We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

OK for short social or business visits, some rooms have sky. Breakfast is usual HI Express fare, OK pub next door, handy for motorway access and Gloucester. Avoid rooms in main corridor on ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Taffyboy,

On behalf of the team here at the holiday inn Gloucester South we would like to thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on our trip advisor page.

We are very fortunate to have close motorway links, although some rooms are quieter than others.

When booking we always advise to let us know in advance of any requirements. This then means we can then allocate you into a room that is more suitable.

We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Gloucester.

Kind Regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    168
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
93
134
22
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the inn recently and often use the local pub which is friendly and the food is good.
One complaint this time in that the bed was very uncomfortable. I would suggest that the mattress needs replacing as you roll together a lot sad to say that premier inn is far more comfortable.
Other than that I can't fault it very clean modern and adequate for a short stay. I particularly like the bathroom layout very clever meaning two can use at the same time but still have privacy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mrspjontour
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback to help maintain a greater communication of guests needs.

I am very delighted to hear you found your stay with us up to standard and that enjoyed the clever design layout in the bathroom.

It is disappointing to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable; we do rotate the mattress’s often to keep them at their best. However this is definitely a point which will be raised with housekeeping and maintenance and resolved.

We hope to see you back again in the near future when visiting Gloucester.

Kind Regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durras, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent customer service where staff are prepared to go further to exceed expectations. Very clean and comfortable room. Good English Breakfast and continental for those not interested in a hot brekkie. Evening nibblies such as tacos and toasties are decently priced. You get what you paid for.

Room Tip: On the road through and easy to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Tanja K
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you for the fantastic feedback from your stay with us here at Gloucester South it is greatly appreciated.

Our colleagues are always happy to go above and beyond catering for all your needs where possible.

We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast and that you took advantage of our brand new snack menu.

We look forward to your return on future trips to Gloucester.

Kind regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Now you know what it’s like you walk into to your hotel room you either get knocked back by the heat as the room stat has been set a warp 9,or you sit in your coat for the first half hour waiting for the frost to clear, whilst warming your hands around the mini room kettle. Well not in this place someone has actually trained the staff in room thermostat setting, and when it is -5 outside to walk into a warm cosy room is a real bonus.
The place was clean well,staffed,well run and within the top 10 of the Holidayinn Expresses I have stayed in if not the top 5.Yes they are in the so called budget bracket but for what you pay and what you get this one was at the top end of that bracket.
Had a meal in the restaurant next door (see review) also a result.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Hobbitsdaddy,



It brings myself and the team here at Gloucester South great pleasure and pride to receive such positive feedback from yourself.

We always try our upmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible, with staff happy and willing to go that extra mile to ensure all needs are catered for.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us and look forward to your many future visits.

Kindest Regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night recently and I left there slightly disappointed.
It wasn't the hotel, it certainly wasn't the staff - both came up to the usual high standards I know from using this chain a lot. It was the room and to be more precise, the proximity of the room to the road and the noise that came from it.
As a seasoned traveller I always carry earplugs and were they ever needed that night. Room 130 is a corner room and without the earplugs I doubt if I would have had much sleep.
Secondary double glazing would have helped and should be invested in.
It's a good job that you don't offer a 'good nights sleep guarantee' or I would have asked for a refund.
PS, I know the previous guest left a day early from paperwork left in the room. However, it was apparent that the room had not been cleaned before I took it as the litter bins were full.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a corner room close to the road/ roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Dorsetboy57,

Thank you for staying with our hotel and enjoying the friendly staff, it’s great to hear we met the usual high standards for your stay.

I want to apologise for the problems with the road noise from your room. For future bookings it would be appreciated if you can mention in notes when booking or give us a ring prior to your visit. You can contact the hotel via the direct telephone number to request a quiet room with our reception staff, who will be more than happy to accommodate you with this.

We have taken your feedback into account regarding the bins still being full from the previous guest, House Keeping will be notified of this situation and it will be resolved with immediate effect.

On behalf of all the team here at Gloucester South I would like to say a big thank you for staying with us and it would be a pleasure in having you stay again on future visits to Gloucester.

Kindest Regards

Bethany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We wanted to visit Gloucester so took advantage of a cheap winter deal for a Saturday night stay. I emailed a couple of days before to ask for a quiet room which was efficiently arranged and confirmed. As it is on a Business Park outside town, and the weather was awful, the hotel was almost empty so there should have been no problem with the room but I regularly ask and the response is usually a good indicator of service to expect when you arrive. The welcome here was excellent.
One disadvantage of a nearly empty hotel was that it was cold. The upstairs corridors were cold and with the power only coming on in the room with the key tag, the room was freezing. We arrived about 1630 and left a key in the slot so that the heater would work. We came back about 1900 and the room was still cold. We decided that if it was still cold after we returned from a meal we would have to ask for another heater. Fortunately by 2300, the room was just about OK. The standard wall heaters are very feeble but fine if the room is well used and the surrounding rooms also in use.
Apart from that, good, clean room albeit in common with other recent stays in HIExpress, the lighting is much dimmer than it was. Quite difficult to read unless you get the spotlight right in the middle of the page.
Breakfast excellent - we only eat continental breakfast so it suits us very well. Plenty of choice and with an empty hotel, no queues. Again staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't like noise as the hotel faces a dual carriageway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear MungoShrewsbury

I would like to say a big thank you on behalf of the team here at Gloucester South for taking advantage of our Winter warmer deal and staying with us.

With all hotels some rooms are more preferable than others to meet guest’s requirements; it is brilliant to read that you had contacted us beforehand so we could acknowledge your request. Our colleagues are always more than happy to accommodate the perfect room for your stay with us. Due to late bookings with our hotel you can never be too sure of the capacity of guests from one night to another and it is always best to contact us prior.

Occasionally due to lower capacity the hotel, corridors can be a little cold and rooms taking a little longer to heat up. In future visits if the room temperature was still not adequate please feel free to ring down to reception where our friendly staff can supply you with an additional fan heater to help warm the room faster.

Our aim is to accommodate all guests with a comfortable, clean and functional room. Due to being an eco-friendly hotel the bulbs we use do take a little time to warm up.

We are delighted you found the breakfast excellent and our staff friendly.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards

Bethany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay - comfortable rooms and decor. Little bit of traffic noise but not to the extent that it would keep you awake. My only negative comment concerns the breakfast - I had the misfortune of trying the virtually inedible scrambled egg - other than that my experience with this hotel was very positive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear cornwall-blue,







Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your stay with us, we are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and décor.



Regarding your concern with breakfast I would like to make you aware, we are trying out new products and new ways in which to produce a complimentary breakfast we can be proud of.



It brings great pleasure to the team knowing your stay with us was very positive.



We look forward to having you stay again with us in future visits to Gloucester.



Kindest Regards



Bethany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.