We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Gloucester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Gloucester to your Saves list
Premier Inn Gloucester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £52
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great price, great location, friendly staff, excellent room, most excellent bed

For Gloucester, the Cathedral is one of the most important in Europe, the Cotswolds is one of the most beautiful regions of England. Regency Cheltenham is nearby too.
THE HOTEL
The hotel is divided into the bedroom building and the Wheatstone Inn, where you can have breakfast, dinner and has a full traditional bar. The distance between the buldings is about 30 steps!
HOTEL ACCESS
The hotel is just off the A40, coming from Cheltenham, Stroud directions its just on the left, from the left turn on the roundabout. As its a dual carriageway you will need to carry on westbound to the next roundabout and come back down the other side.
SURROUNDINGS
Don't expect great views, it looks over the Walls Ice Cream factory, however, there is a lovely path leading townwards, follow this and in about 10 minutes you will come across a lovely arboretum. Perfect for a stroll on a warm sunny evening, it has giant Red Woods and an Indian Bean Tree, amongst many trees and meadow flowers.
You can walk all the way into the city centre from this path too. It also serves a cycle track.

That's about it!

Room Tip: book on line for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Jane Gilbert
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    104
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
90
103
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We frequently stay at Premier Inns and love them, however this was left us disappointed. The staff were lovely and the location good however, bizarrely, the room was like a sauna. I know it was August but outside the temperature was only 17degrees. Why then, in our room was it 26.2 degrees all the time? We stayed for two nights but had very little sleep. Although fans were provided they were noisy and inadequate. We slept with the window open, trying to let some cool air in but as our room was above reception (201) the noise of people/ taxis/cars coming and going all night disturbed us. I am aware of the good night guarantee promise but quite frankly thought that it would seem ridiculous to complain about the heat. Premier inn can you tell me why that room is like a sauna? Is it over a laundry room or something?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. We are currently in the process of updating many of our Premier Inn hotels with air conditioning, and this hotel will soon be upgraded.

Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This premier inn is in a convenient location for a stopover when travelling along the M5, and has good sized rooms and comfortable beds. It is also clean and the staff are helpful and friendly.

BUT unfortunately we had a terrible nights sleep because of the outrageous heat. The fan was on all night and the windows were open to try and cool the room down, but that created a good deal of noise from traffic and the fan. I had to try and cool the room down though because my 9 year old son was tossing and turning, sweating and crying all night because of the heat. The room thermometer never got below 27.5 degrees Celsius, far too hot for a comfortable nights sleep.

We went to the adjacent pub for dinner. It was mad busy and way overpriced for standard pub food. At £10.49 for a chicken salad and £4.99 for dessert our family meal for 5 with drinks ended up costing £80 which cancels out the benefit of booking a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Premier Inn is in effect a budget chain. However, I think it is at the top of that particular league. It was clean with modern facilities. Bedroom and bathroom were spotless.

All of the staff were helpful and keen to provide a hospitable and efficient stay. Premier may become my regular overnight stopping place.

There was little noise overnight, even in a busy central area. Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

J Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here on the way down to Devon recently.Quiet hotel to say it was fairly full.Didn't have breakfast at the pub next door,went to the local Sainsburys and got two breakfasts for about the same price as one here.All in all a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

J Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Premier Inn near Barnwood Business Park in Gloucester. I had asked to be booked into the Holiday Inn but apparently that was full. Cant say there was much wrong with the hotel but it was just a standard low cost Premier Inn and there was no frills or anything fancy about it. Reception staff were fine at both check and checkout. Plenty parking available. Hotel was clean but basic. No restaurant or bar in the hotel but you can use the pub that it is annexed to. They were having a bit a Fawlty Towers evening when I was there - they didn't seem to know which tables were which number and people were being served the wrong food. I think this was just an unfortunate night for them as the staff, food and service were all fine - don't let my experience put you off - try it yourself. Breakfast is also served in the pub - I ordered some poached eggs which were cooked but the waitress forgot to serve them until I reminded her that I hadn't had them yet. They don't have tv's in the pub and I had to walk a short distance to a ten pin bowling centre to watch the Euro football. Nice enough place but noisy as you would expect. Had a couple of pints of Carlsberg which were an astonishingly cheap £1.87 each. You would pay double that in Scotland where I live. No other pubs etc within walking distance of the hotel so choice is very limited. I decided to walk to the Barnwood business park next day as I had time on my hands - thought I could get along by the main road - do not do this - there are no pavements, I ended up dragging my case through long thick grass and weeds - you can't walk on the roads as they are too busy and dangerous. There is some other way to walk there but I don't know what it is. Would I stay at the Premier Inn again - not unless I have to - much prefer the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel as a stop off during a long journey. Our check-in experience was superb. To be met by such a friendly face after 6 hours of sailing & driving is lovely, as all we wanted at that stage was to get to our room and have a quick sleep before dinner. We were checked-in within 5 minutes & received a lovely clean room. Although our room was on the side of the hotel nearest the motorway, there were no issues with noise or traffic as the windows had been properly sound-proofed. Car Parking in the hotel was plentiful & the 30mins free wi-fi was really handy. We ate dinner & breakfast in the pub attached to the hotel and were happy with what we received for both. The staff in the pub were very nice and helpful. They were run off their feet as the restaurant was very busy due to the Jubilee Celebrations. If I am back in Gloucester, I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlosBarn, Manager at Premier Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
21 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

J Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Gloucester

Address: Barnwood, Gloucester GL4 3HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gloucester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Premier Inn Barnwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.