batter... No one actually came over to ask how it was either.. The ham and cheese would have been nice with a bread roll but they could only offer sliced white which tasted like cheap catering rubbery bread and was covered with burnt toast crumbs... again, small things but these make a difference.

Later on - the front of house proved to be the silver lining as they went above and beyond when we needed to secure our bikes.

We had a drink in the bar - and this is where the staff let the company down.. there were 4 people serving - and I use the term loosely... I mean chatting - I had to prompt them to take our order and provide a bill (and they outnumbered customers).. they seemed more intent on flirting with each other and spoke loudly about the guests from the wedding in the main building.... also - the young waitress appeared to be sampling the cocktails by dipping the stirrer/straws in the cocktails and sucking on them... they needed to make themselves look busy!! If i was the manager - i would have been furious!!


The bed was massive - loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are lucky to have such a lovely hotel with great staff.
The building is listed and therefore we did have some restrictions when restoring and developing the building into a hotel. This means some of the rooms are smaller then others, however they are all well appointed with all modern facilities.

I will pass on your comments about breakfast and ensure that the bar manager has seen your comments about the staffing levels. However, I'm pleased to hear concierge was helpful with your bikes and that you enjoyed your bed!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel looks good on the web and in fairness lives up to it. The main issue I had was the loose parque flooring that they have which wakes you up in the night and the morning. When I complained I was told that next time I would be put on the third floor!! Seems they are happy with it as the issue has been going on for some time. That and my rather small room aside it was clean and well placed for Derby,clean with pleasant staff and the food was good. I cannot comment on value for money as I was on a business trip but the floor alone will stop me staying again.They need to get it fixed!

Room Tip: Get one on the 3rd floor where it is carpeted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments. We are aware of the issue with the parque flooring, however this is a massive job which means closing off part of the hotels corridors once started. We are happy to move any guests which find it too noisey, and can sometimes upgrade. Like all hotels, we have smaller and larger rooms for single or double occupancy. However if these are not suitable then a quick call to concierge can mean that we can move guests, if we have the availability. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the hotel is well placed. We also offer coporate rates to businesses so I can assure you that we are very competitive, and offer extras that other hotels in the area do not.

I do hope you to see you again soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had high expectations for this hotel but were very disappointed.

The Room: We stayed in Room 1 was immediately next to Reception. This should have sounded alarm bells but we have stayed close to reception areas previously with no issue. However, avoid this room at all costs. It was very noisy - the chatter from the reception, the bar opposite the reception and the clickety clack of heels on the beautiful parquet flooring was bad but worse was the noise from the room directly above us. The folk upstairs were not overly noisy; just walking around and chatting but the walls and ceilings are paper thin. You could hear them very clearly in the bathroom and I won't elaborate. At one point during the night I actually thought there was someone in OUR room - it was quite disconcerting but sleep deprivation can do strange things.

The Food: My partner ordered lamb and had to send it back because it was more than blue. We had not been asked how we would wish the food to be cooked - you usually assume that lamb is cooked for more than a fleeting second. The waitress returned the food to the kitchen and it was returned reasonably quickly and cooked but with only a very meager apology. Most people enjoy the blueness we were told. My partner was unwell through the night. I had chicken which was tasty. The dessert was inedible.

Good Points: The building is beautiful and the room clean. When we complained in the morning we were offered a small discount on checkout. The lady on reception took the trouble to find out exactly why we were dissatisfied and was particularly careful to note our comments on the food and advised that she would pick it up with the chef and thanked us for our feedback.

The Best Bit: There is a car park 50 m from the hotel which claims to be The Safest Car Park in the World. It was great - bright, clean and lovely wide parking bays. £10 for an overnight park but the hotel offers a 30% discount. I'll use the car park again but not the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 (and maybe all the downstairs room due to noise from the upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent feedback. With regard to the room, although the parque flooring can be noisy to some we do have many guests which prefer these rooms as they are close to all our facillites; and can pick up the WIFI from reception. We are always more than happy to change rooms if guests are not comfortable provided we have availability, which on this occasion we did. I fully understand that some guests can be noisy but a room change may have resolved this issue.

After the initial investigation from the Deputy General Manager, it was found that the rack of lamb was served pink as per our standard, and the request for it to be cooked further was duly met. The Chef de Rang on shift in the resturant reported back that there were no complaints throughout the meal during any of her check backs. The kitchen adhere to strict Health and Safety and Food Hygiene procedures and we take any complaint very seriously. Therefore, if you feel it would be benefical, please speak to our Deputy General Manager who will take this case on personally.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the building and that the receptionist on check out the following morning was helpful. I believe she offfered a complimentary afternoon tea to yourselves but this was declined. However, this is still an open offer by way of a goodwill gesture and can be obtained by speaking to our Deputy General Manager.

I hope this clarifies some of your issues and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked the hotel late as a last minute trip.

Upon arrival the greeting was warm and welcoming.

All of the staff were very attentive and couldn't do anything more for us on our stay.

