We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gloucester experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gloucester experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A return visit to this hotel. A basic hotel with completely adequate facilities and the rooms are comfortable for a cut price hotel. Wasn't very impressed with the Hoover left on the landing throughout the night and 2 electric sockets in the room had poor connection - one of which was the kettle!
Breakfast very basic and not kept filled for the time given for breakfast so unless one arrived at the beginning food wasn't available. Vending machine an extortionate cost-a well known chocolate bar containing 2 prices was £1.90!!! One cup of coffee £ 0.90. Wi Fi £7 per 24hrs! most hotels are free in my experience. The electronic key had to be replaced x2 in a 3 day visit! Reception staff were excellent and extremely accommodating. A comfortable, no frills basic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Adrian_LW_12,
Thank you for leaving feedback with us on your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express.

We are delighted you found our facilities adequate and comfortable.

I would like to apologise for the hoover in which was left on the landing throughout the night, this is not common practice and will be dealt with immediately.

With regards to the electrical sockets with poor connection in the rooms this is something that is checked frequently with our on-site maintenance manager, we will get all the rooms double checked for the New Year to make sure these facilities are in the best order.

Breakfast is one of our positive attributes available with every stay, this is maintained regularly throughout the period of the breakfast time given. It is unfortunate there was a timing problem with replenishing the breakfast foods during the time you visited, this will be addressed, and moving on it will be resolved.

Upon closer inspection of the vending machine due to your feedback it has been accounted that the pricing tag for the chocolate bar in question is actually wrongly priced when in fact it is £0.90, The contractor involved with this has been informed and upon replenishing will be changed.

All hot beverages are free and unlimited to guests at breakfast time and 24/7 in the rooms, if you require more sachets for your room our reception staff will be more than happy to accommodate you.

Wifi is another of our facilities we provide through a contractor, this is being looked into, please note however we do provide a free 30mins voucher available at reception for use in the great room.

Due to security reasons for yourself and belongings the electronic version of the key is provided, unfortunately they are easily wiped, this is sometimes down to being close to electrical or magnetic equipment, I would like to apologise that this problem occurred twice in your stay, we hope you found our Staff only too happy to help and right the problem.

All the best for 2013

Kind regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    168
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
93
134
22
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent value for money. Breakfast was included in the price with ample choice of cold food. Hot was limited to sausage, beans and scrambled egg. But for the price we paid excellent value for money. The room was very clean and spactious.There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is one a couple of minutes walk away across the car park. Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear, mae2762,

We are delighted to have such positive feedback from you, knowing you had a great stay with us.
It brings pleasure to the team that you found your stay value for money.

On behalf of the whole team here at Gloucester South we look forward to your return in the New Year.

All the best for 2013

Regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed one night.
Room was good, some thought had gone into the design. Shower OK, bed comfortable.
Staff were helpful and quite efficient.
Buffet style breakfast was OK-ish. Hot food was scrambled eggs (poorly done), sausage and beans. There was the usual variety of cold 'continental breakfast' food.
Location was good, easy to find and with a decent pub/eatery next door.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Brabb,
We are delighted to have received positive feedback from your stay with us.
We are proud to have such dedicated Staff who are more than accommodating with our guests.
We do provide a wide range of a buffet style breakfast catering for all, the eggs which you have noted are being looked into to make them more enjoyable.
We look forward to your future visits.
Kind Regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

In what was a traumatic day of travel and having to move from our original hotel very late at night. We were welcomed by a friendly and courteous Night Manager who calmed our frazzled nerves. We were, after a quiet night's sleep and a breakfast, ready to continue our holiday journey to Derbyshire. Many thanks to the staff for being so welcoming, we will definitely be booking there again. .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Wembury50

We are delighted to have such fantastic positive feedback from you and your stay with us.

Our Night team are a great asset to our team and very accommodating and understanding towards our late check-ins.

It brings our hotel here at Gloucester South great pride and pleasure knowing our efforts in making your stay as comfortable as possible was well recognised.

