We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, cold, torn sheets and over priced.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Hotel Gloucester to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Bath, Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Avoid, cold, torn sheets and over priced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for my birthday, ordering a bottle of Champagne for the room and it was suggested we have a 'suite' as our 11 year old son was also with us. The area isn't very nice but that isn't the hotels fault.

The hotel has freezing corridors and we had to plug a radiator into our room as it was so cold. The curtain track was plastic and collapsed when we drew the curtains and the sheets of our 2 beds pushed together were ripped in over 6 places. The bed was also itchy.The 'suite' consisted of a normal room with an adjoining large room with hardly any furniture and obviously just a spare room that hadn't been refurbished. My son found it scary.

Dinner was over priced and anything without chips was very small. Breakfast was very nice and the reception staff very good. The pool area needs a good clean.

We did complain and the Manager did adjust the bill but we felt at any price this was too much to pay for a hotel we just couldn't wait to leave. There were so many negatives that it was pointless trying to explain these to the Manager, we just wanted to get home.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you get a very very cheap deal and you literally just need a bed for the night and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Hallmark Gloucester. I did think that we had addressed your concerns, please contact me directly again as we do not like our guests to have a negative lasting impression of us.

I am sorry that you found our corridors cold, it is new feedback for us and we will investigate.

We would have recommended a Suite as these are usually very popular with families, with a separate area for relaxing etc. Obviously we do have alternative rooms available and I do hope that we offered you a choice when you informed us of your disappointment.

Our Suites received a partial refurbishment in 2011, freshly decorated and with new TV, bathroom etc.

Our restaurant is designed to offer great produce and the best value in a very challenging 4 star market, this is a key focus for us at the hotel and we constantly monitor local prices to ensure we are more that competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    231
    178
    78
    42
See reviews for
109
322
11
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a groupon offer of spa access + afternoon tea and had a great time.

Pro's:
- Staff were all lovely and helpful.
- large-ish free form pool with not 1 but 3 jacuzzi's with varying levels of power
- large jacuzzi really powerful and like having a massage
- Steam room and Sauna are fine
- scones were home made and totally delicious
- other sweets included in the afternoon tea which were also scrummy

Cons:
- changing area was basic (plastic chairs / baby change area was just a stained piece of Formica screwed to the wall in a cubicle with no straps to prevent baby from falling off).
- some of the afternoon tea sandwiches were dry and they didnt seem to be freshly made

We had a lovely afternoon. The pool and spa was relatively quiet, and the afternoon tea very welcome. Good price with the offer so overall we were very happy. Many thanks Hallmark Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for the helpful and constructive review. I hope that you will think of us again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We live local and stayed for a function. Our room was nice and clean with a very good bathroom. The view out the window was not great, but who cares? I think the best aspect of this hotel is the staff, they were fantastic and ultra helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
We did not have dinner or use the spa / pool so cannot comment on that.
I did have a snack at lunch time and use the bar. The quality was good and very reasonably priced too. I think this hotel would suit week-enders and business people alike.

Room Tip: away from the function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback. I hope that you will be back to see us at the Hallmark Gloucester again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife booked us an afternoon tea, spa day through Groupon. Finding it was simple and straightforward. The leisure centre reception is in the basement along with the spa facilities. We booked in and were given our courtesy towels and locker keys. Into the pool area through a sliding door and you find a small childrens pool (paddling), main pool with some seating in the water with jets, hot tub/jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and showers. There are some loungers and seats around the outside but these very quickly got nabbed up by people and it felt like we were inundated by a hen night party or two. We arrived around midday and it was fairly quiet to begin with until around 2pm when it started to fill up very quickly. The steam room was lovely, the sauna quite small, the jacuzzi OK, the pool OK.
For the discount we received it was certainly worth the money.

We had afternoon tea and the service was fine and we were pleasantly surprised with the presentation of the sandwiches and cakes. One of the waitresses clearer up with a couple of uneaten cakes without even asking if we'd finished which didn't go down very well.

Back into the spa and we went for our head, neck and back massages that we'd pre-booked. In the beauty centre it was very quiet until the hour struck and everyone exited their treatment rooms and it became a little hectic in a confined space. Very quickly it settled down and my wife and I were taken into our separate rooms (we'd booked one treatment for 5pm and another for 5:30pm) but they offered to do us both at the same time now as they had a slot available for some reason.

As usual, my wife talked all the way through her treatment and thoroughly enjoyed it. I lay there and relaxed into my treatment with a few grunts and moans as I received a welcoming firm massage.

All in all it was a lovely day out (for the Groupon discount cost).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. I do hope that you will consider us for any future visits to Gloucester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice, Once with my cousin and once with my partner and I must say, both times the service, food and hotel were totally up to standard. We paid £100 for an overnight stay with breakfast and dinner. The room was very nice spacious with a big flat screen TV. The crockery for the tea making facility in the room was Villeroy Boch which was most impressive, you would not find many hotels providing V & B china in your room!!!
Dinner was very nice,and so was breakfast. When the rates are such good value, of course you cannot expect perfection. You have sometimes to wait for things to be filled up at breakfast etc, but the waiters work very hard, you will not see anybody slacking. The service at dinner was very good. The hotel is prefectly positioned for the Cotswold and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic feedback. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely hope you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed with our children for a long weekend. We were initially disappointed as the area the hotel is situated is not the most pleasant of places, however check-in was friendly and effecient. To get to the room on the lower ground floor we had to go down 2 flights of stairs as no lift with all of ours bags and a toddler. Not easy! The room was clean and averagely decorated but to call this four star would be pushing it. Although on the surface everything looks ok the beds were completely sat out and sagging. One of the fold out beds for the children was so saggy she nearly sat on the floor when she sat on the bed. They also seem to have cut corners on silly things like really cheap loo roll and a premier inn type shower curtain. These silly little things are only niggles but they don't add up to a four star hotel.
On the plus side every single member of staff was helpful and friendly. The pool facilities were more like a leisure centre than a spa but clean and the children loved it.

In brief if you are going expecting a luxary 4 star hotel you will be disappointed BUT it represented good value for the family and the staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your constructive feedback. We are rated as a four star experience by the AA following a recent unannounced inspection. This process includes the assessment for all areas including bedroom standards. I do wish you had let us know at the time of your disappointment so that we could have improved your lasting impression of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Hallmark is in a strange location in a suburb outside Gloucester. It’s hard to access anything without a car although there is a bus a 15 minute walk away but the stop is not easy to find.

The outside of the building is a depressing 1980s style brick but the inside seems to have undergone a decent renovation with bold colours and decent furnishing.

Sadly the bathroom in my room had a terrible shower. It was on the ground floor so the water pressure was fine and the bathwater ran quickly but there was no pressure to the shower so it was effectively useless.

The pool area is old and does not seem to have been renovated. It feels a long way from being a luxury spa as they try to advertise. Keep your expectations low if you are coming on a spa package as this is the very basic version of a spa.

The alcohol at the bar is expensive. The menu is reasonable and all the food we had was good.
There was some confusion at check out about the bill as the restaurant staff seemed to not understand the package details so it’s worth checking your bill carefully.

Room Tip: Check the quality of the shower before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am sorry that you encountered some maintenance issues at the Hallmark Gloucester, I wish we could have had the opportunity to improve your experience as we do not like any of our guests to leave us less than thrilled. Please contact me directly so that we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Address: Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.