We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints, but not memorable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Hotel Gloucester to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No Complaints, but not memorable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was a business trip and the first time I have stayed in a Hallmark hotel. the first thing that struck me was it was in a very strange location, it seemed to be in the middle of a housing estate, I'm not sure who was there first, but it is definitely an odd place to put a hotel. To be fair I did arrive and leave the same way so don't know what is on the other side. The hotel is a bit different to most hotels chains and has a contemporary style in decoration, although the striped carpet may not be to everybody's taste, luckily its only in the corridors not in the rooms. Check in was fine and the staff efficient. The room was very clean and tidy, and the bed was quite comfy. Room service, although good ,was fairly expensive , especially the drinks , and this was not helped with a hefty tray charge. The room was unfortunately to warm for me through the night and the thermostat seemed to do little to remedy the situation. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and you could have as much as you wanted. The staff were all very helpful. It was certainly good for one night and I would probably stay there again, that said there was little that made it stand out from the rest, but to be fair, they also did not do anything wrong. I have certainly stayed in much worse places.

Room Tip: If you like a cool room at night, check with reception before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    191
    158
    69
    38
See reviews for
98
259
7
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in mid 2011 during the refurb and our stay was awful. BUT we were asked back by a previous manager to come for a complimentary night, dinner bed breakfast and a free bottle of wine. So after a hectic year and forgetting about this offer, a few weeks ago I remembered and i asked the hotel if they would still honour it, and they did which was great of them.

Since the maintenance the hotel is a different place, the refurb has made the hotel an attractive modern place to stay for either business or pleasure. The receptionist called Holly was amazing and made our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for her, so thank you.

2 bad points which we find hard to moan about but wouldn't be fair if we didnt mention.

We had the beef and the turkey for dinner. If we were paying for it we wouldn't of. It was the cheapest thinnest rubber meat possible. The chefs can definitely cook as the starters were amazing, but definitely need more free reign of their main course budgets as £16 is a lot for a main course. As I said though starters and breads were amazing.
Lastly in the morning, sat next to us at breakfast was a big sweaty guy with shorts and vest on with no shoes on at all! He had come straight out of the spa and wasn't very pleasant to have to eat next too! Maybe a policy for shoes at least maybe a good idea.

I feel like a hotel critic after this! But overall it's a great place to sleep and relax. The refurb and your staff make it for the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your constructive feedback. I am pleased that your lasting impression of us is much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my wife between Christmas and the New Year to attend a wedding. Overall the hotel is very good value for money and we had no complaints. The hotel does look a little dated on the outside but inside it's been recently refurbished and is very smart. The bed in our room was large and comfortable, and housekeeping did a good job keeping the room clean and tidy. It's true that there was no A/C but we didn't need it in December and found the heat easy to control on the radiator thermostat. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and friendly throughout the hotel. Buffet breakfast was OK, but we did enjoy the evening meals we had in both the restaurant and bar and found them reasonable value for a hotel. We didn't try the spa so cannot comment on that.

The downside of this hotel is it's location. As others have noted it is on the edge of a large council estate and there aren't any nice pubs/restaurants in walking distance so unless you drive elsewhere you could feel a little isolated if staying for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: We booked a suite for a very modest supplement which turned out to be very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your balanced feedback, it is always fantastic to learn where we have exceeded our guests expectations as well as where we need to improve. I do hope that you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As hotels go this is all one could wish for when overnighting in Gloucester. All in all compared to man hotel chains - this really is good value for money. Good sized room & comfy bed. Extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful staff. Free wi-fi .Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review, I sincerely hope that you will be back to visit us again in the near future, business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip and will not return. Even though it is further out of the way, I'll be staying in Cheltenham next time.

Pros - lovely receptionist, and very friendly breakfast staff.

Cons -
No air con and my room was freezing during the night.
Poor selection of toiletries - no cotton wool or cotton buds.
Threadbare and rough towels.
My bathroom had not been cleaned properly - there were hairs on the shower wall.
Low water pressure in the shower.
No drinking water in the room.
Thin walls - there was a conference group staying and they made a lot of noise. I heard each and every one of them going to their rooms at 2am.
Cold food - for dinner and at breakfast. The food was also very dry and had clearly been stuck in the microwave to heat up. At breakfast, the food had clearly been left sitting for a long time.
Concentrated fruit juice - no fresh juice in sight.
The breakfast menu offered haddock - there was none, apparently due to the suppliers not delivering it yet.
You'll be lucky to find a space in the car park thanks to all the gym members who park there so you have to carry your bags a long way to the entrance.
To get to the gym, you have to walk past the restaurant so gym users pass by your table as you eat your meal.
The bar - 1 member of staff serving and the average waiting time for a drink was 15 minutes.

The final bill was very pricey for a 3 star hotel masquerading as 4 star. No doubt, this is due to the location.

In summary, the Cons heavily outweigh the Pros, so don't go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your detailed review following your recent stay. I do hope that you will contact me directly so that I may be able to improve your lasting impression of the Hallmark Gloucester.
All of our rooms have heating with thermostats, if there was an issue in your room I do hope that we were able to attend to it.
We do not put cotton wool etc in our rooms as standard; however we have them on site if requested.
Our towels are provided by an external laundry, I will ensure they are working to the high standard we expect.
Any cleanliness issues are completely unacceptable; please let me know the room that you stayed in so we can investigate fully.
We are sorry if you were kept awake by any unruly guests, although we cannot predict this behaviour we would certainly address if highlighted.
We do usually receive great feedback for our food offering, I apologise if it was found wanting during your visit.
We have a very large car park with more than enough spaces for the hotel and gym; I do not recall ever running out of spaces.
Delays in service in any of our areas are not acceptable to us and I apologise that this was your experience.
We are rated as a four star following an unannounced overnight audit by the AA, these are the criteria we work to and I believe in many ways exceed, feedback like yours will help us to improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a special offer spa day for two from wowcher at a very reduced price, that included afternoon tea and two treatments each and full use of the spa"facilities" for the day. Someone messed up the booking details, when we went for our treatments the poor girl was mortified that she had been informed two treatments for one person! She said she could book us in for another day! We had a round trip of 110 miles, so not really practical.We agreed on a treatment each and she kindly added a danish pastry to our afternoon tea!
The treatment rooms could do with freshening up and refurbing, a bit dated, door to rooms slams shut and disturbs the peace, and I was aware of someone flushing the loo upstairs, which also disturbed my treatment.Treatment was ok, but there is nowhere really to sit quietly ,relax in your robe and read your book, only the pool area, we were unable to find the "lazy river" which was advertised on the website.Bit of pain to have to get dressed again, every time you want a drink or snack or just to sit, as you have to go upstairs to the bar area. Also, not really suitable for any disabled people or older people with knee problems...no lifts and lots of flights of stairs from main reception to leisure area.
All in all, pretty average, would have been very disappointed if we had paid full price,not really a true spa facility, a leisure area tacked on to the hotel which needs updating and generally sprucing up. Looks like well used by local people, but not worth travelling a distance to especially. However, spa therapist and barlady were very sweet and friendly, did their best to look after us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is well presented and the rooms are lovely comfortable and spacious. Clean and very tidy, however the food was not great. The breakfast buffet should be commended for having toasters but the sausages were bland and the beans congealed. The evening meal was small with only 6 chips being served with chicken and pasta not being drained and being very bland. All in all stay there but find your own food!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment's following your recent visit to the Hallmark Gloucester. I am sorry that you could find issue with the food during your stay as this is an area that we find we usually receive great feedback. I do hope that you will try us again so that we might have a chance to improve your lasting impression of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.