We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gorgeous boutique hotel !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bijou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bijou to your Saves list
The Bijou
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JL, England (Formerly Hotel Delaine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
haligfax
1 review
“What a gorgeous boutique hotel !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

what a gorgeous hotel ! i stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 1 night in October and loved everything about it. The hotel was not far from the centre of harrogate, few mins walking distance.
The rooms were fab, plumped up cushions, well dressed and there was hand made toileteries which smelt gorgeous , fudge and jelly beans !! The staff were vey pleasant, friendly and well mannered and the breakfast excellant, just wish i could make it myself.
would def recommend and would def go again

  • Liked — the decor and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    90
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
201
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed at the Bijou for two nights and echo all the fab reviews here.

The decor was very boutique and spotless
Contents of the rooms had everything you could need
The bathroom was a little small but very stylish
Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel
Staff were polite and very helpful
Lounge had free internet and honest bar with lovely wines
Location was a short walk into Harrogate

All in all I can't fault it!!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from a one night stay at the bijou hotel. Although our room was not ready on arrival the host took our luggage while we went into town. On return, the case was in our room and our coats had been hung up in the wardrobe.

There were tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and fudge. We had a nice room (number 4) overlooking the front garden. The only problem we found was that in the compact en-suite, the shower pressure was very low and the handwash basin was awkward for shaving.

At breakfast there was a good choice of cereals and fresh & dried fruit. We opted for the full english breakfast and we weren't disappointed - very tasty.

Both hosts very pleasant and the bijou is a nice warm place to stay.

  • Liked — Hosts, fudge, breakfast.
  • Disliked — Weedy shower and awkward hand basin
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

We planned to stay in Harrogate and booked the Bijou based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The Bijou is excellently positioned for the centre of Harrogate and also a great base for touring the surrounding areas. The stay was relaxing and comfortable, the room was great and breakfast and service was first class. We would definitely recommend The Bijou to others and stay there ourselves whenever in Harrogate.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at the Bijou for 2 nights and booked on the strength of the write-ups on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very chic and beautifully clean. We stayed in The Coach House, which was very spacious. The breakfasts were fresh fruit, cereals, a "full English", toast, tea or coffee. Staff were very polite and helpful from the girl who served our breakfast to the owners. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Harrogate.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bijou which gets the 'thumbs up' from us all round:-

Excellent location.
Quirky and modern bedroom and bathroom which were spotlessly clean.
Nice extras such as fabulous toiletries and a good selection of tea, coffees, biscuits and sweets provided in the room.
A zany lounge area and an honesty bar.
Excellent breakfasts.
Very friendly and helpful management and staff.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at the Bijou for one night, mid week and it was a fantastic place. It was easy to find, and very handily placed for a 5-10 minute walk into Harrogate centre.

The room was on the smaller size however it was very well laid out and the most comfortable bed we have slept in whilst away. The toiletries provided were The Bijou's own brand, which were lovely. Breakfast was delicious,a hugh array of museli, fresh fruit, cakes and the yummiest cooked breakfast. All in all a fabulous stay at great a price, would most definatley recommend.

  • Liked — All the little extras in your room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bijou

Address: 17 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JL, England (Formerly Hotel Delaine)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bijou 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bijou combines elegance and fashion with the intimacy and personal touches you only find in an owner run property. Wooden floors, comfy sofas and contemporary lighting and artwork. Situated in the smart neighbourhood of Harrogate's Duchy Estate, the Bijou is a short walk from town and the conference centre. On-site car parking, honesty bar and a fab breakfast with healthy choices such as home-made muesli, compote and a vegetarian option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bijou Hotel Harrogate
The Bijou Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bijou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.