We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Station Hotel to your Saves list
The Station Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
leeds
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here with friends on a rugby weekend to see Gloucester play was greeted at hotel reception by a chap who couldnt have been more helpful. we booked two twin rooms which were very clean and spacious.
All the staff were helpful on our return later on in the evening and the food was great value and plenty of it. We nearly missed out on the breakfast as we were rather late coming down but the breakfast chef was happy to cook us a full breakfast before we headed back home.
will stay at this hotel again for sure

Room Tip: We were all very happy with our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    20
    11
    29
See reviews for
8
24
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as we was down visiting my sister who lives near by and had recomended it to us we like a bargin and thought the price of a twin room was very reasonable yet were surprised at the outstanding customer service at this hotel inwhich we would class as a budget hotel the staff were polite and freindly and couldnt do enough for you. The evening meals were of an excellent standard at at a freindly price of two meals for £8.95. My husband enjoyed the selection of real ales again at freindly prices the room its self was reasonable size with ensuite faciltys very clean but tired needs a litlle tlc on the decor. But.other than that overall its a lovely hotel have already booked here again for next years visit

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

second time i have been here its a great place this time they got a new menu
the steaks just melt in your mouth
staff were fantastic room was great with a big TV
real ales were spot on value for money i will be back again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

When you come in, it might look a bit crappy and rough, but the staff is very helpful, the room and bathroom were very clean. location is perfect, just between the trainstation and busstation of Gloucester, on walking distance of everything what is worth visiting in this town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I found this hotel looking a little sad but value for money it was very good. The room was ok, single occupancy and had a double bed with bath/shower. Full breakfast was included, NCP car park opposite £5 per 24 hrs, 5 min. walk to centre.
Carpets did look a little sad but staff were helpful.

Room Tip: late bookings for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We chose the Station hotel for it's easy access via rail and road and the attractive price despite it's proximity to the town centre. We were pleasantly surprised at every turn by what was on offer for the price paid. The staff were welcoming and friendly and we were soon booked into our room.
Everything in the room was clean and well presented, even if the decor leaves a little to be desired. Personally we weren't there to stare at the walls so this made little difference to us. The Freeview TV was a nice touch and there was plenty of room and cupboard space. The room was quiet too.
The bathroom was a good size and the shower was more powerful than those in some "name" hotels we have visited.Finally, breakfast was generous and there was plenty of variety. As it was a weekend visit we were able to park for free on a road to the rear of the building after 6pm which was an added bonus
All the above coupled with the homely atmosphere generated by the staff means we will be using this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights on the 3rd and 4th June and were well pleased with both the price and the accomodation. The rooms, although not modern, were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast good and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

All in all the hotel represented good value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Bruton Way, Gloucester GL1 1DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel was built in 1880 and is located in Gloucester opposite the Train Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from the bustling Gloucester city centre. There are 23 recently refurbished ensuite guestrooms at the hotel which all include satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, Wi-Fi and a hairdryer. While staying at The Station Hotel guests can enjoy some tasty food in the very traditional restaurant, there is also a cafe bar, a sports bar with its own uniquely designed pool table and a very comfortable lounge area . There is various entertainment throughout the week this is advertised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.