We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming, lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dino's Greek Taverna

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dino's Greek Taverna
1 St. Catherine Street, Gloucester GL1 2BS, England
01452 410055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 256 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Warm & welcoming, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had booked Dino's for a large party of 20, having previously eaten there myself. Dino was most helpful in the organising, and we had a great evening, Dino and Nico the waiter were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. One of our number had special dietary requirements, and Dino was happy to adapt a dish for her. We had given our menu choices in advance and everything ran very smoothly with no long wait. I would recommend Dino's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Memories of Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Anyone who has eaten in traditional Greek tavernas when in Greece will be able to reminisce here. The food was well cooked and very tasty - just as I remember from Greece. The menu selection was familiar too! Presentation is not the best, but then, I don't recall that being a particular notable feature of tavernas in Greece. The only reality check was that the costs were somewhat more than Greece; but we enjoyed the experience so were happy in the end.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Cleeve, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our food was excellent. The rice was really yummy with different spices such as cinnamon in it. I recommend the Village Chicken. Delicious. As an American living near Gloucester, I judged the service to be pretty prompt for a restaurant in the UK. One staff member was quite friendly and the other was friendly but a little reserved. The taverna is small and tucked out of the way, but we did not feel crowded. However, there was a large group of about 20 taking up several tables lined up to the side so it could be that the rest of the space was more open than it usually is. In any case, we had plenty of space in spite of the room's small size. Would definitely recommend it and will probably go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Doesn't do what it says on the can.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If this is authentic Greek then no wonder Greece is in such trouble.It felt like a cafe ....an expensive cafe at that.I think the rice was from a microwave packet ,the tiny salad was extremely limp and everything seemed to be covered in the same weird salad dressing .If the food had cost half the price maybe you could accept it but £60 for our meal was just not worth it and I m not a moaner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic and very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently went for a meal here and had a great time. The food was amazing and we were pleased to see they served Mythos and Ouzo to complete our experience. It's much bigger inside than you'd expect and it was very reassuring to see the greek lady working hard in the kitchen. Some of the older reviews left us wondering what to expect but we experienced first class service, food, drink and atmosphere. Will definitely be returning here and can't stop raving about it to everyone who'll listen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dino's Greek Taverna also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Dino's Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dino's Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.