We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Tea Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tea Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, we just visited for afternoon cream tea. The Tea Room within the hotel serves the best scones & tea I have ever tasted & have done extensive research!!! For £6.95 you get 2 massive fresh, warm baked scones with clotted cream, jam & the tea is leaves not bags! We never made it to Betty's round the corner, as I don't do queues, but I feel I really did not miss out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    223
    169
    84
    57
See reviews for
76
323
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

wonderful relaxing way to enjoy christmas, someone else doing all the hard work. the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. we stayed on a christmas 3 day deal and would definately do it again next christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. We had a great stay the food was of a really good quality. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday with the usual Christmas parties happening BUT you could not fault the service. It was a great meal.

The room was clean and NOT too hot like you can find in other hotels. It was clean and had the basic amenities.

Location the hotel is great to the leave the car in their own car park for £5 for the duration of your stay (great value unlike other hotels) and is a lovely walk in to he town centre

Above all it was a great stay and we would definitely would return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we arrived we were told the car park was full with conference guests who wouldn't be leaving until later. We were given a disc to park on the roads nearby and was told, by the Receptionist, that if we parked outside, she would send somebody to help with the luggage. Less than a minute later we pulled up outside and started to unload the car whilst the same receptionist watched disinterestedly . We ended up leaving the luggage literally dumped in the porch, together with our 84 year old mother whilst we went in search of a car parking space.
When we moved the car later, the "car park full" sign was still on display even though the car park well over half empty .
There were four of us staying in two rooms .Both rooms had been refurbished in "shabby chic" colours (think Farrow & Ball). One was overlooking the esplanade at the front of the Hotel and one was overlooking the back of shops / houses and a brick wall . I know everybody cannot have a room with a view but the second room was very disappointing compared with the first. The bathroom in the second bedroom had a large window, but no radiator and was very cold. There was a blow heater on the wall, this however, only came on sporadically . There was also signs of damp on the walls
We asked to be moved and were given keys to a second room that had not been refurbished & had a view, again of the back of shops , though in this room the windows are partly obscured by a brick parapet wall.. We decided to stick with the first option .
The public rooms are very tastefully decorated & the breakfast was waitress served which was a nice touch, though in common with most hotels, the filtered coffee was only luke warm .
The hotel is in a good position & because of its location i would stay again .I would however make it a condition of my booking that i has a front room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on our way home from a family weekend wedding to enjoy the pleasures of Harrogate and extend our short break. I booked a 'Lazy Sunday' special and upgraded to a exec. suite, from the moment we checked in till the late check-out Monday lunch time the hotel and staff were superb.
Car parking is at the rear (small fee) the room we had was on the front and was very clean and spacious, the hotel bar was great and busy with 'locals' and offered a great choice of food and drinks.
We ate in the brasserie on the evening as part of the deal and the staff and choice of food was superb, this is a 'must call again' type of hotel and we will definately use this hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was a regular visitor to the bar, the fat badger, but i'm not going again now that i have to pay £5 to park in their car park!! It's ridiculas, i only want a couple of beers, maybe some nibbles, occasionally a meal in the restaurant but i.m not prepared to be ripped off to park!!! Not very good business i'd have said Mr Barker!!!!
Cheers, Chris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a find. Great welcome friendly staff on arrival. Stayed for 4 nights whilst working at the Country Living Show. Found all the staff very helpful. Amazing hot full cooked breakfast every morning. Fran even went the extra mile to book the taxi to be ready and waiting for us after breakfast. The standard of service nevered failed us they even looked after us after work. Quality of the food in the Dining Room was high we also enjoyed room service food late at night. Can't wait to bring the menfolk back with us for a weekend stay.Absolutely fantastic stay.

Room Tip: On the third floor no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Director of Sales at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Julie for your comments. We are currently training the Team at The White Hart in customer service to ensure that our staff are always friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your time with us. Its great to hear that the hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again. Please let me know when you are returning to the Hotel and if there is anything you need during your stay you can contact me on sales@whitehart.net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel And Conference Centre, located within Harrogate's Montpellier Quarter, is an ideal base from which to explore all that Harrogate has to offer.Occupying a beautifully detached Georgian Manor House, the White Hart Hotel is just minutes from the town centre, Harrogate International Centre and the famous Valley Gardens.The White Hart Hotel offers luxurious four star AA rated accommodation, conference and events facilities, a two AA Rosette Restaurant, a tea room serving homemade cakes and a wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.