We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan at Coombe Hill

The Swan at Coombe Hill
Tewkesbury Road | Coombe Hill, Gloucester GL19 4BA , England
0044/1242680227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 260 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've eaten here a few times over the years, although always at somebody else's suggestion. It really isn't bad at all. It'd be easy to dismiss the Swan as just a road-house and although it is a road-house, the food is pretty good and the ales local and well kept.

I had belly pork, which was very, very well flavoured and the veg was cooked perfectly. The gravy had a taste and consistency of packet gravy. My wife had a steak and was very pleased with it too. If the chips were home-made, it may have been close to perfect. Most of the waiting staff were excellent, one was so abrupt, it was funny.

With the old canal nature reserve just off the hill, this place would make a good spot for a lunch and a stroll.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    55
    23
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good but let down by poor quality chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ate here the Thursday lunchtime before Good Friday. Very efficient and helpful waitress, good choice of wines although I did think the lunchtime food was a little on the expensive side e.g, £10.95 for bangers and mash. We were waiting for our car to be valeted at the car cleaners over the road and only wanted a snack. I opted for Omelette and chips with salad. My wife had duck wrap with chips and commented that the chips were better in Wetherspoons when she had been for a lunch there with her work. There was nothing wrong with the cooking, but the chips were frozen ones and tasted poor quality despite being well cooked. At the price charged I would have expected better. Having said that it was very pleasant and I seem to be in the minority with other than an excellent review. Have any other diners felt let down as I was? Perhaps I should go back for an evening meal, but avoid the chips?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
“Very relaxed meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After rewarding the recent reviews we decided to return to this venue. There was a mix up with bookings on arrival, but has they had a record of my booking and we were early, we were allowed to sit at a table. The food was top draw and the service was adequate which enabled us to have a very enjoyable relaxed evening. The restaurant would have had 5 stars if not for the earlier mix up. We will definitely be revisiting. Thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pub, great good and service. Been here quite a few times and have never been let down. Usually treat ourselves to three courses because the food is great! Not cheap but then again, not expensive. I would recommend a visit!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I went in a group of 12 for a leaving party a few months ago. Great ambience, really lovely feel inside. The food and service was fantastic and they also have a lovely collection of local ales.
Well worth a visit if your in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Coombe Hill also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Norton, Gloucester
 

Been to The Swan at Coombe Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan at Coombe Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.