We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience this time!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
West Sussex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not a good experience this time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having previously stayed at this Hotel we were anticipating another good stay. Unfortunately the management of this Hotel need to review some staffing issues. The Hotel was completely at full occupancy during the weekend due to a wedding party staying. This would appear to have stretched the staff. Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning was a complete farce. The hot food ran out on Saturday morning and again on Sunday morning. The reason given for Saturday was that there were so many guests staying that they ran out of food. I would have thought that if your Hotel is full you must be aware of the likely numbers to arrive at Breakfast. The reason given for Saturday’s lack of hot food was non delivery to the Hotel. The male member of staff was quite rude to guests when he was requested for information on the lack of hot food. The management must have been aware of the situation and I would have thought that the situation could have been resolved by some local procurement! One member of staff was quite abrupt stating that guests should be aware that the Breakfast is not included in the rate but complimentary. I think the Hotel need to decide whether they are going to provide breakfast or not. If you advertise complimentary breakfast it should be there to be had and stock levels maintained for all guests. If stocks are not available for guests you should not say “Well the breakfast is free and not included in the rate” as an explanation! I have never witness a room full of so many disgruntled guests assembled in one room! However, I will praise the young lady member of staff who was most helpful and managed to supply some hot sausages when I asked if there was any possibility of any hot food. On a separate issue we arrived at the bar just after midnight and was told that there was no drink available by the male member of staff but when challenged a female member of staff came out and served us all, this young lady was brilliant. We were very disappointed with our stay at this Hotel and probably would not give it another chance, which is a real shame as it is in close proximity to where need to be when visiting relatives. If the management read this please have a look at this situation, thank you!

Room Tip: Lot of traffic noise on the side of the Hotel which faces the main road. Be aware that at present th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear DaisyGills

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel, It's disappointing to read that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for providing me with your feedback about the breakfast. We offer free breakfast to all of our guests and we must take into account the number of guests in house as all items should be available throughout the service of breakfast and stock levels maintained, so I appreciate the feedback you have given which shall be addressed.
We welcome all the comments we receive as in turn this helps us to improve the service we deliver and the issues that you have mentioned will be looked into.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel and meeting all of your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    149
    63
    22
    11
See reviews for
81
120
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Warm welcome from the duty manager. He was very helpful and friendly.
Stayed 2 nights. Went for a late breakfast, 8.45, on the second morning, very little left, no pastries left and no baked beans. No air-con. Restaurant next door was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear collette5

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the hotel. It's always nice to read great comments about the staff and it's nice to know that you had a warm welcome upon your arrival. Although air conditioning is not available in the bedrooms our great room/breakfast area does have air conditioning.
I'm sorry that you had come down to breakfast and a couple of the items had not been replenished, items should be available at all times throughout breakfast and I have passed you comments onto the relevant departments which in turn helps us to improve.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way home from the Isle of Wight. The reception staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was clean and the windows were open on arrival so the air was fresh. There is an Inn next to the hotel call the Bumble Bee, the food is excellent and fairly priced and the staff very helpful. Breakfast is simple but there is no limit to the amount you eat, the restaurant was kept clean by very attentive staff. Great x

Room Tip: Quiet Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear worzel41

Thank you for writing a lovely guest review of the hotel. It's great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and your expectations were met.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A really clean and fresh Holiday Inn Express. Got a very warm welcome from the man on the evening reception and everything was just fine for us. Liked the design of the bathroom, with its dual purpose door.
Unfortunately we had an unexpected 7am early call with a fire alarm which meant we all had to evacuate. Amazed that so many guests happened to be fully dressed at that hour on a Sunday morning (we weren't) Someone told me it was possibly caused by someone overusing deodorant spray in the bedroom - another good reason to use roll on!
Breakfast was pretty standard fayre - but sadly for me, they don't serve bacon. However it was all good value and this hotel made a perfect stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear todfest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the hotel. It's lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your expectations were met
Thank you for your understanding of the fire alarm early in the morning although it appeared to be a false alarm the guests and staff are our priority,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight and apart from a fire alarm call on the sunday morning all was a brilliant stay. Our room was roomy and very clean with enough coffee and tea for a drink. Bathroom was clean and fresh. Breakfast was busy but no problem Food was normal run of the mill, juice, cereal, yogurt, sausage, eggs, beans, toast or continental but it was very good value for money. the vintage inn next door is good for dinner. Excellent staff, obliging, and food very good. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Joyce D

Thank you for taking the time to write a guest review following your stay. It's always great to read such positive comments about the staff and amenities We pride ourselves in the customer service we offer and it's lovely to read that your expectations were met.

Thank you for your understanding of the fire alarm, although on this occasion it was a false alarm the safety of all our guests and staff is our priority.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good, clean, comfortable Hotel, in fact just like a normal Holiday Inn but cheaper. Handy to have a lovely pub next door, so we did not miss the standard H-I Bar and Restaurant.
Good size rooms, lack air con, but thankfully it was not too hot.
Staff could not do more for us.
Only grumble is the free wifi kept falling over - not that stable, had to keep logging in. But otherwise a great place, will come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Neal-Ball

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel, it's always great to hear positive comments which I have passed onto the team and thank you for giving me your feedback about the Wifi apologies if there was an inconvenience caused.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay and your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What the brand should be! Clean, fresh in good repair with friendly be full staff. Easy to find with a pub restaurant opposite the car park. Decent amount of parking spaces. Disappointed wifi not working but pleaded overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Lady Bernadette

Thank you for writing a lovely review following your recent stay. It's always nice to hear great comments which I have passed onto the team

I'm sorry to hear that the Wifi was not working correctly to which this has now been rectified.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.