We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhhh keep this restaurant a secret otherwise everyone will want to go!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Indian Restaurant

Aroma Indian Restaurant
69, Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 1TX, England
+44 1452 413108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 241 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $15 - $53
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: MONDAY CLOSED
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shhhhh keep this restaurant a secret otherwise everyone will want to go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Best Indian food I have had. Poppadum s came with 2dips the mango one was amazing. I had a starter of chicken in a light chilli batter which was hot and tasty. Main course of lamb curry from the chefs selection. Naan and rice were cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend this restaurant. In my opinion the best gloucester has, and the best I have visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    57
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food, reasonably priced, friendly and helpful staff...... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We wanted to try a restaurant we had not tried before. So looked on this website for ideas! We are so glad we did! Aroma is just what we needed. Lovely atmostphere. Very welcoming helpful staff. Eagar to help assist menu choices or advise re content of dishes. We both had mixed poppadoms to start. Lovely homemade dips to accompany them. My partner had a chicken jalfrezi and pilau rice. Presentation was lovely. Taste was amazing. Price good too. I had chicken Rogan Josh. Very tasty indeed. Lots of chicken. I also a peshwari nan. Soft, sweet and scrumptious, easily the best nan I have ever tasted! mmmm! Loved it so much, my partner tried it and ordered one too! :) we were too full for pudding, but had a nice selection. Both ate above with a drink for £27. Result :) we will DEFINATLEY BE returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

2nd visit here, another excellent meal, what more can I say. Will be back in July when we visit Gloucester again

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've never eaten better Indian food than today at the Aroma, not in Manchester, Birmingham, London, Leicester or even Bradford. This is not 'the usual' place with the all too familiar menu; it stands head and shoulders clear on menu content and sheer quality of the food delivered, not to overlook the wonderful flavours, too. Fantastic!

If all you want is chili and burning tongue, eat somewhere else. But if you want a truly outstanding experience, served well and by pleasant and courteous people - and not feel fleeced in the pocket - go to the Aroma. Our 16 year old daughter enjoyed it every bit as much as we.

It's on our 'must go back to' list of places we eat (not a very long list in Gloucester!). Truly outstanding and worth every one of the 5* I've given it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely,lovely,lovely !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here for the first time last week, and will definately return.Staff friendly and helpful with the menu if needed ! The chef made me a vegetable korma which wasn't on the menu.
You can reserve on line and even gave tips on nearby parking which we took up as new to the area, very helpful.
The food was lovely ,hot and very tasty, we would recommend this restaurant to all :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Indian Restaurant also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Aroma Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.