We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, just don't get the basement rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin and Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Westminster
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, just don't get the basement rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

In general I like HdV, and this one is no different. Rooms have good decor and well serviced with tea making facilities etc. In that respect it was brilliant. Food is good standard and breakfast was good. Lovely English Breakfast etc.

Very friendly and helpful staff. But this hotel does have an achilles heal. There are about 8 rooms in a semi basement, but these are below the ground floor, where there is the dining room, reception etc. These rooms have wooden floors, so in the bedroom is like being under a herd of Wildebeests. Really not clever and a flaw in the hotels layout. We had to move to another room.

I thus can not give this place 5 stars, and if I had to sleep in the basement, I am sure it would be closer to 2. Otherwise, a great place and I will stay here again as long as not a basement room.

Room Tip: Do not get a basement room as is far to noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    142
    64
    23
See reviews for
48
383
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent location in the centre near the famous Betty's tearooms.
We stayed here for 1 night with dinner & breakfast, our room was at the front of the hotel and didn't have air conditioning. The night of our stay was particularly warm so we had to have the window open but closed it around 8 am when the Monday morning traffic noise started. There was a large pedastal fan in our room but it was noisy. The room was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed but the pillows were too light & soft and had to be folded in 2. Very good shower.
We enjoyed a pre-dinner glass of champagne in the bar with complimentary olives & nuts. A nice plush environment with leather sofas. The restaurant wasn't very busy but still had a nice atmosphere in an elegant room. The food was superb along with a good service experience in particular from the host and the sommelier who were very helpful. I enjoyed a prawn & crayfish cocktail starter followed by Lemon Sole Veronique which was stunning and worth the £26. The creme brule dessert was very dissapointing and not at all sweet with burnt sugar for a topping, infact it wasn't very nice at all and I didn't eat it. I commented that it was 'unusual' and that I hadn't liked it, the dish was taken off our bill without us asking. My partner thought the chicken parfait starter was very good, followed by a superb quality steak. We had a few glasses of wine, all different and all recommended by the helpful sommelier, he wasn't phased by a low budget either.
Breakfast, again, superb food with lots of choice both for the continental and the cooked options.
Efficient check in. Free wifi. Parking was £10 directly outside the hotel, but we managed to park for free overnight Sunday on the adjacent road, and just topped up the meter £3 for the morning,
We would love to eat and stay here again. An all round great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived at hotel. Nice welcome from the reception team and very helpful. They can help you with car parking if you want outside hotel

Room was ok we were at back of hotel and room smelt a little bit like paint. It was comfortably and to a nice standard. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was lovely

Ate in the restaurant the chap running the restaurant was excellent and the service was just great. Lovely place to eat and nice choice

Great hotel and will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Had bank hol drinks here and stayed for dinner.

Really really beautiful food and super wine list. Flawless. We shared a Cote Du Rhone and a Chateaubriand. The meat was just amazing, best I've ever had and really could not fault a thing.

Can't wait to come back thanks :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the first time I had stayed at the Du Vin in Harrogate, but have stayed in several other in the chain. The room we stayed in was a bit small, but as usual, the decor, bedding etc was great. As this was a birthday treat we had booked a table in the Bistro and where staying on a "Dinner, Bed and Breakfast" basis. This is always the biggest benefit I find from staying at the Hotel Du Vin...your gauranteed an excellent restaurant on site. This time was no exception!! The meal was great, as was the wine choices recommended by the Sommelier. On the down side, Breakfast service was a little slow as the hotel were gearing up for a large wedding party later that day and the staff were busy organising that. Not really fair that the rest of your guests suffer because of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at the Du Vin Bistro in Harrogate hence returning. The lady on reception was absoluteIy fantastic! (I am so sorry but I can not remember her name - very friendly). Basically my husband, upon provisionally checking in didnt realise that he had put our brand new car keys on the reception desk and to cut a long story short, when we walked the 10 minute walk to our car, he suddenly came over with a hot sweat!!! We contacted Audi to ask for help and then went to the nearest bar to wait for them. Because we had booked the car parking via the hotel, my husband went to reception to advise them that we will be parking our car....when we have sorted the key issue out!!! The fantastic lady on reception came back to the reception and found a set of keys and remembering what my husband had said, realised who's keys they were and proceeded to ring us - what a life saver and very much appreciated!! We then went to check into our room and it was slightly disappointing! The room was looking very tired, the wallpaper was lifting in not just one place but quite a few. The bathroom had quite a lot of mould on the walls. The coffee machine had no instructions and took us forever to work out how to use it. We then went to the bar for a drink and yes the prices were very expensive - which we did expect for the hotel but what was shocking was the staff.....so miserable and I think that they do not know how to smile!! Whats more, when you order a drink - it is courteous to put a 'coaster' on the bar before serving the drink - they didn't. We had also booked for breakfast - again, we were greeted by a very miserable lady who then showed us to our table. We choose the full cooked breakfast and we were very disappointed! For the price that you pay to be served 1 sausage (very processed and not fresh) 2 rashers of bacon, half of a grilled tomato, 1 mushroom and an egg of your choice - terrible!!! We were not even offered beans. There was also a selection from the continental buffet but we were still not impressed. We then went to check out which was was very quick and efficient - again it was the very friendly lady on the reception who remembered our keys. We then walked to our car to find out the 2 cars had blocked us in - we then had to go back to reception to ask who's cars they were to get them to move them - this is again very strange and why do they allow this?? All in all it was a very mediocre stay (apart from the service on reception - which was outstanding). The hotel really does need a facelift in the rooms and they seriously need to re-train their staff - a smile cost's nothing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

this was our first time in a Hotel Du Vin. I hadn't checked reviews before booking (I'm glad as may have been put off) but relied instead on the chain's reputation. I love the building and the interior decor. Calm and stylish without being cold and clinical like so many hotels. The wood and leather in the bar and lounge area, the spiral staircase and metal bar all very much to my liking. The superior room was at the rear of the hotel which was disappointing but the room itself was lovely with a large walk in shower and a free standing oversized bath. The separate toilet was a nice touch and the tea and coffee making facilities with fresh mike were amongst the nicest i've seen. The bed was large and comfy. We didn't use the bistro other than for breakfast which was very nice. The service was good and the food fresh and tasty. I missed having no cheese or cold meat selection with the breakfast buffet which I consider standard in most decent hotels. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would return. I would like a front facing room for the price I paid and the car park charges were unreasonable in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.