We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth (multiple!) visiting - so unique!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa

Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa
Parliament St., Harrogate HG1 2WH, England
01423 556746
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth (multiple!) visiting - so unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've never been to a place like this - so well preserved and colourful in all its Victorian glory, while being clean and contemporary in its service. We were initally talked through the process by a really friendly fellow, and then left to enjoy it at our leisure in a not-too-crowded and relaxed atmosphere. The decor is so ornate but the facilities themselves modern and functional - clean towels whenever you like and showers equipped with soap.
We then paid extra for a massage which involved a robe and a good 40 minutes in the exclusive jacuzzi room, and the massage itself was so relaxing, and professional but friendly, taking into account that we'd never had one before.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    152
    38
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Olde worlde experience. 4hrs of relaxation - batteries recharged! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Will be visiting the spa regularly from now on.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This unique and gobsmacking architectural throw-back of a complex built by the Victorians in the style of a Turkish Bath House is one not to be missed if you like eccentricity and a damn good wash...I went with a friend having no idea what to expect. As Harrogate was founded as a spa town I expected 'special' water, but it was just pure and plentiful. We booked on a weekday (advisable) into a 3 hour session which was all women though there are mixed and men-only at different times. You enter down via stone stairs from the road and through a door which leads into a pleasant and modern looking reception, snack bar and seating area with expensive beauty products displayed round large repro rail posters of Harrogate. Then you enter the dark wooden environment with brass hooks, mirrors and shelves (with hairdryers) through heavy red damask curtains to the changing cubicles, also heavily curtained. Staff check if you need help and directions at every stage, and you are offered a 'show round' at the start. The first area is the Quiet area for languishing, then interconnecting rooms - steam, showers hot, hotter and the plunge pool which we braved. Nudity is acceptable in the single sex sessions like ours though we chose too wear costumes, not to cover our modesty but our lumps and bumps. Arrive at the session start to maximise your freedom of movement into the different areas as later if got pretty busy and space was at a premium in some areas. Whatever your soaking, rinsing cleansing and heating experience, the surroundings are awesome - ornate tiling everywhere, and wood where it wasn't. This was my first visit and I felt I might not have made the most of it as we weren't sure which areas to do in what order, but managed to emerge feeling baby-fresh scrubbed and relaxed. Another visit and I might be more intelligent about the basic health process. The downside - danger of overcrowding, and though they had hairdryers they didn't have plastic bags for costumes. You need to bring your own products if you want exfoliation, hair washing and conditioning whilst there. I did wonder about the disinfection as the tiled floors were well trodden and all the original fittings were present, including Mr Crapper's original patented toilets! Modern water-saving devices and thermostats were not visible at all. We only visited the public bath bit, and missed the treatments which were definitely spa prices and by booking only. They are undertaken in another suite of rooms adjacent. Mother's day spa packages with treaments were advertised so they might make a nice present. I was still glowing 2 days later so something worked....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good but not as relaxing as normal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We normally do the Friday night session which is busy but not overly busy and is for a longer session which allows access for all to facilities with no rush.

Yesterday we did the Saturday night session having been out into Harrogate looking forward to a nice relaxing couple of hours.

Within a short period of time the place was busy and very noisy making it difficult to relax, it did quieten down allowing for that relaxation to take place but due to the number of people was not able to have our usual wind down on the lounges as it was coming up to closing time and the staff quite clearly was wanting people to leave.

My only criticism is that this slot is classed as peak rate and you pay more than normal but we got less of a service for the money, the session should be either made longer till 9pm or not as many people allowed in, as had the same number of people been in on the longer Friday slot wouldn’t have been a problem.

Not as relax as normal but won’t stop us going again, but will know what to expect if we go on a Saturday night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Brave the plunge pool if you dare? Lovely place decor is amazing,staff are friendly too,we had Bob who showed us around and he was great. Well worth a visit if not too busy .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.