We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Could Be Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin and Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,094 reviews 1,094 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
“Service Could Be Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've stayed and dined at many Du Vin hotels around the country and Harrogate doesn't disappoint a beautiful terrace of Georgian buildings on the ring road into the centre. We ordered very quaffable house red merlot, nicely chilled Erdinger with pistachio nuts and jumbo olives. Next time I think we will stay over and have dinner next time but I really hope the questionable bar service isn't endemic throughout the hotel. Smile please boys!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your visit and the brand continues to please.
Be assured that Bar service, knowledge, delivery and hospitality are still very much at the top of our ethos and culture, throughout the group.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    142
    64
    23
See reviews for
48
383
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights. We upgraded from a "Superior" to a rear facing suite for £14 extra per night. Suite was very impressive which had a balcony with table and chairs.

Ate in the Bistro 1st night - nice enough, and had a a drink in a couple of bars before returning to the Hotel Bar. The prices are quite expensive (even for Harrogate).

As it was a special treat we decided to sample a couple of cocktails. The bar person was quite surly - I would even go so far as to say rude. For some reason he did not want me to pay cash and insisted that my drinks went on the room even though other residents and non residents who were still there, were allowed to pay cash ?!? He then allowed me to pay cash on a later round of drinks?!?
One other disappointment was the car parking charge of £10 per night - when you have already paid over three hundred pounds(£320) for two nights bed and breakfast and another £70 odd for an evening meal, I found it a bit much that £10 is added to your bill per night with minimum explanation, for parking outside the hotel. When I discussed this with the receptionist, it was explained that "... it's cheaper than the public parking rate, so you are getting a good deal".So there you go ... :-(

Room Tip: If you are staying in Harrogate, try and visit Knaresborough if you can - it's only a few miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jim,
Great to see that you enjoyed your Studio suite overlooking the courtyard and made the most of the delights that Harrogate has to offer.
I find I have to agree with you about the service you received from the bar person, especially as this should never have happend and appears to be the 2nd time.
So that i may investigate and resolve this would you be able to contact me at the hotel, it really would be appreciated.
With regards to our car parking and charging, as we only have a limited number available, this has proven to be the most efficient and effective way to manage it, thus ensuring we please the majoirty of our guests.
I do hope we see you again in the future and you have a great Christmas.
Yours faithfully
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here after a long day shopping in York, and what a treat! We had booked the Moet Vintage Collection Suite, and it was money very well spent! The service we received from the moment we stepped in the door was second to none. The room and the facilities were fantastic. We were glad of the air conditioning as the room gets rather warm when both bath tubs are filled! The mini bar was well stocked (as of which we took advantage off!).
We also booked a table for dinner but we wanted to reschedule for a later time and they were very accommodating! Before dinner we went to the bar and asked for the bill to be placed on our room bill, we were told that this was not allowed, however upon noticing that we were occupying the best suite in the hotel, their attitude soon changed and they were more than willing to put charges on our room bill! The service and food in the restaurant were second to none and we really could not fault it!
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Daz,
Thank you for your very kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive complments about the hotel and team.
Great to see you made full use of what our Top suite offers and I hope there were some "bubbles" in both baths to soak away the shopping along with more bubbles to drink.

With regards to the drinks charge, as we had pre-authorised your card on check in there was certainly no reason to tell you, that you couldn't charge your drinks to your room. The barman clearly made a mistake there. Please accept my apologies for this.

I look forward to welcoming you both back in the future and hope you have a great Christmas in the meantime.

Yours faithfully,
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just spent two nights DBB in a Garden Suite. Whilst lavish in size, the wooden floor was grubby, the sofa and pouffe grimy, poor lighting making reading difficult. The large wet room shower lacked a towel rail, with Molton Brown toiletries removed.from their stand.no Hotel instructions on facilities to be seen.
Lunch on the first day began well, with a dozen oysters on "special", but ruined with a flaccid "croque Monsieur".Dinner on the second night was acceptable, but the £25 allowance per head, was insufficient, ( this was rectified by the General Manager, who upped the allowance to £40 each, which was the previous tariff, before the hotel group were taken over by new owners)
The staff were unfailingly helpful in trying to rescue us, from the many leaks in this sink inking ship.

Room Tip: Check the room first, before occupying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant_Lowe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
It was great to meet both you and your wife, during your stay with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Harrogate.

As your are a long time fan of Hotel du Vin, it is always good to get feedback from our loyal customers.

Although the economy has been very challenging for us all, the next 2 years will be very exciting, as our new owners have great plans. Although like any business our bottom line is important,; it is only as important as our customers.

Yes we have changed some Brand standards and reintroduced some original HdV standards to ensure we continue to deliver. Having said this, there is no excuse for grubby floors and this has been addressed already.

Although I understand your point about our packages, we have had to change them due to market forces and although we would always like to fulfil all our guests needs, this may not always be possible, I'm sure you would agree.

I am so pleased though that the team maintained the hotel du vin customer standards and look after you both. Far from a sinking ship, we are excitidely awaiting a refit and relaunch.

Yours sincerely
Grant Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited here on our annual weekend away for a late lunch. In short fabulous. Seven ladies who lunch, some of us ate from the set menu and others the a la carte, mushrooms, sardines and parsnip soup for starters, excellent. Chicken, sea bass, pumpkin ravioli, and short rib of beef for main also amazing and I mean- amazing. Then pudding, apple and sultana crumble and creme caramel were great BUT the sticky toffee puddings were sent back. They were dry, the total contradiction to how a sticky toffee pudding should be. They were returned and alternatives offered. A hefty price on the a la carte menus but the set menu was well worth every penny. Would we eat here again, yes in a heart best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Came in Saturday lunch time for a drink and a snack and have to say it was excellent. Nathan and the team looked after us well. Ok the service wasnt maybe the quickest in the world, but the atmosphere and food was really really good. I would certainlly recomend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area. Will certainly return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived late Thursday (7.30pm) after getting slightly lost with the sat nav - apparently it happens regularly according to the receptionist who talked us in to the hotel car parking space. She was extremely helpful explaining where all the amenities were and confirmed our reservation for the restaurant at 9pm that evening. We decided to bring the meal forward to 8.30 which the hotel were extremely accomodating to do. we had some pre-drinks in the bar and I have to say the bar man (James) was superb - explaining all the local beers and recommending the wine/cocktails. He is a credit to the hotel!
We ate in the restaurant - albeit a little worried after reading the reviews on TA but we had a superb meal with a beautifully cooked steak. The restaurant manager was very welcoming and in fact the next morning when we arrived for breakfast he had a map of local places to visit and where to go for lunch - a really lovely and warming touch to the hotel.
Our room was stunning - we were over looking the front gardens and could see THE famous Betty's tea rooms from our window. It was clean and very spacious with a huge standalone bath - my only complaint would be that it was slightly on the cold side in our bedroom.
We sampled the spa whilst being at the hotel and had an hours massage which was lovely.
In all, we had a lovely weekend and if I visit Harrogate again I would definitely stay in the hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and very warming. The food I had no complaints with (the leek sausage at breakfast was superb). Its in a great location too.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room at the front of the hotel so you can overlook the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.