We hope you had a good holiday after your calmer start with us.

We look forward to your returning visits.

Kindest regards

Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here with my granddaughter. Helpful friendly reception staff. I had asked for a quiet room and was given one overlooking the front car park and opposite the lift. I don't think they had taken any notice of my request but it was quiet enough.
The room was clean and cold but quickly warmed up when we altered the thermostat. The beds were comfortable with a choice of pillows. No hot chocolate in the room which disappointed one young girl.. but tea and coffee. Everything was in good condition.
Breakfast was disappointing. I don't know if it was because it was particularly busy that morning (6.45 a.m.) but only scrambled eggs and sausages on offer as hot food. Only a couple of plain croissants left too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hello Holidaygirl329
I am very pleased to have your feedback from your stay with our hotel at Gloucester South.
It brings me great pleasure to have such a dedicated friendly team that you enjoyed and found helpful. We always try to be as accommodating as possible and providing certain rooms on request, unfortunately we are not able to always for fill this without being informed prior to your visit at busy times.
Thank you for the feedback on the idea of the hot chocolate being provided in the rooms this is an excellent idea and something that can be looked into.
With regards to the breakfast we provide sausages, egg and beans and then croissants and bread rolls and a selection of cold foods. We do only provide a basic breakfast buffet however we do try to create the best selection possible and all thoughts are welcome. This is a key factor and we are continually improving this due to demand.
Kind regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night to visit Christmas markets at Gloucester and Cheltenham.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful, room was adequate if a little dark.
Bed ok but a constant droning noise all night not sure where from but sounded like a generator so didn't sleep too well.
The room was quite cold even with heating on.
The real downer was breakfast...abs dire. Choice of grapefruit or pears, yoghurt, cereal, toast, bread rolls and then hot food which consisted of sausage......beans had run out and were going to be 5 mins (no good when you've already got sausages on plate)...scrambled egg which had also run out...another 5 mins....I ended up with toast.....husband had sausage with the last bit of egg. I decided to make the most of having toast with some jam but guess what, that had run out aswell. Bread was labelled as white or brown and even that was back to front. I spoke with the manager who informed me that he had been on a 36 hour shift and the other manager should have finished at 7am but due to a coach load of people who came to breakfast at the same time and took most of the jams etc breakfast was not as it should be. He also said that the eggs that had been delivered where unsuitable as they were green??!! and so they had to wait for healthy eggs! He pointed out that the breakfast was complimentary!...Whether its complimentary or extra you should be able to have a full breakfast and food should be replenished regularly...when I asked for jam the girl fetched a large box out and only put 3 sachets in the bowl! Would certainly avoid going to Holiday Inn Extra in future

Room Tip: avoid ones on the side overlooking the busy road...our room was 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Jaysu
Thank you for leaving your feedback all feedback is welcome to help us develop our hotel.
I am pleased to hear our Staff were friendly and helpful our aim is all about customer focus making sure you as the guest has the best possible stay.
It brings me disappointment to understand your sleep was interrupted due to a generator, this however could have been resolved we have staff available 24/7 and all you would need to do is dial ‘0’ on your hand set and our team would be more than happy to find a more suitable room for you. We also have extra fan heaters available which can be delivered to your room if you so wish.
I would like to apologise for the breakfast in which you had with us, although it is complimentary it is still extremely important to us to deliver the best service and selection for our guests. At current we are in the process of improving this service for all guests and your feedback is extremely important to us and will be very much taken into account.
We would love to have you stay with us again and recognise our vast improvements.
Kindest Regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome following a 270 mile drive. Very impressed with the entire hotel and the very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and a well organised place to stay. Excellent value for money with no negative comments to raise. Would highly recommend to all

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear, AEFRigger

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our warm welcome after such a long journey.
We are very proud of our friendly focused team we work hard to deliver the best guest experience.
All feedback is very much welcome, we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Please note if there is ever anything you feel we can do better, do not hesitate to ask our staff every request is important to us to maintain a happy hotel.
Kindest regards
Bethany Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.