We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Cuisine at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel

Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel
28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
01423 560425
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 360 Restaurants in Harrogate
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Harrogate
Description: The eponymous Orchid Restaurant, Harrogate at it's inception was one of the first pan Asian restaurants in the UK and is now well established in the North Yorkshire region and beyond.The menu at Orchid Restaurant draws heavily on the influences of true oriental flavours in a modern style. Created by Bokmun Chan, this special setting has been recaptured not only through the menu, but also it's mango and dark wood interiors, separated by Japanese lattice style screens. The brigade is managed under the watch of Kenneth Poon, former Michelin Head Chef of the Dorchester Hotel.The Orchid opened in Harrogate in May, 2001 and has since won many awards and accolades for it's cuisine, presently holding 2 rosettes.The Orchid has become synonymous with excellent quaity pan-Asian cuisine and professional service for many years. Why wait, come and enjoy the experience...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Asian Cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wonderful food (if you like Asian) , great service and not too badly priced for what you get. Certainly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    111
    35
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Orchid Restaurant is, without doubt one of the best restaurants in Harrogate. The food is outstandingly good, service good in fact all in all can't think of anything other than Excellent comments about then place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Orchid for Sunday lunch yesterday. We have been many times before. To me it is an absolute pearl either at Sunday lunch when there is a buffet or at other times with an a la carte menu. The great thing about it is the variety of food from different East Asian cuisines all cooked faultlessly. In short I love this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless service, Excellent food, Overall Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Myself and my wife went to Orchid for a meal on the my wife's mothers wedding day. From the moment we entered until the time we left we were well looked after by all the staff. The food was served in a timely fashion and the waiter ensured our drinks glasses were always topped up. The food was absolutely delicious and we will most certainly be going again. Recommended :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Food was great, service ok and location good! A bit pricy, but the food is kinda worth it. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.