We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe

Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe
Near Kingham, Gloucester GL56 0YG, England
01608 731 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 255 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In the middle of nowhere, this place is an oasis. Wonderful selection of shops, definitely on the pricey side but really pleasant to look around. The restaurant offers wonderful lunches (haven't been for dinner) at reasonable (upmarket) prices and the food is delicious! Really nice place to meet friends and spend a couple of hours. The spa offers a great deal on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, £65 for one hour massage and entree lunch or afternoon tea. Have been several times, a regular venue for girlfriends birthdays, and always look forward to it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    26
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“MADE AN IMPACT IMMEDIATELY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have been to Daylesford once before but it was prior to doing TripAdvisor reviews. We were travelling back home from a short break and it was a relatively convenient lunch stop. The friend I was with had never been before and I had warned her it was not the cheapest place around but she was bowled over from the outset. The car park was so pretty as the apple blossom was in full flower and the vegetable plants outside the shop were very tempting. Once inside, it is rather like being a small child in a sweet shop - which way to turn next! The meats are exquisite, the cheeses make a wonderful display and the breads very tempting - I could go on and on. The staff are all very pleasant and knowledgeable. As it was such a beautiful day, we opted to eat outside and had pizza cooked al fresco in the pizza oven. It was a popular choice too amongst fellow diners. We had a further look round the farm shop after our food, as well as a quick look in the garden shop (very expensive indeed). It may not be a place where I could afford to do all my weekly shopping, but for a treat (I live at least 150 miles away), it was a very pleasant way of spending Sunday lunchtime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing farm & lifestyle shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really nice to walk into a farm shop and be treated to a visual delight! The car park was well organised, the grounds were well maintained, the staff were lovely, the loos were clean, the pricing was clear, the layout was neat. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Middle England at its best?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had been recommended to this Farm Shop , Spa and Cafe by a friend who drives from Manchester for the day!We were staying with friends in Leamington Spa and decided to visit. We had the advantage of the best day's weather this year.and as it was a Bnk Holiday Saturday there were lots of people there but it wasnt overcrowded. We sat outside for lunch which is always an added bonus and enjoyed our food but felt the prices were a little high . We very much enjoyed the Farm Shop but again spent rather more than intended ( suspect most ppeople do.) However when we returned home after a busy day in the Cotswolds we had a delicious meal from the ingredients bought at the shop. The chicken , suasages and pork were all lovely as were the vegetables, salads and sauces. We also bought strawberries and cream and lemon cake and can recommend them all. This time we paid less than we would have done in a pizza restaurant so didnt feel it was too much!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Game changer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Daylesford has had an enormous impact on its surrounding area. Not only is its restaurant really good but the farmshop has top quality - if somewhat expensive - food. People drive to Daylesford from miles away, a testament to how popular it has become. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful throughout. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe also viewed

Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.