We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the wait!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C & W's African Experience

C & W's African Experience
8-10 St. Catherine Street, Gloucester GL1 2 BX, England
+44 7442 501786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 256 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“well worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

you need to book.....food, service and price excellent...we had banquet for two ....and we ate it all....which is not for whipms!!! recommended *****

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a fabulous little restaurant which is hard to get into! But they pulled out the stops to fit 8 of us in on a Saturday night at only 2 weeks notice. We all had the Banquet which was amazing - great food, more than we could eat and fantastic value. Wonderful welcome by Charlie and Wanja. We will definitely be going there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service was very friendly and the food was excellent. We would definitely go back.
It was nice try different food from the norm.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked a table for a party of 4 as a send-off for my brother who was going travelling. 2 of us had the banquets and 2 of us had the curries , although we had a taste card (not including specials or banquets) the bill was that cheap we left a £7 tip!!

We received a warm welcome from the moment we stepped in and no matter what you order off the menu its sure to be divine. The banquets are good for sharing, and a good way to try all the interesting foods on the menu. The meat, we had goat, lamb, beef and chicken, was so succulent it slid right off the bone, absolutely cooked to perfection.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, in fact I will tell anyone I can about it! You have to go here!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“from disaster to triumph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

myself and my partner booked in for 8pm on Saturday 22nd Sept - on arrival , it was clear our booking had not been arranged as we where placed in the "overflow" area of the already small establishment and our menu choices where not available - from the moment the owner Charles new he made an error , he pulled out all the stops to make our evening as pleasant as possible , going as far to share his own birthday meal with us ! the service , quality of food , hospitality are second to none and what started as a disaster soon turned into a triumph - Charles and his wife Wanje are exceptional people with a bright , bubbly and positive attitude to life and how to run a business - top marks awarded for a very very pleasant evening

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & W's African Experience also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to C & W's African Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C & W's African Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.