We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloucester Quays Travelodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Gloucester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Gloucester to your Saves list
Travelodge Gloucester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gloucester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gloucester Quays Travelodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Travelodge for the 2nd time this year. It is close to the town centre and also to our friends in Stroud. The car parking is good value if you change your ticket in reception at £6.00, we came in after midnight on our 2nd night and wee advised by reception to pay the normal charge as it would only be £4.00. Excellent value and no doubt we will be back before this year is over. One little niggle is that the shower/bathrooms vary in size and the ones on the back side of the building seem to be the smaller ones,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    47
    14
    13
See reviews for
45
87
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very close to quay, 10 mins walk to town centre. Very enjoyable stay. Travelodge had recently been refurbished. Nice bar, quiet comfortable to sit and have drink, prompt service. Breakfast buffet style - ideal



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed one midweek night in August and found this to be a straightforward and pleasant stay.

The hotel is on St Ann's Gate - for parking we used the Gloucester Quays Outlet car-park - park by stairwell A. Go down the stairs, through the automatic doors and walk 20m along the path to the Travelodge. I suppose this might be a consideration for those that have a lot of luggage but it was straightforward for us.
24 hours parking is £6 if you get your ticket validated at the Travelodge reception. If you arrive after 6pm and leave by 9am the next day it is just £2. There is a retail park opposition the Travelodge and a lot of cars did seem to be in there overnight - I suppose you take your chance...

Check-in was quick and easy.

This is a newly furnished Travelodge and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The shower was excellent. Everything we wanted and needed was in the room.
There is a Cafe Bar and you can collect meals to eat in your room if you wish.

The Gloucester Quays Outlet place is good (my wife tells me) and there are the usual eateries and coffee shops a short walk away.

We were pleasantly surprised with Gloucester. The cathedral was lovely (even for an Atheist...!) and there are lots of shops for all budgets. The place is a little rough around the edges but this appealed to me more (I found it more honest than snobby Cheltenham down the road).

The quays have been well developed and there are lots of notices regarding the maritime history of the place.

Room Tip: Try Aroma Indian restaurant which is a short walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night as I was working in Gloucester for two days. Was exactly what I expected a clean functional room and at the start of the heat wave the air con was greatly appreciated. Did what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

arrived on Friday 12th July for a stopover - had used a Travelodge on A1 near Biggleswade last year and so based my expectations on that most basic of lodges. Gloucester, however, is a far more comfortable affair; we even breakfasted there, and kept it down. Staff were friendly, car parking is extra, about £4 for the night, in the adjacent multi-storey, but safe. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although the website said this travelodge had been fully refurbished the air conditioning was not working throughout this hotel, so during the hottest summer we've had in a while, we ended up sleeping in an oven. Not a lot of sleep at all and the kids really suffered, especially our 10 month old baby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gloucester, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Helen K, we are really sorry to learn that you were unable to enjoy your stay due to the temperature in the hotel. We can confirm that we have been experiencing issues with the air conditioning in part of the hotel; during this period the hotel are allocating rooms with air conditioning first and have a number of fans available from reception. Our maintenance team is aware of the issue and they are currently working to rectify the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely refurbished hotel in easy walking to some nice restaurants. 10 min walk to centre of the town. Peaceful location and the bar cafe had lovely views. Staff were friendly too. Only loses on full marks as room hot and air con was broken!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gloucester

Address: Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gloucester 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gloucester Hotel Gloucester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Gloucester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.