We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad hatters tea party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runamocha

Runamocha
15 Cheltenham Crescent, Harrogate HG1 1DH, England
+44 1423 538009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 327 Restaurants in Harrogate
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy our Bistro and all day dining menu in the Parlour, Snug or Gallery Restaurant. Enjoy fabulous A La Carte & Extensive Steak menu & fine wines
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mad hatters tea party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I was visiting Harrogate for my birthday.
We didn't have a reservation but the staff were so accommodating, they also put on the mad hatters tea party for us instead of Sunday lunch it was lovely.
So nicely presented.
Decor inside is beautiful.
Staff so friendly and helpful, never had such good service.
Would recommend this place
It made my day.
Thankyou

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    32
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Cow cheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Finally manage to eat here on our third attempt. The decor is outstanding, the menu that we had seen on line wasn't available and the key dishes that had attracted us were not available.
The food we had was of a very good standard, the avocado mousse sensational. However, the experience was tainted by the lack of knowledge and skill the staff have.
The food is pitched and delivers a standard that is only achieved by a few Fine Dining restaurants in Harrogate. So then to be served a cold bottle of red wine is a basic error. I asked many questions about the menu, few were answered with any conviction. When I asked what was on the cheese board I was told a soft one and goat's one and a cow's one!!!
The effort the staff made was very good but due to their basic lack of training and knowledge I can not consider Runamocha at this time to be any better than average.
We will return and hope that the issues are addressed and I can then give the business the praise that the kitchen is already deserving of.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely special mothers day lunch have I been treated to with all my fantastic family,all our starters mains and desserts were amazing, I was surprised that there was no price change with it been mothers day too so friendly were all the waiters/waitresses and bar man and a nice chat with the owner too,the restaurant is quite special and on our next visit I would love to try the mad hatters tea (themed on Alice in Wonderland) thanks again

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in Harrogate for the weekend and stumbled across Runamocka
we could not fault the food or the service. lovely food and people

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mad Hatter Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked a mad hatter themed afternoon tea as an early mother's day gift for my fab mum. I'd never been before and booked via email which staff were very quick to reply to and answer all my questions. We arrived to find they had set a table in the window for us which was lovely and every member of staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food was amazing and presented very uniquely and attractively in a mix of alice in wonderland themed crockery. It was beautiful and very special. We also had a glass of bubbly each and still the bill only came to just over £40 all together. We were so full we had to take some cakes home. We'll definitely go back and would recommend to all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runamocha also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Runamocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runamocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.