We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination for business or leisure traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Pine Marten | Otley Road, Beckwith Knowle, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great combination for business or leisure traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Harrogate hotels tend to be really pricey - they can afford to be with a busy conference centre and lots going on in the town throughout the year. If you drive just a mile or so outside of the town; you find this great place to stay. Rooms are contemporary in styling with neutral palette and white bed linen. Good quality showers and comfortable beds. Food is very good and is served in the country-luxe styled restaurant or the bustling and modern bar area. It's not a cheap menu but food is very good and there's terrific variety and a great choice of wines too. You pay at check in and as you go which speeds things up upon checking out. All in all, good value for Harrogate.

Downsides are far outweighed by positives but what stopped me rating this hotel a five star was:-

* Lack of bath tub in bathrooms
* Poor quality pillows
* Woeful Wi-Fi reception ( I gave up in the end)
* Not enough staff on at breakfast times (both times I stayed)

Whilst I stayed on personal basis, the Wi-Fi could be a make or break for a business traveller as could the breakfast staffing, if in a rush. However, as I say, good points outweigh negatives so would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: away from stairwells as these can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Pine Marten, Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
54
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for one night at the Lodge which is a very beautiful building in a good location.

Shown to our room which we were advised was newly decorated. It was quite small but everything you needed was there. Lovely modern room with fabulously decorated bathroom. Lovely comfy bed (a little small).

Intended on using the restaurant that night and was told when we checked in its opening times. Headed down around 7pm and was quite abruptly told "You should of booked". If we were told to book when we checked in, we would of!

We were shown to our table and placed our order. A short time later our burnt started arrived with the waiter even pointing out "the chef says if its too burnt hell do you another one". if he knew it was burnt why even serve it?? Not a good start. A new, very tasty starter was however provided.

We couldnt fault our mains which were delicious (burger and pork). We sat and sat and sat and waited for someone to ask us if we wanted another drink or the desert menu. Nothing. Eventually someone provided us with a menu however never came back to ask us if we wanted anything. We missed out on what sounded like a lovely selection of desserts. The problem was it was a Saturday night, busy with staff running all over. Instead of having staff serve a certain area all night so they knew their customers they just didnt seem to know what we were doing. The service really let it down. We did mention this to what I believe was the manager who was very apologetic and did resolve the issue to our satisfaction.

A little warning, if you book b&b check what that is as most of the people we spoke to only got continental. Apparently you pay extra for a hot breakfast.

A lovely little place but unfortunately the dining experience spoilt it for us which was a shame.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Pine Marten, Innkeepers Lodge, Harrogate. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Having only moved to Harrogate 1 year ago we have tried different restaurants which we have found exceptional. Having visited this one I found not only was the service appalling the time we had to wait for our meals was beyond acceptance.
Not only did I have to ask for the bill twice I ended up going to the bar to pay which I found very annoying to find 4 members of staff stood together.
The waiter asked how our food was in which we replied "unsatisfactory" he proceeded to clear the table with no response.
I have never commented on trip advisor and although we read bad reviews we thought we would try it our self first. What a BIG mistake!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Pine Marten was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed here before and it is always a very comfortable stay. A different room every time. This time I was in room 11. Its small, cosy and quaint. At the rear of the building so you overlook the garden and the neighbouring office block! But its quiet, although the bed is a small double so if you are a larger person, take note!

Breakfast was continental (alhough we paid extra for the full English too). It was a bit strange though. Tea was provided on the self serve continental, but coffee wasn't, so you had to ask for that. And the waitress appeared to have no idea which guests had pre-ordered a hot breakfast and which had not. After a lengthy wait for her to come and take our order, we had to prompt her. So maybe a little more organisation is required 'behind the scenes' to address this?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Pine Marten, Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Pine Marten Innkeeper's Lodge is an excellent value for the money and a great accommodation choice in Harrogate. The staff of young professionals is efficient and helpful. They were always available to answer any questions or call a taxi for us. The place is beautifully decorated, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Mine had a nice sofa, TV and a hairdryer. The only issue with the rooms is the ventilator in the toilet which is quite noisy and stays on for several minutes after the light has been switched off.
The wi-fi is free but you need to bring a mobile to receive an access code.
The stay includes a rather basic continental breakfast which is a pity, especially considering the fab restaurant the Pine Marten's has. But you can order a cooked breakfast and pay separately for it. We had dinner there once and the food was simply delicious. The dining room is carefully decorated and although it was full, the atmosphere was warm and cozy.
Despite the points that still need improvement, this place has potential to get better and better thanks to a nice and hardworking staff, so I will definitely stay there again in my next trip to Harrogate.

P.S. Point of improvement: the restaurant/bar's toilets are located in the first floor where some of the guest rooms are. Not only this may pose safety issues - clients circulating in guest's areas - the small hall in the first floor has the characteristic smell of ...toilets.Although the staff does their best to clean - and they are effectively clean - the smell IS noticeable and it is not very welcoming for the first floor guests. How about having the client's toilets exclusively on the ground floor and keeping these for staff only?

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift so you will be tempted to ask for a room in the first floor. HOWEVER, you shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent one night in the hotel for business. A really great experience. You check in at the bar, we were explained how to use the fob, and also the payment of the room happened directly at the check-in. I suddenly questioned why big hotels not doing the same. This was efficient.
Staff was super friendly and took us up, explaining again the fob, rules with doors etc. Gave a feeling of being bit in a family business.
Room was huge, nicely equipped and comfortable. Bed was good. Window had curtains that really blocked the light in the morning, nice for a long sleep.
Bathroom was ok.
Continental breakfast was included, but we ordered (for 7 Pounds) a full Egnlish breakfast which was worth every single Pound - just high quality.
Internet was included and worked well.
Overall high recommendation to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Pine Marten, Innkeepers Lodge, Harrogate, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here one night on a work trip (Nov 2013). Stayed in room 10 (I think) on 2nd floor. Room nice and cosy, well-decorated with plenty of space, and decent complimentary toiletries (Neutrogena) which makes a nice change. Bed was comfy but I could have done with more pillows as the two supplied were not very substantial. Room was nice and quiet.
Had dinner here with a big group of around 10 people. Ordered mixed starters to share which were really delicious and well-cooked. Main course I had was prawn linguine which was really good too, very flavoursome. Everyone else's meals were good too, so they said.
Service overall was really friendly and helpful. Didn't have the cooked breakfast but others said it was very good. Overall, a very good and reasonably-priced place to stay in Harrogate. Would recommend it whole-heartedly, and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the busy road are double glazed so traffic noise shouldn't be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Pine Marten, Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle

Address: The Pine Marten | Otley Road, Beckwith Knowle, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the Yorkshire Dales or visiting Harrogate Conference Centre, where better to stay than at an historic hotel in Harrogate?Tucked just outside town in Beckwith Knowle, this characterful lodge is a listed building that puts you right at the heart of some of England's most beautiful countryside. If you book a room here you can enjoy one of the best food-pubs in the area. Expect fresh, seasonal cooking and wood-fired pizzas complemented by a great wine list.Enjoy the blooms and greenery of RHS Harlow Carr Gardens, tuck into the legendary afternoon teas at Betty's or simply admire the sweeping hills of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Harrogate is also great for shoppers and art lovers, with a bustling town centre and a range of intriguing exhibitions at the Mercer Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper`s Lodge) Hotel Harrogate
Pine Marten Innkeepers Harrogate
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West), Beckwith Knowle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.