We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Harrogate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Harrogate to your Saves list
Travelodge Harrogate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Ginnel, Harrogate HG1 2RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't expect to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Location excellent but Don't expect to sleep. Our room was on the 4th floor and at 1am could still here the noise from the pubs around the hotel. Then at 6 in the morning the bin men taking the bottles away. every bit of noise heard. The hotel it self very clean and near to all shops spa and yes pubs. Bring ear plugs

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    96
    70
    49
    94
See reviews for
66
139
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and there was plenty of room in our family room for 2 adults and a lively 3 year old!
The lady on reception was lovely and very helpful.
Our room was on the top floor at the back of the hotel and as it was midweek there wasnt much noise but I can imagine there would be on weekends from the surrounding bars. However surely this is to be expected from such a central location.
The car park next to the hotel is £2.20 from 6pm to midnight and then free from midnight to 8am which is not bad if you want your car right next to you. You can either move it at 8am or put more money in (the evening before - you dont have to run down at 8am!!) to give you a bit longer. There's loads of free parking in Harrogate all you have to do is pick up a disc (easily available from most shops etc).
This hotel is in a perfect location for great pubs, restaurants and shops and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's Thursday night in December at 1:30 in the morning and I still can't get any sleep due to the thumping noise coming from the ground floor below. I expected to hear noise from adjacent buildings but didn't realise there was a nightclub on the ground floor below my room. Now all I have to look forward to is the builders starting work at 8am in the morning in the building next door. If you won't be visiting the club then steer clear if you want a good nights sleep. Car park cost £11 for 24 hours and the WiFi cost at Tavelodge are unbelievable - £5 for 1 hour, £10 for 1 day, come on Travelodge join the 21st century and get real with the prices!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ideally situated right in the centre of town, you would think, but it is flanked by a rock bar, a wetherspoons, and a revolution bar, all very noisy into the early hours of the morning. If you value a decent nights sleep I would recommend somewhere a little further away. The room itself was very basic, the bed was very comfortable, but the only luxury was a bar of soap! There is also no private car park, but its right next door to a public one for around £11.00 for 24hrs. A group of four of us stayed here one night for £32.00 each in November.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Travelodge has extremely helpful and friendly staff. The hotel itself was in excellent condition in terms of decoration and this applied to the totally staisfactory room. With room rates like these why go to more expensive hotels I ask myself? The hotel is very central, thoroughly recommended, and I would not hesitate to return. If there is one negative it is the lack of a car park but that is the price for being virtually in the town centre.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors which I suspect are quieter as the hotel is in the centre of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is excellently situated in the heart of Harrogate's nightlife and restaurants and is walking distance to any attraction.

Having stayed in other Travelodge's I was optimistic that this would match up to them, as they have always been reasonable. First thoughts were that it was very clean and spacious. However, for £79 a night the room is ridiculously basic. I couldn't of stayed for a long period of time as the room had a lonely feel to it.

Despite no real complaints, I would rather stay at a B&B.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGNETIC ISLAND
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at this hotel and completely surprised at the value for money. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Harrogate, convenient for the Royal Hall and Exhibition Centre and only a few minutes walk from the famous Bettys, the Montpellier Antiques Quarter and main shopping centre. On arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome by the receptionist. The room we were given was a family room with a king sized bed and a single bed which could also be made into a double. The room was very clean, exceptionally warm and there were good en suite facilities with both bath and shower. The accommodation was adequate for our visit to Harrogate and we would certainly use this economical hotel if visiting Harrogate again. As the hotel is surrounded by night clubs there is, as to be expected, noise until the early hours but this tended to disturb us rather than keep us awake. The hotel itself, does not have parking facilities, but a public car park is next to the hotel, but beware the local parking attendant is quick to issue tickets.

Room Tip: Probably the 4th floor rooms are better as the noise from the night clubs may be less heard as on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Harrogate

Address: The Ginnel, Harrogate HG1 2RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Harrogate 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Travel Lodge Harrogate
Harrogate Travelodge
Harrogate Travel Lodge
Travelodge Harrogate Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.