We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL WEDDING VENUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Hotel Gloucester to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL WEDDING VENUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our daughter has just had her wedding reception at this hotel and it was excellent. We booked it as a Wedding in a Box Package and they were so helpful and everything we asked for was done. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting either the whole wedding or the reception there and would like to thank Charlotte and Corrinne for their very hard work in making it such a memorable day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this great review, we appreciated the opportunity to look after your special day and sincerely hope you will continue to return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    187
    157
    69
    38
See reviews for
96
256
6
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Brilliant night at the country club, lots of old faces we met. The drink prices were very reasonable and the price of the tickets were as well. Really hope they do it next year and hope it was a success.

Room Tip: we did not stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
It was a great success and very much enjoyed! Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, we hope to see you back with us regularly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently for a bit of a wind down and relaxation after Christmas. Staying on a room only rate and booking through their website proved to be excellent value for money. The website showed great spa facilities and a little bit of luxury. We arrived at the hotel only to be told we could not check in until after 2pm, which I know states this on their booking forms, but many a time I have arrived early at a hotel and at least one room would be ready.
Our room, when we did check in, was a good size, clean and looked to be recently and tastefully decorated. Putting the ironing board in the wardrobe gave us no room for our clothes so we had to take it out. Oh and the hairdryer is in the wardrobe on the top shelf, odd! Just one thing to say about the room, that there is not enough information regarding the spa, putting a leaflet in a drawer (which I found in the morning whilst looking for the hairdryer!) is not, in my opinion, a good way to advertise it. Advising guests that they need a £1.00 for the locker and £5.00 for the hire of robes and towels would also help, 'cos I didn't have either! The pool area is lovely to swim in and the hot tub was great, but I felt there were not enough loungers. I had a massage the next morning which was very relaxing, so credit to the therapist. The spa and beauty area seemed to have a damp smell which was a little off putting and I could see towels being used to mop up a damp area at a door (emergency exit??).
One last thing just watch out for the trip hazards whilst getting to and from your room. Housekeeping trolley left unattended blocking a fire exit, towels left on the floor and plastic bags left on the floor. Overall a fairly good hotel for the money we paid.

Room Tip: We were allocated 132, big spacious and comfortable, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your helpful feedback, we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your detailed and constructive review. Apologies for where e have erred we hope you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here several times and have to admit that it is very good value for money. The atmosphere is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful, but a couple of things have made our stay a bit disappointing. Firstly, the facilities are very good, pool, sauna, steam room, lovely big hot tub. But on our visit, the hot tub was once again lukewarm, and therefore not so enjoyable. Secondly, we like to eat here for the convenience, but the vegetarian options in the restaurant were poor. Please note that vegetarians do not want to eat pasta or noodles all the time! A nice dish that we can eat with potatoes, veggies or with chips would be lovely. I thought I would try the veggie stir fry this time, but it was tasteless and very disappointing. A shame as the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and the other dishes ordered were fine. Please try and improve the veggie dishes and warm up that hot tub!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Sorry you did no enjoy your visit to your usual level. We of course cannot guarantee that maintenance issues will not occur,however we try our best to get problems addressed urgently. Sorry you did not enjoy your food, we will consider your comments when designing our new years menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in the hotel over Christmas, it was thoroughly enjoyable experience because of the excellent staff .
Although some facilities do need updating I was assured that this is a work in progress.
Both food and drinks were a very high standard from the generous breakfast to the beautiful bar food .
Well worth a visit !!! F

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review. It is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to see us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived for a long weekend with no real purpose for our trip. We were attracted by the on site spa facilities, which my girlfriend used for a massage which she said was very good. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are absolutely fantastic. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. My only qualm would be the location- as we arrived via public transport, it is a little out of the way- the cost of taxis for the weekend from the city centre totalled at £50. However, if you driving to the hotel this is fantastic value for money and is really good quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the constructive and positive review, we do hope that you will be back to see us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night here on business last week and really impressed. Wasn't sure what to expect from the reviews but wasn't disappointed. Warm welcome at reception. Clean, modern room and the food was great!

A couple of little touches I think are worth pointing out as I found them valuable! Being a regular business traveller I often have to use the hairdryer supplied in the hotel, due to luggage constraints, the room didn't have one of those useless hotel hairdryers I see so often but a real, quality hairdryer! Another thing that annoys me so much in the hotel is not being able to tell what's on TV, either no guide available or it doesn't actually work, the guide worked perfectly here, made the difference when spending a night in my room!

Had dinner in the restaurant, there seemed to be a seasonal menu in place and I had the Christmas turkey dinner, which was delicious! Service was fast and staff were very polite and attentive. Really enjoyed it.

Had a great night in this hotel and will definitely be back next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Its good to read that you enjoyed your visit, thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback. We hope you will return to us again throughout 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.