The room was very clean and comfortable.

We decided to dine in the restaurant in the evening and weren't disappointed followed by drinks in the cocktail bar, a most enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and there was a good wine selection to choose from.

The hotel has a spa, which we didn't use on this occasion, but the offering looked like a good selection.

The location is literally 1minute walk from the cathedral and 10 minutes to the theatre and shopping area.

Dispite it's city centre location we didn't hear any noise from our room.

When we are back in Derby we will definately stay again and would hoighly recommend to anyone wanting a luxury stay in an absolutely stunning building which has been sympathetically updated to the hotel from it's original use.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all the staff and especially concierge who will be pleased to hear it. We are very lcuky to have such great chefs who have a real passion for food. The same goes out mixologists in the bar, who come up with some leathal cocktails!

When your back again please do try the Clink Spa it really is worth it. Not only is it relaxing but the treatments are very good value!

We look forward to weloming you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute and hotel was easy enough to find, we did take a few detours on te one way system to get here. The public car park where th hotel give you 30% discount is easy to find and very much in walking distance.

The hotel looks fab, rooms are stylish in design, the main entrance hall is grand, as is the restaurant.

The hotel would be great as an art gallery as the building is large and grand. It does not suit as a hotel as with the big hall and corridor the noise travels from the main hall and between the rooms. The corridors have tiled floors so every pair of heels walking round the hotel echoed and woke us up. Worst night sleep!

The bad sleep was also added to by a bad stomach from the food eaten in the restaurant. My partner had the chicken which was fine. I had the lamb and need it to be returned to the kitchen for cooking. It was edible after this. I ordered a chocolate pudding which was very disappointing as I couldn't get my fork through it. The stomach cramps I had the following morning were dreadful and could have only been a result from The food eaten in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie O, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. This review is in relation to the “Too noisy and the food wasn't great either" dated 22 May 2012. As per our reply to that review, I firmly believe we have taken all steps to resolve the issue and up keep customer relations.

The only point which was not covered in the prior reply to the sister review was the dessert. Again on the night although the dessert was not finished, when the Chef de Rang on duty approached the subject no complaint was made. Further to this another four tables ordered the same dessert and sent back their plates with compliments. Had an issue been raised we would have had the chance to offer a more preferable alternative.

It is unfortunate that the hotel management were not given the opportunity to address these points either during the stay or via another media format following departure, yet posted on Trip Advisor in conjuction with each other.

As per our prior offering we would be more than happy to offer a complimentary afternoon tea for two and the opportunity to come back to us to discuss these points further in an effort to manage and mantain our strong relationship which we have with our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here as a one night get away in a suite which was lovely. Bath was luxurious with changing colour lights. We particularly looked forward to the novelty of having a built in tv above the bath, but were disappointed to find it wasn't working. We informed reception, and concierge attempted to get it to work, but unfortunately couldn't. Aside from this, the room was comfortable, light and had good facilities. The view wasn't great over carparks, but you're not going to get brilliant views in city centres - though the cathedral looked nice lit up at night.

Had a tv and dvd player in the living area and another in bedroom, and a mini fridge with drinks and snacks at a cost. Could have had a little notepad/pen on the desk (for convenience) - may be just a personal preference. Also, would have been good to have two complimentary bottles of water, as opposed to one if two are sharing the room.

Ordered room service, it was nice, but wouldn't say 4*. Were meant to have 'chunky chips' with derbyshire beef burger, but they were the same as the 'hand cut' chips side order, which were a bit too salty and dry, and would be nice to have the tom and chilli jam in a dish, rather than already in the burger. Butternut squash taglarini was quite tasty, and desserts were very good.

Everything was lovely about our stay, apart from the noise we encountered during the night which kept us awake from 11pm to 2am, (it was then at 2 we decided we had to ring the night porter to change rooms). He was helpful, put us in the room next door and we had a pleasant sleep. Not sure what the noise was - sounded like a very loud scratching/tearing carpet fibres sound, which only appeared when in bed, accompanied with the odd knocking sound - a very unusual noise, which was quite unnerving/irritating. We thought it may have been the material underneath the base of the bed or the structure of the flooring, but we spent an hour trying/testing to see what it was, and couldn't match the sound. We also attempted to lay on the bed the next morning, and the sound was gone - so just a night time occurence? Nevertheless, reception deducted £20 from our bill.

The welcome was pleasant but felt check-in could have been more informative, such as saying where to go for breakfast in the morning, maybe pointing out the lounge/bar to make guests feel more accustomed to the hotel, asking if the guest will use spa during their stay - if so, explain a bit about where it is/facilities on offer. Although this information is in the handbook in your bedroom, some may not (be able to) read it/or prefer to be informed directly.

On the whole, an enjoyable stay but a few areas that could be improved to make it more pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 23 was a bit noisy as right opposite a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#8 Business Hotel in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with a mini spa & treatment rooms, conference rooms, cocktailbar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.