We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for food shopping and staying for lunch....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe

Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe
Near Kingham, Gloucester GL56 0YG, England
01608 731 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 255 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Uk
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great for food shopping and staying for lunch....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been to Daylesford numerous times for food shopping and always seem to end up eating lunch there. (I think my husband times it so that he can) Firstly the burgers are fabulous, and the crab starter is what I make a beeline for. There are a lot of dishes of the day and the menu is good. Not necessarily cheap but the staff are friendly, the service is fine and I think the food is very good. Some of the wines are lovely. The food shop is great. The restaurant and food store is always improving. There is a cookery school there as well. If you are passing, need a loaf of fabulous bread, buy it and stay for a snacky lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    26
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
on this computer
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Deli Heaven.... Fact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I live hundreds of miles from this deli, but have visited twice this year, the deli offerings are so nom nom nom. The meats, eggs, milk, cheeses, breads, raspberry tarts, sauces, dressings, and crackers we bought were ALL delicious and no scraps were left.

Beware this place is gorgeous and very aspirational so you go home and feel like redecorating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed at coffee time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Daylesford is special. It sells exquisite expensive gifts and the organic food shop is wonderful. However our experience at coffee time was less than average. My companion and I each ordered a latte and a raisin Danish. Both lattes came in a smallish cup. The froth took up about a third of mine and I took it back to the counter to have it topped up with coffee. We have eaten fresher, and nicer Danish pastries in many other places. The prices are at the top of the only just acceptable range and they add a service charge. Why? Sorry, could do better Daylesford.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Greatly improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Constant innovation appears to be the message here. I have been going to Daylesford for a number of years but never really stayed to eat, simply buy and head home. This trip I stayed and enjoyed a tremendous meal with an excellent bottle. Surprisingly good value for money. The slow roast shoulder of lamb was of imagination as well perfectly cooked.
Loved it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswold
1 review
“Steak sandwich £13 but it is organic!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Visited Daylesford as my birthday treat. The restaurant was very busy and as I was slightly early I asked if they would kindly reserve a table for me while I waited for my friend to arrive. On time we were ushered to a dirty table and ordered our food. Two steak sandwiches turned up at £13 each (for a sandwich I may add) we were expecting something very tasty of course for that price! It was disgusting - mouth fulls of grisly, tough steak which tasted like cardboard. Very disappointing. Our waiter was very courteous but was clearly too busy to care about whether we were happy with our food as he didn't come near us after delivering it. We ordered coffee thinking we could swill the gristle down, eventually that turned up cold! I hate complaining to staff, it wasn't the waiter's fault the food was horrible or that he was too busy to clean the tables, do table checks or provide hot coffee - was it?

I emailed Daylesford to voice my complaint and didn't get a reply! Customer service seriously lacking hence my rant on trip advisor so if you fancy an overpriced cardboard sandwich on a dirty table with cold coffee don't forget to visit Daylesford.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe also viewed

Chipping Norton, Cotswolds
Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daylesford Farmshop & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.