We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HI Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
northampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Typical HI Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms OK, fine for a night or two. Bathroom clean.

Check in and out was very slow, always only one person working on front desk even when busy and other staff seemed to be in the office, but Im sure this is not always typical.

Offered some small snacks and the usual take away menus available or there was a pub next door.

Otherwise not a lot in the immediate area.

Breakfast was fine, usual HIE selection of cereal, toast, croissants and pain aux chocolate, cheeses etc and the hot selection of eggs and sausages.

Tea, chocolate and coffee from the machine, which is fine. The only thing with the HIE breakfast which could be improved (and this related to all sits) is the juice out the the machine. It is, without doubt, the vilest tasting orange and apple juice you could imagine. I guess its made from a powdered ingredient. Please all HIE's, charge a pound more and give customers decent fresh juice in the morning.

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Animalthatswims

Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. Your comment regarding Reception has been shared with the team and I have also referred the quality of the juice to our suppliers. Our snack selection is relatively new and we welcome any comments in order to further improve the overall food and beverage experience for our guests. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again if you are in the area.

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    168
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
93
134
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed overnight here to break up a trip from Scotland to Cornwall. It's located just off the motorway. Myself, husband and 2 young children shared a room. It was perfectly adequate, clean and suited our requirements. The complimentary breakfast filled a hole, not the best in the world, but what do you expect for £50 for an overnight stay. I would use the hotel again. Staff we friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible to get the best rate. We were on the first floor and the rooms were nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear LG77

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us to break up your long journey. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having stayed in Holiday Inn Express hotels abroad were not disappointed for a one night stopover here either.Comfortable room more than adequate amenities.
The breakfast was fine too. Staff were courteous and efficient.

All in all excellent value for money.Better than a Travel Lodge.

We were not aware of the dining facilities at the well patronised pub and restaurant next door otherwise we would have eaten there upon arrival.

Good motorway connection close by but not bothered by traffic noise.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear dab3310

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We are pleased to hear that our hotel facilities have met your needs and that our hotel location was convenient to your requirement.

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel as it was convenient for a family get together nearby. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality for this not so expensive Hotel. Ok the location is similar to many Holiday Inn Express and Travel Lodge establishments ensconced in an industrial estate. However, there is a very nice pub next door [The Bumblebee] which is part of the Vintage Inn chain and serves very nice food and good local ales. We arrived to be met by a very charming man behind reception [Sean] who could not have been more helpful. I had booked two rooms, one of which had been made up with the sofa bed being made up, as there were only two of us occupying the room this was not necessary. I spoke to Sean who remedied the situation within minutes. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. We returned just after midnight from our family party to find that the bar was still open and offering tea, coffee or orders from the bar were still available. We enjoyed a night cap before retiring to a nice quiet room. The next morning breakfast was of a good standard and extended to a selection of hot food as well as the usual continental selections with pastries still being warm and delicious! I would say that this is one of the nicest at the lower end of the Hotel structures that we have stayed in! If you need to be in this area then you will have difficulty in beating this Hotel for value!

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor overlooking the car park, which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGloucester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DaisyGills

We are delighted to hear that our hotel and the surrounding facilities have met your requirements. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. The young man mentioned (Sean) is one of our shining stars and rest assured that I will be only too pleased to pass your feedback onto him. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on the way back from Cornwall. It was a clean and adequate hotel.
The 'complimentary' breakfast was poor; coffee horrid, croisants cardboard. There was some machinery noise in our second floor room. Nevertheless we had a good nights sleep, in relative comfort. It was convenient.

Room Tip: Try for a ground or second floor room , not at the ends of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here on waqy to Cornwall, convenient location, with a good pub the Bumble Bee next door for the evening meals.
We where a party of four and had two rooms on the ground floor, which where normal Holiday Inn rooms with all the requirements.
The breakfast was a bit hectic with the number of people staying in but for the price good value.

Would use again when passing the area.

Room Tip: ground floor easiest to get too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed there on trip to cornwall to break the journey, and we were going to do the same coming back. We found the bed to be quite uncomfortable and the room was far too hot. We were on the ground floor so did not feel safe leaving a window open. Room was clean, shower was a bit grubby in places. Breakfast was ok. We cancelled the return visit and drove home in one go.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Nektaruk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience may have caused you. We strive to provide the best possible accommodations and experiences and it’s always great to hear from our guest on how we’re doing. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.