We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Inn Hotel to your Saves list
New Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
Stockport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unhappy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having stayed here, I am afraid that I cannot recommend it. Room provided without duvet and even after 3 requests to guy who seemed to be in charge it never came. Room dusty and in need of major makeover. TV not working. Sorry to write this but just not good enough and this place could be amazingly good. Also, very noisy karaoke bar and late night revellers making racket in the courtyard.

Room Tip: No additional comment to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    110
    67
    51
    53
See reviews for
32
165
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night in the Lady Jane Grey suite which is on the first floor at the front, we did not hear any 'street noise' at all overnight as no cars pass that way. The building itself is fascinating (how often do you get the chance to stay in a 14th century inn?) with the historical story explained clearly in the cobbled courtyard. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine. We would happily stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pros: Friendly professional staff, a very picturesque building, a central location and decent traditional English food.
Cons: Rooms at the front suffer from street noise, rooms at the back suffer from noise from the pub on the ground floor, which seems to be a thriving social hotbed.

The room was slightly tired, with a bit of peeling wallpaper and torn net curtain but clean and well furnished. Wifi didn't make it to my room, but worked a treat on the 14th century balcony just outside.

All in all, a nice change from the pedestrian norm but you couldn't call it peaceful.

Room Tip: Take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnedosa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights in this hotel in the heart of Gloucester. I cannot fault the service, very friendly, professional and helpful. The New Inn is a bit of a misnomer, actually built in the 1300's or 1400's!! It is a characterful hotel with a central courtyard that opens to Northgate St.
The room I stayed in (208) was clean and comfortable. The full English breakfast was just right for setting us up for a day's sightseeing. Lunch was very popular and looked really good, but wasn't able to try it. The bar had a good selection of beers and just the thing when finishing a day out.
There are no lifts, but given that the building is listed and 700 years old - it's hardly surprising!
Only down side was lack of convenient parking.

Room Tip: 1st floor is easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I was part of a group of 80 people celebrating Gloucester Day in the function suite. The quality of the food was truly terrible and we spent the time discussing what an awful impression visitors would have of our city should they experience a similar meal. I was shocked that standards could be so low in a city centre establishment as many of the hotels and restaurants in the area are very good - a waste of a lovely building in a great position -

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was like Fawlty Towers without the Basil but lots of Manuels. It must be difficult for Relax Inns with old properties like this. Difficult to renovate, decorate or even clean properly, but it seems like very bad use of a lovely building. No toiletries till the day I left. I asked for a quiet room and was woken at 6.30am every morning by what sounded like a massive hovercraft but was probably the kitchen extractor. It's the little things that get you though. Breakfast seems to be Full English or Full English. So I had Full English, but for me that needs Brown sauce. On the first day I asked for sauce and was given and empty bottle, they brought me another then another then another -each empty. Next day same thing, the same four bottles. Third day the same by which time I pointed out there was a Tesco a few doors down, Thursday I offered to go myself, Friday the cook didn't turn up so I didn't need sauce.
Something's amiss at RelaxInns methinks.

Room Tip: Don't think I can help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a fascinating place to stay but difficult to rate. The location is central and especially convenient for the cathedral but rated simply on its facilities the hotel is quite poor: the en suite bathroom to our room was tired and the electric shower a bit feeble, for example. However, the hotel is steeped in history and has a unique atmosphere. The bar was also friendly and served well-kept real ale, and the breakfast was filling, tasty and served quickly (though the coffee was too weak!). Judged purely on its fixtures and fittings the hotel is poor but for a short visit of a night or two it is a splendid place to stay in the centre of Gloucester.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: 16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15Th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music and karaoke at weekends and occasional weeknights, until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.