We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve bells beefeater and premier inn

Twelve bells beefeater and premier inn
Little witcombe, Gloucester Gl3 4ss, England
01452 862521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 241 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: All welcome
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed one night at this Premier Inn whilst travelling north from Cornwall. The lodge reception staff were very good, but we did find that the walls between bedrooms appeared to be extremely thin, with noises from bathroom extractor fans, running water etc being very noticeable. We dined in the Twelve Bells Beefeater in the evening - we did notice that the tables in the bar area were swimming in beer etc, and had difficulty in finding a clean table fit to sit at. Also, one of the glasses provided by the bar staff was filthy and had to be returned. We were told that there was a problem with the glass-washing machine and the debris in the glass was just a water stain. That is the first time I've found a "water stain" that can be scraped off the inside of a glass. However, the food in the restaurant was OK, and the waitress service was excellent. Similarly, the breakfast was good - we chose the Continental option which included hot porridge if desired as well as a good selection of fruit and pastries, croissants, toast and crumpets.
All in all, the stay was OK with just a few minor problems that have just been described - if the bar had been cleaner and the bar staff a little more sensible I would have considered staying there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    19
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is more for the hotel rather than the restaurant even though breakfast and service good at the Beefeater. Pre booked a number of rooms for family to attend a wedding not too far away and the logistics of getting everyone there on time and ready to leave for the wedding service before noon was a feat in itself, without the outstanding service from the hotel reception and housekeeping it could have been a disaster, so a tremendous thank you for services over and above what anyone could expect from a chain hotel. The rooms were clean to the enth degree and a advertised by a well known comedian, a perfect nights sleep to.
Thanks again to those welcoming staff that made our stay so pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Dropped into the restaurant for an evening meal. Service was OK, the food was basic, nothing special - they were very reluctant to amend any meal, everything is "pre-packed". Not the standard I was expecting as I have had much better from other beefeater steakhouses.

We are unlikely to go back - there are better restaurants around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“How could she not see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went here Friday 26th about 7.15, took a while before we were seated and it wasn't that busy. My wife ordered gammon and egg, when it was served the egg was green. 1. How could the chef even cook this and 2. How did the waitress not see it. We got the waitress to take it back and she changed it. We were going to have dessert but as everything was taking so longer we decided not to. We will definitely wont be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matson, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal in their garden. The refillable drinks were great on a hot day. The daytime menu is affordable, although not much to choose from under £8. The Reward Club card is a great way of collecting points and having money off future meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twelve bells beefeater and premier inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Brockworth, Gloucestershire
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to Twelve bells beefeater and premier inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve bells beefeater and premier inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.