We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post-Christmas surprise visit to family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth to your Saves list
Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth
Tewkesbury Road | Twigworth, Gloucester GL2 9PG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Post-Christmas surprise visit to family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the reception area of this Premier Inn, we were made to feel very welcome. All of the staff that we came into contact with were extremely pleasant and friendly, always asking us if there was anything they could do or if we wanted anything. The room was, as we have come to expect with Premier Inn, extremely clean, warm and comfortable. We had breakfast on the second morning, and again we were greeted very warmly. We all opted for the continental style breakfast which was more than adequate,; cereals, croissants, toast, yoghurts, fresh fruit, muffins and fruit juices, tea and coffee. The only noise we heard was the occasional movement of coathangers on the rail by the people in the room next to us, but nothing too much to worry about, and no traffic noises, which was a bonus.
Overall, the stay was a very pleasant experience: a lovely comfortable room, cheerful, friendly staff and lovely food - good "value for money" and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn.

Kind regards,

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    97
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
73
102
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days arriving on Christmas day. Even though the staff were working on Christmas day they didn't act put out.
Very friendly and helpful staff on reception. Everything I asked for was catered for and any information I needed they helped with.
A special mention for Jean doing the breakfasts , she remembered us from a very shirt stay from last year. She works very hard and always has a smile on her face.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Oakwood for a family meal with my 3yr old twins, boyfriend sister nephew and mum. We had a table in a booth so had some privacy and felt like the kids wouldn't annoy others quite so much! Great choice of food and very nice food, good kids menu too and great value for money.
Icing on the cake was Jackie our waitress, very helpful without being annoying! Wish they were all like her. Will definlately be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, General Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal at The Oakwood Table Table and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robin Stewardson
General Manager
The Oakwood Table Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights last week. Hotel room first class and a very comfy bed. The restaurant, apart from the breakfast, was appalling. If you intend to eat here in the evening be prepared for the staff to ignore you and wait ages to get your poorly cooked food. I had to ask many times to order each course, at no time did the waiting staff actually ask if I wished to order. The worst was the desert order, I requested it 4 times, twice to the manager, it eventually arrived after 45 minutes. No follow up service for coffee. There were plenty of staff and very few customers so it was not busy. The quality of the food was OK but not very well cooked.The breakfast service was totally different, only one member of staff, the service was outstanding and the food spot on. I felt as though I was in a different hotel restaurant to the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our family stopped at the oakwood restaurant yesterday for a meal after a long and rare family day out, it was the first time we had sat down to eat all day.

After checking they were serving food as it was virtually empty inside we sat down and ordered drinks and foods.

The drinks arrived with no Ice or lemon in the cokes which I thought was poor for a chain bar/ restaurant.

After ordering out food including 2 children's meals we sat waiting for quite a while considering how empty the place was.

Now the the worst bit 3 of our meals were burgers with fries, the burgers were ok and hot enough but the fries were nearly cold :-(. The children's meals were pizzas with chips and peas, again the pizzas were burnt round the edges in a very hard base and barely warm, chips also just about warm enough to eat for a child, and finally the peas looked a bit sad and shrivelled by the time the food was on our table. We also had to ask for extras to be bought over like ketchup, again poor service that we had to ask instead of it being offered when food arrived.

So all in all the food was disappointing, but the most disappointing thing was the staff when these issues were raised with them, the waitress claimed it hadn't been waiting long and it was all freshly cooked! I raised the point that this is very poor as we were the only people eating and she turned to me and said we do have people in the bar area too! Unbelieveable!

However they did bring fresh chips out which were a totally different temperature and edible, proving to us that the original chips were not freshly done, and they did a children's burger in return for the pizza which again was hot and edible.

All in all, a disappointing waste of money, below average food, poor service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night and had a very comfortable time. Stayed in room 10, very nice and shower was Ab Fab. 3rd stay at this hotel and will continue to use it when in the area.
Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night and - as we have found in other Premier Inns - the room, bed and bathroom were clean and in good condition, the bed comfortable. At the rates charged, we do not expect luxury - cleanliness and comfort are very acceptable. 2 teabags, 2 coffee sachets and some milk, hand wash and showergel provided - all basic requirements covered. We could hear people walking across the floor above but we were not disturbed.
We ate in the restaurant that evening for convenience and the food was fine for this sort of restaurant (as was breakfast next morning), the staff friendly and attentive. If you are simply looking for a bed for the night, this is a very good option. Happy to stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H, Reception Team Leader at Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Zoe Hegarty
Reception Team Leader
Gloucester Twigworth Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth

Address: Tewkesbury Road | Twigworth, Gloucester GL2 9PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester North Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Gloucester Twigworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.