We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Elegant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin and Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Quirky and Elegant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel du Vin for a Master Sommelier dinner held in their private dinning room. The hotel was very elegant and well appointed. We had a room with disabled access on the ground floor which was well appointed although the bath in the bedroom was a bit lost on me and I stubbed my toe on the wooden plinth about 3 times. There were numerous nice little touches such as Nespresso on the room, dressing gowns and touches you'd expect from a boutique hotel. The most negative thing I can think of about our room was the temperature, it must be south facing and it was a particularly warm day, even with the blinds down and curtains closed during the day it was stifling. The food was of a good standard although I think the kitchen struggled with our table for 16 because some of the food wasn't too hot and breakfast was tasty, although watch your knees in the bistro, the chairs don't work with the tables and you rush your legs, our friend in a wheelchair couldn't sit up against the table properly because the table was too low.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Maxine M,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and writing your review, great to hear you had a fantastic wine dinner. I do take on board your points and will address these.

Hope we can welcome you back soon to one of our popular wine events.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    206
    132
    57
    20
See reviews for
44
354
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Eaten in the bistro on a few occasions, this time was not so good!

Last portion of scallops at 7.30 ? Last portion of mussels by 8.30? Can't anyone plan a kitchen at this place?

The tables either side of us were disgruntled when there choices were unavailable so early in the evening in what was a largely empty dining room.

Food quality was no better than average and poor given the prices. £150 for dinner for two.

Service and location are good, but disappointed some one somewhere had let the accountants run the bistro.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review, my apologies for running out of items on our menu.
We have had a busy lunchtime and we had sold more then we had anticipated.
Please let me know next time you are coming back and I will apologise in person.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The position of the hotel is great, very near town with parking (£10 per night!) outside. When you go in the entrance is lovely, the bar area and array of drinks very impressive. To begin with the gentleman who helped us was really nice and helpful, however the girl at checkout was rather unhelpful.
On entering the room it felt very warm, and rather cramped ... although we had mentioned that we were having hair and make up wedding trials in the room ... and had asked for a large room!
After the first night - which we didn't sleep a wink as it was SO hot, (window wide open onto the roof tiles!) we complained to reception and was told to use the fan .... I informed them that there wasn't one and Iooked at me as if I'd stolen it!! The nice man did put a large fan into the room when we came back. The room was rather small, and we did struggle with the sessions with four of us in the room. The hairdresser and make up lady mentioned that the room felt really hot. We struggled through the second night having taken the sheet off the duvet and slept under the sheet only. When I mentioned how uncomfortable it had been on checkout, the girl was very uninterested, and just wanted me to pay and leave.... which we did!! I have to say for the price .. £175 for Fri and £195 Sat ... NO BREAKFAST included ..... never again!! we could have gone to the Holiday Inn for a lot less money, and had a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Don't have the furthest room from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Halftonwaterbaby,

thank you for your review, it saddens me to read we did not met your expectations.
Please do give me a call next time you are planning to visit us and I will oversee your booking to ensure we will exceed your expectations.


Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for a 90th birthday celebration.
The rooms are tired and in need of a coat of paint and some general maintenance. It was very hot in one of the rooms and noisy with the window open.
However the bistro staff made our stay. Helpful, friendly and keen to make our stay special - one even sang beautifully to the birthday girl in Polish!
The kitchen seems badly organised - service is quite slow eg the chips turned up 5 minutes after our steak and the plates were cold BUT the food was lovely! The breakfast buffet was wonderful - everything you could possibly want on offer.
So very much a game of 2 halves, the staff rescue an average (and IMO overpriced) establishment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sara T,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property, I do take onboard your points and will address these with my team. Good to hear my staff were so helpful and you had a great stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked one night at the hotel to compliment our visit to the Great Yorkshire Show.
Reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff were all extremely welcoming and polite.
We were upgraded to a top floor Dom Pérignon suite which was fantastic.
The hotel is clean and well maintained.
The food is of a high standard.
We would certainly stay again should we come to Harrogate again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Benno401,

fantastic to read you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is going down the slippery slope where its dining and hospitality is concerned. The service is worse than dire outside in the courtyard. As a regular, I have hoped each time that I am imagining how dreadful it is and that it might just be better.

Beautiful outside area, great rose wine and a good menu, but does anyone really care about the customer? It's exactly the same at the bar. Don't even get me going on the toilets in the public area..

I give up!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Fartyk,

thank you for your recent review, I not your dissatisfaction and hope next time you visit to ask for myself or my deputy Darren Kaslow who will be happy to listen and address your comments.

Hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a studio which was great (although not for mobility impaired) the bistro though was a disappointment, it was late on Sunday so much of the menu was unavailable.

What we ordered was unimpressive for the cost. I have to say this is the fourth HdV I have stayed in and the same is true every time.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear plc1976,

thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at our property. If I may ask you to give myself a call next time you are planning to visit so I may oversee your booking personnaly and hopefully apologise in person when you return.

With kind regards,

Brian van Oosten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.