We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for large group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Gloucester
Alyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my brass band. The group booking process was easy with excellent customer service from the bookings staff. The manager was very helpful during planning. The hotel was easy to find, plenty room to park bus, decent rooms, good pub next door, and decent breakfast. Staff were helpful and I would recommend this hotel in particular to any bands who have qualified for the finals in cheltenham!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Georgepb1

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again this year for the Brass Band Finals!

Nicola Jones
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    131
    55
    17
    9
See reviews for
73
102
18
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My recent visit was my 11th visit since 2006, which probably speaks for itself. The hotel is not perfect but for the money gives excellent value. The reception staff are always friendly and helpful - if you have an issue with something let the staff know - they will do their best to resolve the problem. The bedrooms are clean and adequate with the exception that the 'energy saving' lighting is abysmal, so bad I have almost given up trying to read in the bedrooms. The room heating can struggle to cope if it is cold weather and the hotel relatively empty, but if this is a real issue mention it to the staff who would provide extra heating. Though if the hotel is 'empty' you do not suffer with guests returning noisily during the night when you are trying to sleep. The cooked element of the breakfast (sausage, beans & scrambled egg) is adequate though obviously not top quality but there are also pears, grapefruit, yoghurts, cereals, toast etc. If the breakfast room is busy staff have a problem coping with demand - patience helps! The self-service toasters seem to take ages; this results in dry brittle toast. Despite these minor niggles if the value for money continues to be so good I will keep going back. The adjacent Bumble Bee Vintage Inn is a bonus and usually excellent for lunch or evening meal. Check the hotel website and book early to benefit from some good discounts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Stephen M

Thank you for your review. Its great to hear that we have met your expectations. With regards to the comments you mentioned, We really value guest feedback in order to maintain our standards and improve on the guest experience, so really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments with us and We hope to continually welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Nicola Jones
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

As with many of the Holiday Inns I stay in throughout the year, whilst you're never entirely sure what its going to be like, you at least know you have the comfort of a minimum service level that the chain never falls below. This hotel features a bar and lounge area which were clean and comfortable. In room comforts include flat panel tv's, tea & coffee etc. I needed an iron and board which was available from reception. The only thing missing from our room was a bath, but with only staying for one night a shower was fine. The car park is big with plenty of spaces, though bear in mind that its shared with the pub next door, so park nearer the hotel if you prefer to park away from higher traffic areas. This hotel takes dogs (with a £10 surcharge) and we had an Afghan puppy with us who made herself quite at home. The hotel is quite bright and airy in the communal areas, though the room lighting was slightly dim. Overall it was a good Holiday Inn and if I was in the area would probably use again. There is also a pub on the site, serving good meals at reasonable prices.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rthom5150

Many thanks for your great all round comments. I am delighted to hear that we met your expectations and I have passed on your feedback regarding the room lighting to our Maintenance Manager and hope to see you back with us soon.

Nicola Jones
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

More hotels should be like this! Basic but clean and perfect as we only needed the room to sleep as we were out during our stay in Gloucester. Friendly staff were a real bonus too. Will definitely visit this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Baxter boys

Its always great positive feedback about both our hotel and staff. Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review!

Nicola Jones
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel is good except that some rooms are noisy from the traffic on the a38. Try and get a room overlooking the bumble bee you will find it is quieter than others. Nice and helpful staff and always very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear cornwall-blue

I would like to thank you on behalf of the team here at Gloucester South for leaving feedback on our tripadvisor page.

It is important to our staff members to ensure your stay always meets your requirements and in doing so if a car park facing room is required, as long as it is asked for prior, our staff will be more than happy to assist.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight stay after a business meeting. The hotel lacks charm and ambiance, but its intended for stop overs not a holiday. Staff were friendly and efficient and thre hotel and room were very clean. Breakfast is limited and mainly continental but plentiful.Only hot items sausages and scarmbled egg. Car parking is large with secuity CCTV and well lit. 1 Monute from motorway. Wifi not free but good value and very easy to set up
Would stay here again as a stop over and nothing unpleasent about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Grantlar

Thank you for choosing to leave feedback with us on tripadvisor.

We are delighted you found our hotel friendly and efficient, being an Holiday Inn Express we are mainly used for stop overs due to our excellent motorway links.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your future trips to Gloucester.

Kind Regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

OK for short social or business visits, some rooms have sky. Breakfast is usual HI Express fare, OK pub next door, handy for motorway access and Gloucester. Avoid rooms in main corridor on ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Taffyboy,

On behalf of the team here at the holiday inn Gloucester South we would like to thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on our trip advisor page.

We are very fortunate to have close motorway links, although some rooms are quieter than others.

When booking we always advise to let us know in advance of any requirements. This then means we can then allocate you into a room that is more suitable.

We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Gloucester.

Kind Regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Express by Holiday Inn Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer High Speed Internet Access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and free continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby.We look forward to welcoming you to the Express by Holiday Inn Gloucester South hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.