We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and attentive service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico

Mexico
34/35 Saddlergate, Derby DE1 3NR, England
01332 342090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 423 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Tasty food and attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Mexico a couple of years ago and enjoyed it, I was hoping that it would have maintained its high standards.
Luckily I was right, the food is well presented, with a good range of options on the menu, veggie and regular.
The restaurant was empty when we arrived, which can be seen as off putting on the breakup day of the Easter weekend, but this meant we had our pick of tables and attentive yet not intrusive service.
The place soon filled up, yet the service standard remained constant. I love the decor of the restaurant and find it really warm and welcoming. A great place to catchup with a Friend and sample some delicious Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We really appreciate your review as it shows that we are staying on our toes and continuing to deliver a good, consistent service. I agree with your comment about being in early as this can be off-putting if you are one of the first tables to arrive but you persevered and were rewarded with an enjoyable night - if only everyone had your foresight! Thanks for your comment about the decor as we try to keep it slightly understated, and our staff really appreciate your comments about their levels of service. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    22
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food,great staff,lack of customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had lunch here and the restaurant was very empty,this does not give a great atmosphere but when the staff service is good and the food good, it deserves a very good rating.
The menu is limited-only 6 choices,but three of us had differnt dishes and all enjoyed them.We had a bottle of wine,but were unsure about our choice and were given a taste to decide
-excellent service.Music was good.Staff service was very good--this place needs more customers and a more extensive menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review. As you stated the lunch menu is limited to six mains albeit there are a variety of made to order wraps available too. Based on the cuisine and the fact we are at the opposite end of town to the main shopping centre we don't often get too many people in for lunch - but as we are here, we are happy to open! If you had wanted anything off the evening menu this wouldn't have been a problem and this is much more extensive. However, by offering the smaller lunch menu we were able to offer you and all of our customers the same meal at less than half price - I'm sure you'll agree this makes sense.

Really glad you had a good time and we'd love to see you back soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Went on a cold thursday night and was pleasantly impressed. Food was tasty and a good size, staff were friendly and helpful without being over bearing. Good atmosphere for a Thursday and some catchy music! Would def recommend and we will be back soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and also noticing our music selection as this has recently been updated and we are receiving good feedback. Glad it was busy for you on a Thursday as these have varied with the very cold and unpredictable weather we have been having. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am from the United States and have enjoyed Mexican food in many places and in different forms including France, Texas, the Eastern Coast of the US, and Derby, UK. Mexico is a lovely place with strong cocktails and delicious food. My husband and I find this our go-to restaurant when we want to eat out. My husband is a vegetarian and sometimes picky about the places in which he eats, but he feels very comfortable with the food at Mexico. Our only wish is that Mexico could bring back its wide range of Tequilas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, our cocktails and food. We are slowly increasing our range of tequilas again; we had to run the Tequilaria down for a time (we had a range of 50 tequilas) due to holding so much stock during the onset of the recession, etc. However, as stated, this is now hopefully being addressed over the next few months. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The first time my husband and visited the service and food was wonderful and the atmosphere was great ..

Last night the service was slow, and the staff didnt seem yo have a clue..
The food however was still of a high standard.
We felt that we were inconveniencing the staff when asking for things that really should have been provided like prices for drinks .

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T, Owner at Mexico, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review, we were pleased to see that although you highlighted some concern with the service on Saturday night you were happy with the high standard and quality of your meal. Unfortunately Saturday night was busy and we found ourselves unexpectadly short staffed, which we did try to address . Several tables acknowledged this and were understanding about it. Unfortunately this situation did lead to some unavoidable slowness with service, which i do acknowledge and apologise for. In addition one of our waiting staff was working only their second weekend. It is surprising and disapointing to hear that you felt as though you were inconveniencing the staff as we have recieved very positive comments about the staff working on Saturday. We will however discuss this further with the staff concerened as we aim to provide a high level of service at all times and we value your feedback.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.