We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved but still a long way to go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Harrogate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Harrogate to your Saves list
Travelodge Harrogate
The Ginnel, Harrogate HG1 2RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Wolverhampton On Sea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Improved but still a long way to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wasn't as bad as some comments on trip advisor. Bed OK but rooms are very bland and tired. If you want a cooked breakfast then go to Weatherspoons next door, better still go to a Premier Inn instead !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    89
    65
    46
    93
See reviews for
63
131
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose the Travelodge hotel due to its central location within Harrogate and ease of getting from the train station, 5mins walk. There was plenty of eating places within 3mins from the hotel and the wonderful Valley Gardens leading to RHS Harlow Carr are in close proximity. The only negative being the lack of air-conditioning in the room which meant that the windows had to be opened at night so was quite noisy until after midnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Travelodge Harrogate has to be one of the best. I have stayed here several times now and it gets better. It is cheap especially when you take advantage of the special offers, four days for £180 in Harrogate is brilliant. It is very central so you have easy access to shops restaurants, spa etc buses and station. We take our car and park up near Valley Gardens then walk everywhere or use our pass on the bus. You do have to be careful where you park in Harrogate and watch the clock. Just a short walk up near Valley gardens it is totally free once you have passed the permit disc section.
It is next to a Wetherspoons which is both a positive and a negative. it is great for wandering across and having breakfast but if you are on the back of the hotel it can be noisy from either Wetherspoons or the Revolution club.
Also the beds can be a bit squeaky and of traditional double size but if you have a room with a pull out bed they will make that up for you on request with no extra charge. I had this done and had a great nights sleep (once th enoise had died down). Their towels are now of a good size and the place is clean and modern.
Staff are so friendly and helpful. Even though there is no hair dryer in the room there are some behind reception and you just ask. You don't have to hire them out like in some smarter hotels.
I would totally recommend this Travelodge for a short stay.

Room Tip: To get a decent nights sleep get a top floor room on the front at the upper end of the building from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A very convenient Travelodge in the centre of everything. The staff at this Travelodge all were great, friendly and helpful. Be aware that Saturday night is 'Party Night' and there will be some noise from outside.
But great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Arrived on 6th June for a 3 night stay. Room 211 at the back of hotel. Room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was roomy enough with a over bath shower. Check in was pleasant we enough. Both Kelly and Kitty were informative. Giving us plenty of information about available services, and told us if we required anything else to just ask.

First night was quiet enough, until about 11pm. Then the thudding of the bass from the nightclub under the hotel started.
The shouting at the beer garden at Wetherspoons, accompanied this.

Wetherspoons, close at 2am. The nightclub closes at 3.

Saturday night I didn't hear much noise ( probably due to my sons wedding which took place elsewhere, and I'd had a few libations )

Sunday morning started at about 7am with workman in the carpark using a digger, to move earth and mono blocking. This went on for most of the day.

Some noise at night but not enough to cause me to loose sleep.

Monday morning at 7am, the staff at Wetherspoons started pressure washing the beer garden and scrasping furniture about. Then at about 8am the deliveries started.

Time to start packing up, ready for a trip to York.

None of the noise complaints are travel lodges fault. However. They did spoil a long weekend.
Kitty at reception did make a note of our complaints about the deliveries/pressure washing, as deliveries are not supposed to be made before 9am apparently.

Sorry if this has gone on a bit, but, without all the noise. This would be as very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Apparently the high rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I went for a five day break to Harrogate first week in June this year.
The staff were friendly and very helpful during our stay. We were initially worried about noise outside, as our room looked out onto weatherspoons rear entrance and an other pub just a short distance from there, We were suprised as no noise was heard from either ,. We stayed from Monday till Saturday. As we were leaving a hen party turned up ,they were very noisy so perhaps we were just lucky. The only downside of the stay was Saturday morning at 4:00 when a very loud ,drunk, group came and stood outside our door and proceeded to have a converstion and a joke . The girls were very noisy and every word could be heard. So for a quite time mid week perhaps?
Building work was going on outside at the rear and front of the building but as we were out most of the time it didnt bother us. Mind they did start at sevn thirty in the morinig, so no long lie ins. (didnt affect us we were up anyway)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday 6th June, the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellent, clean and well maintained. Excellent location right in the middle of town no more than 2 minutes walk to anywhere. I'd recommend parking at the tower street car park it's only a 10 minute walk and costs £6.20 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Harrogate

Address: The Ginnel, Harrogate HG1 2RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Travel Lodge Harrogate
Harrogate Travelodge
Harrogate Travel Lodge
Travelodge Harrogate Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.