We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great but dont eat at the restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Gloucester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Gloucester to your Saves list
Premier Inn Gloucester
Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel great but dont eat at the restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and 2 boys aged 9 and 12 stayed here for one night as a stop over from Wales. The hotel is clean and the beds incredibly comfy. The front desk staff were helpful and always smiled. The only disappointment was the breakfast from the restaurant next door. I would rate this very poor. We arrived for breakfast at 9.20am. There were no clean cups, bowls, plates and when plates did arrive, no bacon, no mushrooms, no eggs in the heated trays. I waited 15 minutes for food to be replenished. It was quite clear the staff couldnt cope. Two tables pushed together were used to stack dirty crockery and cutlery on...staff too busy to take them in to the kitchen to load into dishwasher? This could well be why there were no clean plates to eat from! A real shame because the hotel is actually nice. Sleep here but dont eat here!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so glad you had a good stay at our hotel and I will pass your comments to the pub manager regarding the breakfast.
I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    89
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
82
92
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for Gloucester, just a short car journey away. The hotel is in a fairly quiet setting although there is a noisy main road so if you are on that side i would imagine it could be noisy. We were on the side and although you could hear the road a tiny bit it didn't disturb us.
The hotel staff were very friendly, couldn't have helped more. On arrival the hotel reception and corridors were very hot as it was a warm day but we were pleasantly surprised to find the room had air conditioning and was wonderfully cool.
We had a family room, it was large and airy and clean and had everything we needed(although my son complained the TV was too small)
Our only complaint was breakfast. In our opinion it should start earlier than 8am. We wanted to get set off early but had to wait til 9am. Also the breakfast area in the pub next door is too small. There are plenty of seats but the area where the food is is all squashed together and as soon as there is more than a few people in there it is just unpleasant. If we stayed again we would probably not stay for breakfast.
A lovely stay though and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a good stay with us and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here with my two young children and my niece for the Royal International air tattoo. The room, as always was great and could not fault it. Would just like to say how amazing one particular staff member was and she went out of her way to ensure our stay was a great one. Have always used premier inns and especially in this area for the airshow. This is definitely one of the better ones.( even though they are all great )
The breakfast was lovely and there are plenty of other places to eat within a few minutes drive if you fancy a change. Will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the good review you have given us, I am really glad to see you would visit again and hopefully for the Air show next year!
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

does what it says on the tin, inexpensve clean and modern hotel accomodation at a sensible price. Modern room and pub style food next door so it had everything we needed for a cheap overnight stay at an excellent price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the review, I hope we will see you again.
Your comments really do mean a lot to us all.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This reviewer has been staying at hotels in Cheltenham, Gloucester and the Cotswolds for business and pleasure for forty years. Many good, mediocre and bad hotels have been swept aside by the budget chains, and no wonder. The good ones that remain have moved so far up-market that one wonders who can afford to stay there. This is probably the best Premier Inn of the lot (no, they are not all the same) with standards of welcome, presentation and cleanliness that I have not seen at twice the price. OK, this is a modern purpose built hotel on a trading estate rather than a creaking country house with log fires and dodgy plumbing, but it sets a new standard for the way we live (and spend) now. I have already booked my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel, it was great to see you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth,England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When compared to other well known budget hotels Premier Inn seem to have it sorted. Friendly welcome...clean bathroom...comfortable bed...decent price. Nothing more to say really. Didn't use the the nearby pub/restaurant as seemed a bit pricey...but that was our choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments you have made about our hotel, we really enjoy reading what our guests like. I hope we can welcome you back to Gloucester soon.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Premier Inn is conveniently located for exploring the Cotswolds and Gloucestershire. The staff were all very friendly and gave us lots of good tips regarding places to visit with our children locally. The facilities were the standard which you find at all Premier Inns.

The Chef and Brewer pub attached offered good value food and an interesting lunch/dinner time menu.

There is also a Virgin Active gym/swimming pool next door which Premier Inn guests can use (as we did with our two children) and get a 50% discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it makes us really happy to recieve such nice comments.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester

Address: Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
#3 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.