We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garlic

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Garlic
6 Glenville Parade, Gloucester GL3 3ES, England
01452618666
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 241 Restaurants in Gloucester
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very disappointed after hearing big things. Had to wait an hour, big queues of very annoyed people, the food was only warm and wasn't good. The rice wasn't what I ordered, But I was so hungry we had to eat. You can see see the kitchen from the customer area and it didn't look as clean as it could have been.I will not be going there again...... Ever

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not order a delivery!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Can't comment on the food because we did not receive it. We obviously phoned up to chase our order up. We could not get hold of them. As such we will never use them again as they are unreliable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Too busy answering the phone! We were told it would be 30min wait and still waiting 1h10mins later totally ignored when I asked "excuse me" and would only answer to my partner! Absolutely terrible service! Ignorance at its peak!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indian takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Best Indian takeaway in the area, consistently excellent food very courteous staff , we've been going for a few years now after being recommended by a couple of friends and haven't looked back since.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good can be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Seemed ok, wasn't the best curry I've had slight room for improvements. However the service was friendly. Will give it another ago.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garlic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.