We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Welly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Inn to your Saves list
The Wellington Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Darley, Harrogate HG3 2QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Threlkeld, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Welly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to the Welly, the reasons - excellent food and beer, friendly and helpful staff , beautiful Yorkshire surroundings and last but not least... excellent value. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: None really although some have a balcony with fine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    56
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
25
79
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here with a group of 24 walkers for three days and had a marvellous time - we were so well looked after and the choice and presentation of food was superb. (Very very large portions though). Some lovely wines at reasonable prices and our room was fine - a bonus was lots of shelf space in the bathroom!! A great place for getting out and about in North Yorkshire. All the staff were helpful and very professional. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were in Room 9 which was twin and very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay in the area. They have a comprehensive a la carte menu and lots of daily specials. The menu makes good use of local produce and provides hearty well cooked meals. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are nice. You can eat in the restaurant which includes a sunny conservatory or the bar area. Well worth a visit

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family which includes 6 adults 4 children and 2 dogs had three meals at the Wellington Inn during our stay locally in July 2014 We had Sunday lunch Wednesday evening dinner and Friday morning breakfast Can I say all were off a very high standard and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to help us I would recommend this Resturant highly If we find ourselves back in this area again I would definitely stay there

Room Tip: We only used the Resturant but enjoyed it very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have been staying here on and off for a long time and am always guaranteed a warm friendly welcome. The food is amazing and always freshly cooked served up by cheerful waiting staff. The rooms are comfortable with a plentiful supply of hot drinks and the breakfasts to look forward to.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a balcony that has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Wellington Inn was our base for what was otherwise an incredible Tour de France weekend. Apart from a yellow bike above the door, they couldn't have done any less to get into the spirit of a magical weekend for Yorkshire.

There was no sense of welcome when we checked in, and having to walk through the bar past the stinking toilets wasn't a great start. The room itself was acceptable - just. But the bed was terrible, we haven't seen an avocado shell-shaped bathroom suite in quite a few years, and the shower screamed loudly whenever it was used. Everything smacked of being done as cheaply as it possibly could be, rather than making the Wellington Inn somewhere people would enjoy staying. We were pretty annoyed to find out that the staff knew full well that the "Free Wifi" didn't work in the rooms - even in the public areas downstairs you had to give all your details to a betting company to be able to 'benefit' from 30 minutes' internet access. Pretty shoddy in an area where mobile phone signal is rare.

Breakfast was a disaster - they had a young girl struggling on her own (e.g. repeatedly asking us if we'd ordered, and telling us how confused she was). We waited 40 minutes for a pretty grim cooked breakfast (with only two other tables there - it wasn't busy). That gave us plenty of time to see the dirty windowsills (complete with dead flies) and disgusting ancient carpet. But it meant we were late getting to our spot to watch the Tour de France - the whole reason we were there.

We know we paid through the nose because we were there for the Tour weekend. But even at a fraction of the cost The Wellington Inn is shabby and disappointing. The staff weren't remotely welcoming or attentive, and we couldn't wait to escape.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danelliot, General Manager at The Wellington Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Wellington Inn.
I feel our support for the le tour over the weekend was good as we held an all day barbeque with music outdoors and live coverage for the race on both Saturday and Sunday.
The beds are being replaced later this year along with a new bathroom suite for each room. We understand that the current decor is dated but it is exactly as shown in our pictures featured on all of our booking sites.
Due to our location internet coverage is difficult to manage as the limited bandwith means if we were to supply internet to all the rooms this would mean that it would become even slower in all areas of the building. This is why the 30 minute policy has been implimented. After the 30 minute you can click straight back onto the connection but it is used to stop too many devices being left connected and left idle. Your details are not shared with any third party it is purely used as a crime prevention device with regard to illegal streaming and downloading.
I fear your comments regarding breakfast may be slightly exaggerated as i feel three tables would be dealt with easily by the 'young girl' you refer to. Our breakfasts are consistently good hence winning awards for them.
As for the price, we were priced very competitively over that weekend and we have customers paying £69.50 per night (which is our standard rate) daily, leaving positive reviews about both service and quality.
I would like to extend the offer of a free nights stay once our rooms have being renovated.

Yours Faithfully
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We enjoyed our three-night stay at the Wellington Inn. We did not know what to expect as we approached it on country roads, but were pleasantly surprised to find a top-quality place when we arrived. The room was well-equipped, the ensuite spacious, and the location had a wonderful view over Nedderdale. We really enjoyed the food in the attractive dining room. The breakfast staff were especially friendly. We have recommended the restaurant to some friends who live locally.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Inn

Address: Darley, Harrogate HG3 2QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Harrogate
The Wellington Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.