We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Travellers Rest Pub & Restaurant

The Travellers Rest Pub & Restaurant
Crimple Lane | Off Rudding Lane, Harrogate HG3 1DF, England
01423 883960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 344 restaurants in Harrogate
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: English, Continental, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Traveller’s Rest dates from the middle of the 17th Century and offers fantastic views over Crimple Valley, and for those twitchers amongst us don't forget all the Red Kites we have flying by and the white crow that roosts in the tree opposite. This quaint, rural pub is one of two pubs on the famous 'Ringway Walk' around Harrogate which runs along the private lane where the Traveller's Rest is situated. We are a stone's throw from the affluent spa town of Harrogate so you have the best of both worlds. The interior boasts old wooden beams, a stoned floor area and also a light airy conservatory which leads to the garden area. This is a perfect place for a celebration or get together for a function. The enviable position of the Traveller’s Rest is what makes it a very special destination, for a lovely meal or relaxing drink of traditional beer or glass of wine. We welcome local regulars, ladies who lunch and, given the walks around us, muddy boots and dogs! We even provide water bowls for our four legged friends.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Evening, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Organised a leaving party in June. The staff were very helpful and flexible with our menu choices. Great value for money and the weather was warm so we were able to enjoy the outside seating area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    20
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We travelled to Harrogate to visit my brother and his wife who were staying at the nearby Rudding Park Hotel. After a day in Harrogate we called in here for an evening meal together and we weren't disappointed. A really quaint 17th century Inn which is fascinating, then as you move through it becomes more modern with a nice bright and airy conservatory which was where we ate. As it was early we all decided to choose from the early bird special menu, 2 courses £8.95, 3 courses £10.95. Two of us had the three course while the other three settled for the two course. Couldn't complain about the size of portions or the quality of the food. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and very patient as we took some time to decide. We would certainly go back if in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Persistent friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My friend wanted to take me there ever since she went with her family on fathers day and i wasnt disappointed.
All the staff were very friendly. The menu had plenty to choose from and my meal was very tasty. Will be definitely visiting with my family soon . Will highly recommend to all .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a food delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Absolutely beautiful food....... beautiful pub in landscape surroundings , staff are fantastic and welcoming everytime we visit . Ive never had such delicious food and being a veggie had great choice . Keep introducing all my friends to its delights . New owners are doing a brilliant job and well deserved this review . Shall definitely be visiting claire fabbio lianne and the rest of the team soon x

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
“Fantastic, friendly family pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely place staff are very welcoming, lovely staff especially the manageress couldn't of be more helpful, beautiful views, would highly recommend this family pub, excellent food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Travellers Rest Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Travellers Rest Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Travellers Rest Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.